Linwood Barclay Books

Linwood Barclay was born in America but moved to Canada before his fourth birthday, where he’s resided since. Before gaining acclaim as one of Canada’s premier crime writers, he worked in the newspaper industry since the age of 16, when he got his first job at the Peterborough Examiner, a small Ontario-based paper.

During the following decades, he transitioned to the Toronto Star and began a slow but steady rise through its ranks, going through the positions of assistant city editor, chief copy editor, main news editor, and editor of the life section. Finally he settled down as a humor columnist, a position which he fulfilled for fifteen years before retiring to devote himself exclusively to writing novels.

Now, Barclay is one of Canada’s most prolific and successful writers, with over 15 novels to his name, which have been translated to almost over 40 languages, and have sold over 5 million copies over the world.

Linwood Barclay is best known for his standalone novels as well as the Promise Falls trilogy. He also penned the Zack Walker series of books but those have largely been forgotten in favour of his excellent standalone thrillers.

Order of Keisha Ceylon Series

# Read Title Published
1 Never Saw It Coming 2010
2 Clouded Vision 2010

Order of Linwood Barclay Non-Fiction Books

Order of Linwood Barclay Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Too Close to Home 2008
2 Fear the Worst 2009
3 Never Look Away 2010
4 Trust Your Eyes 2011
5 The Accident 2011
6 A Tap on the Window 2013
7 Jacket Man (Short Story) 2016
8 Chase 2017

Order of No Time For Goodbye Series

# Read Title Published
1 No Time for Goodbye 2007
2 No Safe House 2014

Order of Promise Falls Series

# Read Title Published
1 Broken Promise 2015
2 Final Assignment (Short Story) 2015
3 Far From True 2016
4 The Twenty-Three 2016

Order of Zack Walker Series

# Read Title Published
1 Bad Move 2004
2 Bad Guys 2005
3 Lone Wolf 2006
4 Stone Rain 2007


# Read Title Published
1 Books to Die For 2012
Print: Print PDF


In 2009, Barclay’s standalone novel, Too Close to Home, won an Arthur Ellis Award for the best novel in the Crime Writers of Canada Community. Then in 2012, Trust Your Eyes (which was originally titled 360: A Novel) was a finalist for the Best Read of the Crime Thriller Book Club from the UK Specsavers organization.


Although none of Barclay’s books have been adopted into films so far, although when his standalone novel, Trust Your Eyes, was published in 2012 there was a brief buzz about a movie deal. The deal gained enough traction for Linwood to make it to the cover of Variety magazine and launched a bidding war between Universal Studios and Warner Bros. A finished script delivered on March of 2013, and the project has remained stalled since then.

His first crime novel, No Time for Goodbye, was also optioned by a television station in France, although the project failed to move forward as well.


Three of the best received Linwood Barclay books from among his multiple series are:

No Time for Goodbye, Linwood Barclay’s fifth novel and his first massive hit after the lukewarm reception of his humorous Zack Walker series. Barclay wrote the book over a period of two months and then sold it to the U.S. based publisher Bantam, who were so impressed with his effort that they paid him a six-figure advance.

No Time for Goodbye places a fourteen-year-old girl at the heart of its mystery. One day, Cynthia Biggie wakes up at home only to find that her entire family has disappeared without a trace. Now Cynthia is 31 years old, married and with a young daughter of her own when her past comes calling. No Time for Goodbye went on to sell millions of copies, and its story was continued years later in No Safe House.

Never Look Away: One of Barclay’s first standalone novels, Never Look Away was published in 2010 and has sold out over forty editions since then. This tense thriller follows the story of David Hardwood, a small town reporter whose world gets turned upside down when a member of his family disappears during a regular day out. Now David must turn his skills as a reporter to the task of finding his missing relative, all the while the newspaper where he works at is about to go under.

Too Close to Home: Linwood Barclay’s second novel showed the world that he wasn’t just a one-hit wonder. Too Close to Home was published in 2008 and has remained popular enough to warrant over forty editions in the time since. The novel takes place in Promise Falls, the same setting which Linwood would later revisit in the trilogy that carries the same name. The protagonist, Jim Cutter, gets shaken out of his placid suburban life when his next door neighbors are shot to death in their home. Now he must find out why his friend Albert Langley was murdered alongside his family, all the while he digs into his own wife’s troubled past.