Alex Grecian Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Alexander Douglas Grecian is an award winning American novelist, comic book writer and anthologist well-known for his “Scotland Yard Murder Squad” novels and the long-running series Proof. His passion for writing developed during his teenage years when he read the works of Lewis Carrol, C.S Lewis, Edgar Allan and Charles Dickens among other writers who kindled his interest in comedy and fiction.

Get notified when Alex Grecian releases a new book at

Order of Proof Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Goatsucker 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Company Of Men 2008 Description / Buy
3 Thunderbirds Are Go! 2009 Description / Buy
4 Julia 2010 Description / Buy
5 Blue Fairies 2010 Description / Buy
6 Proof Volume 6 TP 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Scotland Yard's Murder Squad Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Yard 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Black Country 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Blue Girl (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Devil's Workshop 2014 Description / Buy
5 The Harvest Man 2015 Description / Buy
6 Lost and Gone Forever 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Rasputin Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rasputin Volume 1 2015 Description / Buy
2 Rasputin Volume 2 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Alex Grecian Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Saint of Wolves and Butchers / The Wolf 2018 Description / Buy
2 Red Rabbit 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Alex Grecian Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Seven Sons 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Alex Grecian Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 One Eye Open (Short Story) 2021 Description / Buy

Alex Grecian Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Factor 2004 Description / Buy
2 Bad Karma, Volume 1 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Grecian wrote his first book in 2006 in collaboration with Riley Rossmo, a Canadian illustrator and comic book artist who has since been a coauthor of the Proof series that started airing in 2007. The proof was named among the best-selling books in 2009 by National Public Radio(NPR). The two began a third book project, Rasputin in 2014. In 2013, Grecian collaborated with Jeremy Haun, Clay Moore and Seth Peck in developing Bad Carma, a comic art collection of five separate concepts owned by their respective creators. While the comic books were mostly co-authored, the “Scotland Yard Murder Squad” novels are all written by him. These include The Yard, The Devil’s Workshop, The Black Country, Lost and Gone Forever, The Harvest Man and The Blue Girl. The latter is available as an ebook.

Alex Grecian Awards

In 2013, Grecian was nominated for The Strand Awards for The Yard, which ranked the second best debut novel after A Land More Kind Than Home By Wiley Cash. In this award he was recognized for excellence in the area of mystery fiction by a group of journalists and book critics across the United States. He was also nominated for the Barry Award after The Yard was ranked the Best First novel in the same year. In 2014, The Black country novel was rated among the top five mystery titles earning Grecian the Dilys Award by the Independent Mystery booksellers Association(IMBA). He also received the Kansas Notable Book Award for The Yard. The Black Country and The Devil’s Workshop in 2013, 2014 and 2015 awards, respectively.

Best Alex Grecian Books

While the comic book series stood out in 2009, Grecian has excelled more in mystery and crime fiction. At least one novel in the “Scotland Yard Murder Squad” series has been recognized among the best books for the last three years in a row. While all his books quite impressive and amazing, The Yard, the Black Country and The Devil’s Workshop stand out among the best.

The Yard: The Yard is a debut novel in which Grecian presents a tale of a serial killer, Jack the Ripper, who disappears into the mist of Victorian London to the disappointment of the Scotland Yard. Grecian uses a combination of fictional creations and historical facts to show how heinous crime propelled the detectives to discover a new aspect of criminology involving the saving of evidence, fingerprinting, comparison of crime patterns and collaboration. The gripping story takes the reader back to the traumatic days of the Ripper. It became one of the most popular mysteries of the year 2013, earning Grecian various awards. It was the first novel in the “Murder Squad” written in 2012.

The Black Country: This is a sequel of The Yard that Grecian wrote in 2013.In the Black Country, three characters travel to the Midlands of England to investigate the sudden disappearance of family from a small village that mines coal. The area is called The Black Country” by its residents. The three detectives from The Yard discover an eyeball in a bird’s nest, giving a clue of the committed murder, but with no bodies. The detectives come to learn that there is a lot more going on in the small village and they have to stay a little longer. In this novel, Grecian presents mystery in a combination of grisly murders, bizarre rituals performed in the snow and houses sinking into coal mines.

The Devil’s Workshop: This is the third in the Grecian’s series of the Murder Squad presenting another hard-hitting historical mystery thriller. HM Prison Bridewell has an inmate named Jack who is visited every few days by men to display their agony over the crimes committed against women. The Murder Squad that sought Jack the Ripper in The Yard is yet after another ripper named Jack. Prisoners, including Jack, flee from prison after a locomotive smashes onto it and get into a revenge spree. The whole environment is gripped with fear and tension: Grecian maintains the hero detective, Inspector Walter Day as blunders seem to persist. The novel relates to the actual tortures experienced in the Victorian Society under the influence of secret radicals who believed in fitting to punishment crime. It was written in 2014 and ranked among the best in the following year.

When Does The Next Alex Grecian book come out?

Alex Grecian doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Red Rabbit and was released on September, 19th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *