Alison Goodman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Alison Goodman is an Australian author that writes fantasy and science fiction novels. Born in 1966 in Melbourne, the award-winning author attended RMIT University from where she acquired a Masters Degree in Creative Writing. A wife and mother, Alison has taught creative writing at numerous universities.

Get notified when Alison Goodman releases a new book at

Order of Eon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Eon / The Two Pearls of Wisdom / Eon: Dragoneye Reborn / Eon: Rise of the Dragoneye 2008 Description / Buy
2 Eona / The Necklace of the Gods / Eona: Return of the Dragoneye / Eona: The Last Dragoneye 2011 Description / Buy

Order of The Ill-Mannered Ladies Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Benevolent Society of Ill-Mannered Ladies 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Lady Helen Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Dark Days Club 2015 Description / Buy
2 Lusus Naturae (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Dark Days Pact 2017 Description / Buy
4 The Dark Days Deceit 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Alison Goodman Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Singing the Dogstar Blues 1998 Description / Buy
2 Killing the Rabbit / A New Kind of Death 2004 Description / Buy

Alison Goodman Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Firebirds Rising: An Anthology of Original Science Fiction and Fantasy 2005 Description / Buy
2 Relics, Wrecks and Ruins 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She believes that some people are naturally talented. They understand the English language and they can manipulate it to tell incredible stories. She also believes that those without natural talent can learn the art of writing.

However, she isn’t convinced that aspiring authors can be taught how to create new and inspiring worlds that reveal new truths about the human condition. The author is quite versatile. She is just as confident when writing fantasy fiction set in Regency England as she is when producing adult crime thrillers.

Her first novel was ‘Singing the Dogstar Blues’. Published in 1998, it was a surprise hit that received awards recognition along with securing opportunities for publication in foreign markets. Though, the author is primarily renowned for the ‘EON’ novels.

Some writers struggle with the notion of using female protagonists to drive their fantasy stories. This is because the fantasy genre is primarily populated by male protagonists. However, Alison never felt like she was taking a risk by using a female lead in her ‘Eon’ novels.

At no point did her publishers suggest that her female lead might become a hindrance. She also believes that her stories work specifically because her protagonists are female. Alison believes that most fantasy stories have the same appeal regardless of the gender of the protagonist.

People are drawn to worlds like the one she created in her ‘Eon’ novels because they love the adventure. Alison is able to tap into that desire that most people have to be special and to have a life driven by a grand destiny.

She delivers characters with a clear objective or quest that brings the sort of meaning to their lives that most people yearn for. Her inspirations for the stories she tells vary widely. The idea for ‘Eon’, for instance, was sparked by the author’s late aunt who was Japanese. She ignited in Alison a desire to explore Asian cultures and that paved the way for the ‘Eon’ books.

The writer gets just as much inspiration from the books she reads, the movies and TV shows she watches, her interactions with her friends, the festivals she attends, and so much more. For the author, ordinary life is an inspiration. Alison relies on the experiences she encounters as she lives her life to spark ideas for stories. She is rarely disappointed.

Though, it takes the Australian quite a while to turn her ideas into novels. Alison can spend months honing her concepts into structured narratives before she sits down to write. She gives herself as much time as she needs to ponder her plot and its structure. She only sits down to write once she has a clear idea of what her novel will look like.

Alison Goodman Awards

Alison has won the Aurealis and James Tiptree Jr Awards. She has received nominations for the Davitt, NSW, Victorian, and WA Premier’s Literary Award.

Best Alison Goodman Books

Alison does thorough research for her novels, not only reading historical texts and watching documentaries but also wearing the clothes her characters might wear, and learning to dance and sword fight, with some of the best novels in her bibliography including:

Dragoneye Reborn: Eon has spent years mastering dragon magic. If all goes according to plan, his hard work will pay off and he will become a dragon eye. Eon’s master is hopeful. He has no idea that Eon’s real name is Eona and that she is a 16-year-old girl rather than a 12-year-old boy.

If the truth were to come out, Eona’s life would end. Females are not allowed to use dragon magic. And those found breaking this rule are normally handed a death sentence.

Last Dragoneye: Eona is finally coming into her own as the first female dragon eye in a long time. But her victory is short-lived. She has so much to do, including finding the black folio, lending her strength to the young Pearl Emperor that is so desperate to win this throne back, and coming to terms with the power that she wields now that the other dragon eyes are dead.

When Does The Next Alison Goodman book come out?

Alison Goodman doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Benevolent Society of Ill-Mannered Ladies and was released on May, 30th 2023. It is the newest book in the The Ill-Mannered Ladies Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *