Andrew Vachss Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Andrew Vachss was an American author and attorney that spent his life fighting for young people. Born in 1942 in New York City, the writer’s passion for children was sparked during his stint with a syphilis task force in the US.

Order of Burke Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Flood 1985 Description / Buy
2 Strega 1987 Description / Buy
3 Blue Belle 1988 Description / Buy
4 Hard Candy 1989 Description / Buy
5 Blossom 1990 Description / Buy
6 Sacrifice 1991 Description / Buy
7 Down in the Zero 1994 Description / Buy
8 Footsteps of the Hawk 1995 Description / Buy
9 False Allegations 1996 Description / Buy
10 Safe House 1998 Description / Buy
11 Choice of Evil 1999 Description / Buy
12 Dead and Gone 2000 Description / Buy
13 Pain Management 2001 Description / Buy
14 Only Child 2002 Description / Buy
15 Down Here 2004 Description / Buy
16 Mask Market 2006 Description / Buy
17 Terminal 2007 Description / Buy
18 Another Life 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Hap & Leonard Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Veil's Visit ( With: Joe R. Lansdale) 1999 Description / Buy
2 Hap and Leonard ( By: Joe R. Lansdale) 2016 Description / Buy
3 Hap and Leonard: Blood and Lemonade ( By: Joe R. Lansdale) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Cross Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blackjack 2012 Description / Buy
2 Urban Renewal 2014 Description / Buy
3 Drawing Dead 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Aftershock Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Aftershock 2013 Description / Buy
2 Shockwave 2014 Description / Buy
3 Signwave 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Andrew Vachss Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shella 1993 Description / Buy
2 The Getaway Man 2003 Description / Buy
3 Two Trains Running 2005 Description / Buy
4 Haiku 2009 Description / Buy
5 Heart Transplant (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
6 The Weight 2010 Description / Buy
7 That's How I Roll 2012 Description / Buy
8 A Bomb Built in Hell 2012 Description / Buy
9 Mortal Lock 2013 Description / Buy
10 Carbon 2019 Description / Buy
11 Blood Line 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Andrew Vachss Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Born Bad 1986 Description / Buy
2 Another Chance to Get It Right (Short Story) 1993 Description / Buy
3 Everybody Pays 1999 Description / Buy

Order of Andrew Vachss Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Questioner (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Andrew Vachss Graphic Novels with Geof Darrow

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hard Looks: Adapted Stories 1994 Description / Buy
2 Harder Looks ( With: Geof Darrow) 1994 Description / Buy
3 The Shaolin Cowboy Adventure Magazine (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Vachss: Underground 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Andrew Vachss Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Life Style Violent Juvenile 1979 Description / Buy

Order of L.A. Noire: The Collected Stories Series with Lawrence Block, Joe R. Lansdale, Joyce Carol Oates, Megan Abbott, Duane Swierczynski, Francine Prose, Jonathan Santlofer

# Read Title Published Details
1 L.A. Noire: The Collected Stories ( With: Lawrence Block, Joe R. Lansdale, Joyce Carol Oates, Megan Abbott, Duane Swierczynski, Francine Prose, Jonathan Santlofer) 2010 Description / Buy
2 Black Dahlia White Rose ( By: Joyce Carol Oates) 2011 Description / Buy

Andrew Vachss Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cold Blood 1991 Description / Buy
2 Dark at Heart 1992 Description / Buy
3 L.A. Noire: The Collected Stories 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Vachss cared about the plight of children in the US after a rough encounter while working as a field investigator. Eventually, Vachsss went to Biafra, volunteering his abilities to projects bringing food and medical supplies to the people who needed them the most. The project was a failure because of opposition from the Nigerian government.
By the time the author returned home, he was plagued by injuries and diseases. He attended the New England School of Law following his recovery, officially starting his journey as a lawyer in 1975.

Vachss continued his charity work, lending his skills to programs that helped immigrants and convicts. As a lawyer, he primarily represented young people, doing what he could to help child abuse victims.

The author’s literature reflected his determination to help children and teens. Burke, the investigator at the heart of his novels, has a history of abuse, which is why he’s so distrustful.

Burke is loyal to the family he chose because the family into which he was born tortured him. He will fight tooth and nail to protect those he adores and avenge them when the worst comes to pass.

The character is not unique. Many of the author’s stories feature abused children that had to band together as adults to attain a semblance of normalcy. People have attributed the term ‘Circle of Trust’ to Vachss.

During this legal and literary career, the writer thought that society was mistaken in emphasizing the dangers that strangers posed. While he accepted that predators who grabbed kids off the street were real, the biggest threats to a child were the people in his home, the individuals he trusted: fathers, mothers, coaches, counselors.

Additionally, Vachss found hope in the lives of children that had suffered significant abuse. And yet, instead of becoming oppressors and abusing other kids, they retained a modicum of empathy that pushed them to protect other children during their adult years.

The author believed that the resilience seen in the lives of these abuse victims showed that the human race could overcome impossible odds.

His compassion for dogs was equally strong. Vachss’ love for so-called ‘dangerous’ breeds was well documented. He argued that the aggression seen in pit bulls, rottweilers, and the like was a consequence of unrelenting abuse.
On the personal front, the author’s most recognizable attribute was the eyepatch that obscured his right eye. A boy struck the eye with a chain when Vachss was seven.

Vachss’ wife, Alice, worked as a sex crimes prosecutor before turning her attention to publishing.

Andrew Vachss Awards

Vachss received a Bram Stoker nomination in 1995.

Best Andrew Vachss Books

The author died in 2021. He was 79. Coronary artery disease was the cause. Vachss’ best books include:

Flood: Burke was a private detective and the perfect man for the job. Flood was dangerous. She went to Japan to study martial arts, and now she had returned to get revenge. A predator had victimized her best friend’s child. She couldn’t wait to get her hands on him.

But before that, she had to find him, which is where Burke entered the equation. Any other detective would have questioned the request. But Burke was a different breed, a former mercenary, and ex-convict that had no love for child predators.

Strega: Strega was at the end of her rope. She wanted Burke to recover a photo. But this wasn’t a simple case of infidelity. The picture was of a boy being abused. Burke was reluctant to dip his toes into those particular waters. But then he learned about the individuals responsible for the atrocity and realized that he couldn’t stand by and watch.

His detached approach to life wouldn’t do, not this time. However, helping Strega meant wading into the seedy underbelly of the city, a place rife with twisted adults that took great pleasure in causing helpless children anguish.

When Does The Next Andrew Vachss book come out?

Andrew Vachss doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Blood Line and was released on January, 26th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *