Amanda Quick Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Amanda Quick is a pseudonym that Jayne Ann Krentz uses to write contemporary and historical romance. Born in 1948 in Cobb, California, the author was one of three children that lived with her mother.

Get notified when Amanda Quick releases a new book at

Order of Vanza Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 With This Ring 1998 Description / Buy
2 I Thee Wed 1999 Description / Buy
3 Wicked Widow 2000 Description / Buy
4 Lie by Moonlight 2005 Description / Buy

Order of Lavinia Lake Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Slightly Shady 2001 Description / Buy
2 Don't Look Back 2002 Description / Buy
3 Late for the Wedding 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Ladies of Lantern Street Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Crystal Gardens 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Mystery Woman 2013 Description / Buy
3 Otherwise Engaged 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Burning Cove Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Girl Who Knew Too Much 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Other Lady Vanishes 2018 Description / Buy
3 Tightrope 2019 Description / Buy
4 Close Up 2020 Description / Buy
5 The Lady Has a Past 2021 Description / Buy
6 When She Dreams 2022 Description / Buy
7 The Bride Wore White 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Amanda Quick Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Seduction 1990 Description / Buy
2 Surrender 1990 Description / Buy
3 Scandal 1991 Description / Buy
4 Rendezvous / Virtue 1991 Description / Buy
5 Ravished 1992 Description / Buy
6 Reckless 1992 Description / Buy
7 Deception 1993 Description / Buy
8 Dangerous 1993 Description / Buy
9 Desire 1993 Description / Buy
10 Mistress 1994 Description / Buy
11 Mystique 1995 Description / Buy
12 Mischief 1996 Description / Buy
13 Affair 1997 Description / Buy
14 Seduction and Surrender 2004 Description / Buy
15 The Paid Companion 2004 Description / Buy
16 Wait Until Midnight 2004 Description / Buy
17 The River Knows 2007 Description / Buy
18 Garden of Lies 2015 Description / Buy
19 'Til Death Do Us Part 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Dreamlight Trilogy Series as Jayne Ann Krentz, Jayne Castle

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fired Up 2009 Description / Buy
2 Burning Lamp 2010 Description / Buy
3 Midnight Crystal ( By: Jayne Castle) 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Looking Glass Trilogy Series as Jayne Ann Krentz, Jayne Castle

# Read Title Published Details
1 In Too Deep 2010 Description / Buy
2 Quicksilver 2011 Description / Buy
3 Canyons of Night ( By: Jayne Castle) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She attended the University of California (Santa Cruz), earning a BA in history. However, Quick was not convinced that the history degree could secure her a decent job. So she went back to school to get her Library Science degree (San Jose State University).

Quick married Frank Krentz and moved to the Virgin Islands where she worked as a librarian at an elementary school. Even though the position allowed the author to put her training to good use, she did not enjoy the experience because the job required her to teach. Quick did not want to teach.

But she knew that she enjoyed working as a librarian, which is why she decided to ply her trade at Duke University and other institutions of higher education. Writing came easily to the author. By the time she adopted the ‘Amanda Quick’ pen name, she had already experimented with several pseudonyms.

She published her first novel as ‘Jayne Castle’, her birth name. However, the contract she had signed left ownership of the name in the hands of her publishers. Once she left them for another publisher, Quick could not use the name. So she introduced a new collection of pseudonyms that included ‘Stephanie James’, ‘Amanda Glass’, and ‘Jayne Taylor’.

By the mid-1980s, the author had started publishing novels under her married name. When she wrote ‘Sweet Starfire’, a novel that combined elements of romance and science fiction, the author realized that she did not have to limit her stories to the contemporary romance genre.

Once she decided that she wanted to dip her toes into historical romance, she introduced the ‘Amanda Quick’ pseudonym, using it to publish historical romance novels. Even though it took Quick several years to attain publishing success, she couldn’t bring herself to quit.

For six years, every novel she wrote and submitted was rejected. The rejections shattered her confidence. She was convinced that she would never make it as a published author. Quick was still working as a librarian at the time and the rational part of her mind kept pushing the author to abandon her dreams of making it in publishing so that she could focus on advancing her career as a librarian.

But Quick could not stop writing. She doesn’t struggle to create new ideas for her novels. They just come to her. And in those early days, her imagination would not permit her to rest. This is why she persevered despite the rejections. She would leave her bed at four in the morning because she wanted to get her ideas on paper before she left for work.

She did this for six years without relenting. Fortunately, her hard work paid off and she found a publisher that was willing to give her a shot.

Amanda Quick Awards

Quick has won RT Reviewers Choice Awards and the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award.

Best Amanda Quick Books

Quick loves romance because it is the only genre that always puts women front and center. Quick’s best novels include:

Ravished: The Beast of Blackthorne Hall wasn’t quite what Miss Harriet expected. Named so because of his scars, Gideon had a lecherous past that should have repelled Harriet. But the menacing fellow could not hide his pain from Harriet. She could see past his fierce exterior.

She also needed him. Criminal elements had chosen her caves as the perfect hiding spot for their loot. While Gideon worked to uncover their identities, Harriet made it her mission to win his heart for herself.

Second Sight: Venetia’s future as a spinster was seemingly set in stone. But then Gabriel Jones hired her to take some photographs and Venetia decided that she would seduce him. Their encounter was brief, which is what Venetia wanted.

But it still came as a surprise when she learned that Mr. Jones had met a violent end. Fortunately, he had paid her handsomely. Venetia used the money to start over in London. She named herself Mrs. Jones, introducing herself to others as a widow and the respectable owner of a gallery. She did not expect Mr. Jones to walk back into her life.

When Does The Next Amanda Quick book come out?

Amanda Quick doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Bride Wore White and was released on May, 2nd 2023. It is the newest book in the Burning Cove Series.

1 thought on “Amanda Quick”

  1. I’ve read only 1 Amanda Quick book, Deception, and really loved it especially the three boys and their interactions with Jared.
    Do you know which if any more of her historical books have children in the stories?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *