Ann Hazelwood Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ann Hazelwood is an American author who writes cozy mysteries. Hazelwood writes about quilting, which makes sense because she owned a quilt shop for thirty years. She’s been certified as a quilt appraiser by the American Quilter’s Society, an organization with the world’s largest quilting membership.

Get notified when Ann Hazelwood releases a new book at

Order of Colebridge Community Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Basement Quilt 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Potting Shed Quilt 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Funeral Parlor Quilt 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Jane Austen Quilt Club 2014 Description / Buy
5 The Ghostly Quilts on Main 2014 Description / Buy
6 Quilted Lilies 2015 Description / Buy
7 A Colebridge Quilted Christmas 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Door County Quilts Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Quilters of the Door 2020 Description / Buy
2 Door to Door Quilts 2021 Description / Buy
3 The Tannenbaum Christmas Quilt 2021 Description / Buy
4 Quilted Cherries 2022 Description / Buy
5 Christmas Surprises at the Door 2022 Description / Buy

Order of East Perry County Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Forgiving Quilt 2016 Description / Buy
2 Josephine's Guest House Quilt 2016 Description / Buy
3 Quilt the Town Christmas 2016 Description / Buy
4 Everlasting Quilts 2017 Description / Buy
5 Church Ladies' Quilts 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Wine Country Quilts Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 For the Love of Quilts 2018 Description / Buy
2 Lily Girl's Christmas Quilt 2018 Description / Buy
3 Quilted Secrets 2019 Description / Buy
4 A Christmas Wish Quilt 2019 Description / Buy
5 The Quilt Left Behind 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Ann Hazelwood Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Christmas, She Wrote 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When AQS decided to publish fiction, Ann joined their ranks, dipping her toes into the cozy mystery genre. Like many of her peers, the author writes what she knows.

She uses her experiences to create characters that enjoy quilting as much as she does. Hazelwood will also base the conflicts and mysteries in her books on quilting. But she has no interest in mimicking the dark and gritty storytelling one finds in the crime fiction genre.

The author’s books are short and simplistic. She wants audiences to have a fun and relaxing time while reading her novels. This is why the tension between her characters is short-lived. She tries to create a comfortable atmosphere using protagonists who spend their days meandering through beautiful settings and quilting with their friends and families.

For that reason, Hazelwood’s work tends to appeal to readers with a strong appreciation for quilting. They can understand the sense of satisfaction quilting induces in the author’s heroines. Some readers have commended her for using settings they know.

Best Ann Hazelwood Books

Besides writing novels, the author gives lectures on quilting topics. Her quilt collection has appeared in the National Quilt Museum. Hazelwood’s best books include:

Quilters Of The Door: Claire Stewart is new to Door County, Wisconsin. The 55-year-old escaped a bad relationship in Missouri. Door County offered the watercolor quilt artist her best chance at starting afresh. It also helped that Door County had boundless inspiration for any artist looking to start a new quilt project.

For Claire, the man with the red scarf was particularly intriguing. After all she had suffered, Claire couldn’t wait to open herself up to new friendships, ideas, and even romance.

‘Quilters of the Door’ is the first novel in the ‘Door County Quilts’ series. Door County, the setting, is an actual location between Green Bay in Wisconsin and Lake Michigan. Many authors in various genres use Door County because of its rich history. Door County has been populated by Orchard growers, farmers, and fishermen for generations.

It also offers a natural beauty that attracts artists and tourists. Residents and enthusiastic visitors to Door County love books like this one that attempt to capture the location’s unique charm.

The protagonist, Claire, leaves a dead relationship and moves to Door County shortly before Christmas. Because she’s new to the area, Hazelwood uses the character as a tour guide that introduces readers to Door County’s cuisine, attractions, and welcoming residents.

This is why Claire spends so much time walking around, shopping, and eating. Additionally, she shines a light on the interesting relationship dynamics in quilting clubs.

The novel is more set up than anything else, designed to introduce the questions and mysteries Claire will resolve in the next book. That includes Rachel and Charlie’s financial problems, the quilt club’s strict rules, and the boating accident.

The Basement Quilt: Anne Brown takes center stage in ‘The Basement Quilt.’ The plucky florist lives a relatively ordinary life filled with various ups and downs. When she decides to dip her toes into quilting to help her aunt, the development changes her life in ways she couldn’t have predicted.

First, she begins to uncover family secrets. And then, she comes across a mysterious presence in a basement. But what did she see? What does it mean? Will she ever find love? Is she ready to tackle the difficult decisions waiting for her?

‘The Basement Quilt’ is the first novel in the ‘Colebridge Community’ series. Like many Ann Hazelwood books, this one attempts to capture the warmth and familiarity people associate with small communities.

She also uses local business names and events that some people may recognize. Once again, Hazelwood tries to appeal to quilters by using terminology they understand and creating quilt-related situations they will appreciate.

That includes a close-knit crew that meets routinely to quilt in one another’s company. And yet, the author finds a way of adding tension to some of the interactions.

When Does The Next Ann Hazelwood book come out?

Ann Hazelwood doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Christmas, She Wrote and was released on October, 25th 2023. It is the newest book in the Ann Hazelwood Collections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *