Andrea Penrose Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Andrea Penrose is an American author that writes mystery and romance novels set in the Regency era. She has a B.A. in Art and an M.F.A in Graphic Design (Yale University).

Get notified when Andrea Penrose releases a new book at

Order of Circle Of Sin Series as Cara Elliott

# Read Title Published Details
1 To Sin with a Scoundrel 2010 Description / Buy
2 To Surrender to a Rogue 2010 Description / Buy
3 To Tempt a Rake 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Dangerous Liaisons Series as Andrea Pickens

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Diamond in the Rough 2001 Description / Buy
2 Sweeter Than Sin 2014 Description / Buy
3 Devil May Care 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Hellions Of High Street Series as Cara Elliott

# Read Title Published Details
1 Scandalously Yours 2014 Description / Buy
2 Sinfully Yours 2014 Description / Buy
3 Passionately Yours 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Intrepid Heroines Series as Andrea Pickens

# Read Title Published Details
1 Code of Honor 1998 Description / Buy
2 The Hired Hero 1999 Description / Buy
3 A Stroke of Luck 2003 Description / Buy
4 Pistols at Dawn 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Lady Arianna Hadley Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sweet Revenge 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Cocoa Conspiracy 2011 Description / Buy
3 Recipe for Treason 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Stolen Letters 2017 Description / Buy
5 Smoke & Lies 2018 Description / Buy
6 A Question of Numbers 2019 Description / Buy
7 A Tangle of Serpents 2020 Description / Buy
8 A Swirl of Shadows 2022 Description / Buy
9 The Thunder of Stones 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Lords Of Midnight Series as Cara Elliott

# Read Title Published Details
1 Too Wicked to Wed 2011 Description / Buy
2 Too Tempting to Resist 2012 Description / Buy
3 Too Dangerous to Desire 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Lessons In Love Series as Andrea Pickens

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Defiant Governess 1997 Description / Buy
2 Second Chances 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Storybook Hero 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Merlin's Maidens Series as Andrea Pickens

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Spy Wore Silk 2007 Description / Buy
2 Seduced by a Spy 2008 Description / Buy
3 The Scarlet Spy 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Scandalous Secrets Series as Andrea Pickens

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Major's Mistake 2000 Description / Buy
2 A Lady of Letters 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Banished Bride 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Wrexford & Sloane Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder on Black Swan Lane 2017 Description / Buy
2 Murder at Half Moon Gate 2018 Description / Buy
3 Murder at Kensington Palace 2019 Description / Buy
4 Murder at Queen's Landing 2020 Description / Buy
5 Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens 2021 Description / Buy
6 Murder at the Serpentine Bridge 2022 Description / Buy
7 Murder at the Merton Library 2023 Description / Buy
8 Murder at King’s Crossing 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Andrea Penrose Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Tiger's Mistress (As: Andrea DaRif) 2003 Description / Buy
2 A Kiss of Spice (As: Andrea DaRif) 2004 Description / Buy
3 The Diamond of London 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Andrea Penrose Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Christmas By Candlelight (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy

Andrea Penrose Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Regency Christmas Courtship 2005 Description / Buy
2 Truly, Madly, Regency 2014 Description / Buy
3 Just One Kiss Away 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She fell in love with the Regency era because it was such a diverse and exotic period known as much for the Napoleonic Wars as for the symphonies Beethoven composed. It was rife with political intrigue. Society was starting to surrender to a wave of radical ideas that clashed with conventional thinking.

Andrea couldn’t have asked for a more attractive setting for her books. And yet, it wasn’t her first literary love. By the time she was five, the author was already filling notebooks with elaborate Westerns. She went so far as to illustrate her stories with crayon drawings.

She only changed tracks to focus on Regency England when she read Pride and Prejudice. No one was surprised when Andrea became a published author. Books consumed her childhood. She used every opportunity she got to read. This enhanced her imagination.

In school, her classmates were well aware of her obsession with history. She doesn’t know why she was so interested in the past. But it followed her to college. Even though she majored in art at Yale, she took several history courses.

Andrea got her publishing break when she told a friend that she had written a modern thriller. That friend introduced Andrea to an agent. The author could tell that the agent in question had no interest in her pitch.

She never expected to hear from him. But as she prepared to leave, she mentioned the Regency Romance she had also written. The agent took an immediate interest in Andrea. He took her pitch to an editor. It only took three days for the agent to sell the author’s book, launching her publishing career.

When she’s concocting new stories, Andrea starts with the plot. She looks for a vague concept that can act as the seed from which the rest of the story will grow. She doesn’t plan her novels.

She figures things out as she writes. Her characters are rarely fully formed when she creates them. But she can see them in her mind. Like the story, the characters become more vivid as she writes. The more interactions they have, the easier it becomes for the author to visualize them.

Andrea needs peace and quiet to write. She also requires long stretches of time because she writes at a relatively slow pace. Though, she rarely gets the uninterrupted writing sessions she craves.

Andrew Penrose Awards

Andrea has been a RITA award finalist on more than one occasion. She has won Daphne Du Maurier and Gold Leaf awards.

Best Andrea Penrose Books

Jane Austen is one of Andrea’s favorite and most influential writers. Andrea’s best books include:

Murder On Black Swan Lane: The Earl of Wrexford had too much time on his hands. His intelligence had no equal. But he kept wasting it on meaningless squabbles. His latest target was the Reverend Josiah Holworthy. Josiah despised Wrexford because of his debauchery.

He did not hesitate to publicly condemn Wrexford. The Earl had no patience for Josiah and struck back without hesitation. He had no interest in actually harming the man.

And yet, when Josiah died, Wrexford became the prime suspect. His situation was bleak. The Earl’s war with the clergyman had been a public affair, and their verbal conflict had escalated quickly.
In the eyes of many people, Wrexford had an excellent reason to want Josiah dead. Wrexford must find the killer before it’s too late.

Murder At Half Moon Gate: A gifted inventor is dead. Lord Wrexford found the body in a dark alley. He had no intention of interfering with the authorities’ efforts to find the killer. But then the inventor’s widow came to him and revealed that the murder was meant to hide the theft of her husband’s revolutionary designs.

Now Wrexford is determined to get to the bottom of the mystery. He is joined in his investigation by Charlotte Sloane. Most people know Charlotte for the scathing cartoons that A.J. Quill, her pen name, publishes. But Charlotte is even more resourceful than Quill. With a network of spies at her disposal, the killer cannot hide.

When Does The Next Andrea Penrose book come out?

The next book by Andrea Penrose is Murder at King’s Crossing and will be released on September, 24th 2024. It is the newest book in the Wrexford & Sloane Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *