Andrew Mayne Books

Author and magician Andrew Mayne was born Andrew Harter. He began his performing career when he was just a teenager when he spent the summer working at a circus. At the age of nineteen he performed on cruise ships and in resorts. At this time, he was the youngest magician to perform internationally with his illusion show. The tricks he is known for are off beat, and combine mystery and science; they include shrinking his own body to just two feet and drinking liquid nitrogen. He has been a consultant to Penn and Teller, and has worked for James Randi in his million dollar paranormal challenge, working as an investigator.

Order of Jessica Blackwood Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Angel Killer 2012 Description / Buy
2 Fire in the Sky (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
3 Name of the Devil 2015 Description / Buy
4 Black Fall 2017 Description / Buy

Order of The Chronological Man Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Monster in the Mist (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Martian Emperor 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Station Breaker Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Station Breaker 2016 Description / Buy
2 Orbital 2017 Description / Buy

Order of The Naturalist Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Naturalist 2017 Description / Buy
2 Looking Glass 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Andrew Mayne Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Public Enemy Zero 2001 Description / Buy
2 The Grendel's Shadow (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Hollywood Pharaohs 2012 Description / Buy
4 Knight School 2013 Description / Buy
5 Game Knight (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Andrew Mayne Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 How to Write a Novella in 24 Hours (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Cure for Writer's Block (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
3 How to Make Money on Mars 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

His work is from the thriller, science fiction, and non fiction genres. He writes about a magician that becomes an agent for the FBI whose name is Jessica Blackwood.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Andrew Mayne, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Angel Killer”, “Name of the Devil”, and “Black Fall”.

Angel Killer: This is the first novel in the “Jessica Blackwood” series and was released in the year 2014. Jessica Blackwood, an FBI agent, thinks that her complex life as a gifted magician. It ends when a killer (who has what appears to be supernatural powers) tests her talents with the ultimate test.

“Warlock”, a hacker, takes down the FBI’s official site and puts in its place a code that sends anyone to a cemetery in Michigan. There is a dead girl here that appears to be rising out of the ground. Almost like she attempted to get out of her own grave.

Jessica comes from a big family of illusionists, but turned her back on the troubled family to start her new gig in law enforcement. She turned down a chance to be the next big star of the family. A consultant with the FBI named Dr. Jeffrey Ailes finds an magic magazine from many years back that capsizes her world. Ailes has got nothing to lose by trusting her, as the crime does not seem to have any kind of real explanation. More bodies follow, and Jessica will have to face her past to stop this killer. Or she is going to be the next victim.

Name of the Devil: This is the second novel in the “Jessica Blackwood” series and was released in the year 2015. The congregation of a church disappears under some mysterious circumstances in Appalachia, and evidence points to the Devil. Since Satan cannot be the suspect, Dr. Ailes and Agent Knoll (who was Jessica’s boss during the Warlock case) turn to their ace, Jessica.

She believes that important evidence is on an ancient cassette tape, and figuring out the events on the tape bring to light something troubling. The events have some implications that reach far and wide. It is a human evil that is at work, and Jessica has to chase the trail off to West Virginia, to Mexico, the Vatican’s hallowed halls, and Miami.

Will she be able to catch a killer who is obsessed by mortal sins, or is she the next target in this twisted game of prey and hunter?

Black Fall: This is the third novel in the “Jessica Blackwood” series and was released in the year 2017. Jessica now has two big cases solved, and is just beginning to come to terms the odd past she has, coming from family of great illusionists. The talent and experience she’s got make her able to understand the potential and power deception can have. She also knows when things are more than they appear. She used to resent her grandpa, who is a great magician on his own, but she now seeks his help as mentor and wants his advice about work.

A routine surveillance turns into a fight for her survival when a disturbed young female, holding a baby and threatens to kill her kid at the stake out place. That very day, just one hour after a nasty earthquake shakes the east coast, there is an odd video that winds up going viral. A Nobel winning physicist, named Peter Devon, predicts the location and date of the quake. He died eight years ago.

Dr. Ailes gives her the case, but a detective reports that there is a Jane Doe matching this young woman’s description. She wants to find out who the female was and why someone would want to kill her.

When Does The Next Andrew Mayne book come out?

Andrew Mayne doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Looking Glass and was released on March, 13th 2018. It is the newest book in the The Naturalist Series.