Allen Zadoff Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Allen Zadoff is American award-winning author of young adult fiction novels. He is popularly known for his The Unknown Assassin series. The author was born in Boston Massachusetts in the United States and later relocated to live in Manhattan, New York, Los Angeles and Tokyo. A retired stage director, he is a graduate of Harvard University and an alumnus of Warner Bro, Comedy Writers Workshop based in Hollywood. The author currently lives in Los Angeles where he serves as a writing teacher and an author.

Get notified when Allen Zadoff releases a new book at

Order of Boy Nobody / Unknown Assassin Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Boy Nobody / I Am the Weapon 2013 Description / Buy
2 I Am the Mission 2014 Description / Buy
3 I Am the Traitor 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Wild & Chance Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wild & Chance 2020 Description / Buy
2 The Puppy War 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Allen Zadoff Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Food, Girls, and Other Things I Can't Have 2009 Description / Buy
2 My Life, the Theater, and Other Tragedies 2011 Description / Buy
3 Since You Left Me 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Allen Zadoff Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hungry: Lessons Learned on the Journey from Fat to Thin 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Unknown Assassin series consists of three novels published in 2013, 2014, and 2015 respectively. The first book in the series was first published as Boy Nobody by the Little Brown Books for Orchard and Young Reader Books in 2013; however, the paperback edition changed the name to I Am the Weapon in the U.S. The book was subject to various starred reviews both from Voice of Youth Advocates and Publishers Weekly. The books foreign rights languages have been sold to over 20 countries.


The American bestseller novels have been nominated and also highly commended in various prizes. For instance, I Am the Weapon, the first book in The Unknown Assassin series appeared in the Publishers Weekly Starred Review in 2013. Subsequently in the same novel has been nominated for various awards such as 2014 Thriller Award, 2015 Gateway Readers Award, and 2015 Volunteer State Book Award.

I Am the Weapon was the winner of the 2015 Kentucky Bluegrass Award for Grades 9-12, and it was highly commended during the 2015 Tayshas Reading for the Young Adult category.


Sony Pictures have optioned the Weapon feature films rights to the Unknown Assassin series, and Will Smith Overbrook Entertainment will produce the movie.


These are best two books by Allen Zadoff Boy Nobody (2013) & I Am the Mission (2014).

Boy Nobody: In the debut novel of the Unknown Assassin series by New York bestselling author, we meet Boy Nobody, the perennial new kid in the block, one whom no one thinks much about. He attends a new school with a whole new name and makes some few friends and does not stay for long. All he does is waiting long enough for someone in his new friend’s family to die of some “natural causes” and when someone dies mission is accomplished and the Boy Nobody moves to the next target.

However, when he is assigned to New York City mayor, everything changes. The mayor daughter is unlike anyone he has encountered before, and for mayor, he is just like is a father. When memories awaken, and questions begin to surface, everyone at The Program is watching. Deep inside Boy Nobody, there is somebody, the good kid he was once, the teen who wants to a healthy life and have normal things, like parents, family and a real home. A young man who want to stay away from the Program, and be like other teens of his age.

In this action-packed and fast-paced series opener, the author pens a wonderful page turner thriller that is gripping thought to provoke and to introduce an unforgettable and utterly original hero.

Ben, now known as the Boy, Nobody, is a highly trained assassin working for a secret organization referred to as The Program. His main tasks involve neutralizing terrorists and traitors, and everything takes a twisted turn when he is assigned to neutralize the mayor and his daughter.

The novel is great, it is very easy to read and a hard to put down. The plot, characters and the scenery are well detailed such that you will love every aspect of the novel.

I Am the Mission: In I Am the Mission the second book of the series, we again meet boy nobody, the once perfect assassin, with neither a name, remorse nor the past until the day he began asking questions and challenging the orders assigned to him.

In this action packed book, Boy Nobody is assigned a new mission, a mission to test his loyalty to The Program. His new assignment is to take out, Eugene Moore, the head of the terrorist training camp. The mission sounds like a simple one and Boy Nobody is courageous that he can finish the job.

However, when things go amiss, Boy Nobody finds himself lost in a world where nothing seems as it is; not his allegiances, not The Program nor the truth.

The gripping second by in The Unknown Assassin series delivers a fast paced heart pounding action and shocking twists and turns that will make Boy Nobody question everything that was truth to him.

When Does The Next Allen Zadoff book come out?

Allen Zadoff doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Puppy War and was released on May, 18th 2021. It is the newest book in the Wild & Chance Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *