Ian Fleming Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ian Fleming is the highly popular author from the twentieth century who developed the character of James Bond.

Order of James Bond Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Casino Royale 1953 Description / Buy
2 Live and Let Die 1954 Description / Buy
3 Moonraker 1955 Description / Buy
4 Diamonds Are Forever 1956 Description / Buy
5 From Russia with Love 1957 Description / Buy
6 Doctor No / Dr. No 1958 Description / Buy
7 Goldfinger 1959 Description / Buy
8 Thunderball 1961 Description / Buy
9 The Spy Who Loved Me 1962 Description / Buy
10 The Living Daylights 1962 Description / Buy
11 On Her Majesty's Secret Service 1963 Description / Buy
12 You Only Live Twice 1964 Description / Buy
13 The Man with the Golden Gun 1965 Description / Buy
14 Octopussy (Short Story) 1967 Description / Buy

Order of James Bond Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 For Your Eyes Only 1960 Description / Buy
2 Octopussy and The Living Daylights 1966 Description / Buy
3 Quantum of Solace 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Series by Frank Cottrell Boyce

# Read Title Published Details
1 Chitty Chitty Bang Bang 1964 Description / Buy
2 Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Flies Again ( By: Frank Cottrell Boyce) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the Race Against Time ( By: Frank Cottrell Boyce) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Over the Moon ( By: Frank Cottrell Boyce) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Ian Fleming Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Diamond Smugglers 1957 Description / Buy

Order of Ian Fleming Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Thrilling Cities 1963 Description / Buy
2 Ian Fleming: The Playboy Interview 2012 Description / Buy

Ian Fleming Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Mammoth Book of Short Spy Novels 1996 Description / Buy
2 My Name is Bond, James Bond 2000 Description / Buy
3 A Century of British Mystery and Suspense 2000 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born in 1908 in England, Ian was one of four sons of an influential family who lost his father to the war when he was nine. A student of Eton College and the Sandhurst military academy, there was a time when it looked like Ian would make a name for himself as a member of the Reuters News Agency.

But that was before the Second World War began. Ian was drawn into the conflict, a boon for his future career because he quickly found a place in British Naval Intelligence where he gained great insight into the workings of espionage.

Ian Fleming’s career in the war was quite illustrious, seeing him work under the likes of Admiral John Godfrey and traveling to countries like the United States where he coordinated intelligence operations.

It is difficult to determine the true nature of Ian Fleming’s efforts in the war, especially with regards to the work he did for the British Government’s Intelligence wing, not when the British government swore him to secrecy.

None the less, it has been speculated that Ian probably wasn’t so different from James Bond and might have drawn ideas for his stories from actual missions and occurrences from World War II.

Naturally, despite his efforts during World War II, it is for his novels that Ian Fleming is known, particularly the James Bond books. It all began with Casino Royale, the first book in the James Bond series which was published in 1953.

Like most unpublished authors, Ian’s first few James Bond books went largely unnoticed. However, with the war finally over and audiences looking for the next great adventure, it wasn’t long before the author’s stories about a skilled spy with a license to kill caught fire.

Everything about James Bond, the fast cars and the women and the incredulous villains, all of it tickled the fancy of readers and it wasn’t long before James Bond books were flying off the shelf.

Ian Fleming’s death came in 1964 and it wasn’t so surprising. His health complications began in 1962 with his first heart attack.

Ian’s books were representative of the time. The first few Bond novels were cold war stories. As relations between the East and West thawed, the direction of Ian’s storytelling changed.

Ian’s stories tackled themes like the effects of war, comradeship, Britain’s position in the world and even Good VS Evil.

Ian Fleming Awards

In life, Ian Fleming was never recognized for any awards, but in death he has not only been recognized but actually had awards named after him. The Times recognized him as one of the 50 Greatest Writers since 1945, ranking him at #14. The Crime Writers’ Association also has the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award which goes to the best thriller, adventure or spy novel originally published in the UK.

In another honor, he has an airport named after him in Jamaica with the Ian Fleming International Airport in Oracabessa.

Ian Fleming Books into Movies/TV

Ian Fleming’s novels have since become a common aspect of popular culture and this is primarily because of the considerable renown the movie adaptations of the James Bond books have attained.

It all began with Dr. No in 1962, the first of the James bond movies. Since then, nearly all of the dozen James Bond books Ian Fleming wrote before his death have received movie adaptations.

And that isn’t even taking into account the Big Screen Adaptations of those James Bond novels that were written after Ian Fleming’s death.

Best Ian Fleming Books

Ian Fleming has built a legacy that will last for decades to come, cementing his place in the publishing arena, with some of the best books in his bibliography including:

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service: It all began with a beautiful girl in a fast car. Bond did not think much of his decision to rescue her, until he realized the chance it granted him to find Ernst Stavro Blofeld, the most dangerous man in the world.

The head of SPECTRE is all but determined to bring the world to its knees from his Alpine base unless Bond can put a stop to him.

This book finally brings James Bond into more direct contention with Blofeld, an arch-nemesis of sorts. Because of the era during which the book was written, some of its attitudes are likely to offend.

From Russia with Love: The lethal Russian Organization SMERSH isn’t the only one out to get James Bond. But they might have the perfect bait for him. Tatiana Romanova successfully gets Bond to Istanbul. Bond thinks he’s about to get his hands on a powerful cipher machine. Instead, he encounters a dangerous game of double cross.

Tatiana Romanova takes center stage in this book as she is manipulated into seducing James Bond, believing that he will come to no harm at the end of it all.

Live and Let Die: The film adaptation of this book led to the iconic Paul McCartney & Wings song of the same name, but it’s also one of his better books.

The book sends Bond from London to the United States to Jamaica. The plot involves Bond’s search for Mr. Big who is linked to SMERSH (the Russian Secret Service), the American crime world and Jamaican voodoo. The novel deals with some big real world themes including the East-West struggle of the Cold War, the seemingly never ending trouble with race relations in the world and the British-American relationship. The struggle between good and evil is at play here.

This book has some serial elements as there are plot points in this one that directly tie in with For Your Eyes Only and License to Kill.

When Does The Next Ian Fleming book come out?

Ian Fleming doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Ian Fleming: The Playboy Interview and was released on November, 8th 2012. It is the newest book in the Ian Fleming Non-Fiction Books.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *