Lee Child Books

Lee Child is the alias used by Jim Grant, an author hailing from England. Lee Child writes in the thriller genre of novels, and has been writing novels since 1985.

Lee Child is known for his Jack Reacher series of books. This series began in 1997 with Killing Floor and has spawned many more novels in the series. The Jack Reacher series is one of the most popular book series out there, and some of the books have been made into movies.

Order of Harold Middleton Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Chopin Manuscript 2007
2 The Copper Bracelet 2009

Order of Jack Reacher Series

# Read Title Published
1 Killing Floor 1997
2 Die Trying 1998
3 Tripwire 1999
4 Running Blind 2000
5 Echo Burning 2001
6 Without Fail 2002
7 Persuader 2003
8 The Enemy 2004
9 One Shot 2005
10 The Hard Way 2006
11 Bad Luck and Trouble 2007
12 Nothing to Lose 2008
13 Gone Tomorrow 2009
14 61 Hours 2010
15 Worth Dying For 2010
16 The Affair 2011
17 A Wanted Man 2012
18 Never Go Back 2013
19 Personal 2014
20 Make Me 2015
21 Night School 2016
22 The Midnight Line 2017

Order of Jack Reacher Short Stories

# Read Title Published
1 Second Son 2011
2 Deep Down 2012
3 High Heat 2013
4 Not a Drill 2014
5 Small Wars 2015
6 No Middle Name 2017

Order of Lee Child Non Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Jack Reacher's Rules 2012


Print: Print PDF


In Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series going by the actual books, The Enemy is the first novel in Chronological order taking place in 1990. It’s followed by Night School and The Affair. After that you can read them in publication order.

The short story Second Son takes place when Reacher is a child at 13 years old. The short story High Heat covers Reacher at 17 years old. And finally the short story Small Wars takes place in 1989 – just before The Enemy.


Lee Child has won many awards throughout his career. The first novel in the Jack Reacher series, Killing Floor, won awards such as the Anthony Award and the Barry Award. Throughout the years he has been nominated for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award for some of his books, and his book A Wanted Man won the Specsavers’ National Book Award, as they declared it the Thriller and Crime Novel of 2012.


Lee Child’s novel One Shot was adapted to the big screen, and turned into the 2012 action thriller Jack Reacher starring Tom Cruise. A sequel to that movie was made in 2016 entitled Jack Reacher: Never Go Back based on the Reacher novel Never Go Back.


Three of the more appreciated books by Lee Child in the Jack Reacher series are:

Killing Floor: The debut novel by Lee Child, and this thriller hit the floor not killing, but running. The main character Jack Reacher arrives in a town he has never been in before via Greyhound, and is promptly arrested by the police – for murder. This was just an incredible thriller which quite rightly won the Anthony Award and Barry award for the Best First Novel in 1998, and was nominated for the Macavity Award as Best First Mystery Novel.

Persuader: The 7th novel in the Jack Reacher series takes place in two different time settings via flashbacks, and both times come together for an explosive ending. In this one, Jack Reacher works with the DEA on an undercover operation as they attempt to expose a smuggling operation. However Jack Reacher has an ulterior motive – a man called Quinn, who is involved with the smuggling ring in some manner. The problem with that? Quinn is someone who Reacher personally saw die years ago.

Never Go Back: It’s no surprise that this book, the 18th in the Jack Reacher series, was made into a movie considering it’s one of the highest rated Reacher books ever. While all Reacher books can be read as a standalone novel, this was the conclusion of a small story spanning multiple books with Reacher interested in a woman called Susan – the commanding officer of his old military unit. Just as everything looks to be going right for Reacher – it all goes wrong. Reacher arrives only to find there’s another CO in charge, and that Reacher is being arrested for a crime he apparently committed 16 years previously.