Anne Bishop Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Anne Bishop is an American author that is best known for the Black Jewels Trilogy. Anne was a little girl when she started writing. She appreciated the education system for having taught her to read and write.

Get notified when Anne Bishop releases a new book at

Order of The Black Jewels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Daughter of the Blood 1998 Description / Buy
2 Heir to the Shadows 1999 Description / Buy
3 Queen of the Darkness 2000 Description / Buy
4 The Invisible Ring 2000 Description / Buy
5 Dreams Made Flesh 2005 Description / Buy
6 Tangled Webs 2008 Description / Buy
7 The Shadow Queen 2009 Description / Buy
8 Shalador's Lady 2010 Description / Buy
9 Twilight's Dawn 2011 Description / Buy
10 The Queen's Bargain 2020 Description / Buy
11 The Queen's Weapons 2021 Description / Buy
12 The Queen’s Price 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Tir Alainn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Pillars of the World 2001 Description / Buy
2 Shadows and Light 2002 Description / Buy
3 The House of Gaian 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Ephemera Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sebastian 2006 Description / Buy
2 Belladonna 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Voice (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Bridge of Dreams 2012 Description / Buy

Order of The Others Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Written in Red 2013 Description / Buy
2 Murder of Crows 2014 Description / Buy
3 Vision in Silver 2015 Description / Buy
4 Marked in Flesh 2016 Description / Buy
5 Etched in Bone 2017 Description / Buy

Order of The World of the Others Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lake Silence 2018 Description / Buy
2 Wild Country 2019 Description / Buy
3 Crowbones 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Anne Bishop Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stranded 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Lady in Glass and Other Stories 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Mossy Creek Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mossy Creek 2001 Description / Buy
2 Reunion at Mossy Creek 2002 Description / Buy
3 Summer in Mossy Creek 2003 Description / Buy
4 Blessings of Mossy Creek 2004 Description / Buy
5 A Day in Mossy Creek 2006 Description / Buy
6 At Home in Mossy Creek 2007 Description / Buy
7 Gone But Not Forgotten: Novella (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
8 Critters of Mossy Creek 2009 Description / Buy
9 Homecoming in Mossy Creek 2011 Description / Buy
10 Closer Than They Appear: Novella (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
11 Christmas in Mossy Creek 2017 Description / Buy

Anne Bishop Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ruby Slippers, Golden Tears 1995 Description / Buy
2 Black Swan, White Raven 1997 Description / Buy
3 Silver Birch, Blood Moon 1999 Description / Buy
4 Powers of Detection 2004 Description / Buy
5 Heroic Hearts 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

And it did not take her long to glom to writing. Bishop loved storytelling, and it brought her quite a bit of joy to realize that she could use the words she was learning to shape fictional worlds and characters.

Unfortunately, she was also quite young when she abandoned writing. The author recognized early on that her skills were lacking. And she decided that there was no point in pursuing her love for writing when she didn’t have the capacity to produce great stories.

So Bishop put her hobby in the rearview mirror and went on with her life. For a time, the author was fine. She became an adult and did all the things that were expected of her; there was no reason for Bishop to believe that writing would ever return to the forefront of her life.

But then something unexpected happened. Even as an adult, Bishop was still quite adamant about her decision to abandon writing. But then stories started forcing their way into her mind.

At first, Bishop thought she could ignore them. But then they persisted, so Bishop eventually sat down to give them life with her words. She was able to write and publish numerous short stories, a feat that gave her the confidence to finally look at publishing as a viable career.

That, in turn, forced the author to face the fears of her childhood that had compelled her to abandon her passion, all those thoughts of inadequacy that had continued to permeate her perception of her own writing.

As an adult, Anne Bishop had the maturity to contend with these worries. And rather than letting them bully her, she went on to read books and magazines on writing, time management, and organization, injecting effort into honing her skills along the way.

She also read more and wrote more, having determined that she would eventually leave her short stories behind to tackle a full-length novel.

Her dream became a reality in 1998 when she wrote Daughter of the Blood, the first book in the Black Jewels series. Bishop went on to publish several books, garnering a reputation for producing violent but sensual fantasy fiction.

The author’s works feature strong women that must overcome the aggressive threats that litter their worlds.

Bishop loves creating new worlds and characters. That initial stage of writing, when her stories are still fresh and unexplored, is her favorite. The author writes organically. She doesn’t care for outlines.

Rather, she works most of her ideas out in her head, only sitting down to write once she understands the general direction her stories will take. Even though Bishop’s work features a lot of violence, she takes greater pleasure in crafting warm and inviting scenes that explore themes of love, friendship, and romance.

Anne Bishop Awards

Bishop’s extensive collection of awards includes the Pioneer Award (1998), the RT Career Achievement Award, the William L. Crawford Memorial Fantasy Award and the RT Book Reviewer’s Choice Award.

She also received a Sapphire Award nomination in 1998 and a PEARL Award mention in 2009.

Best Anne Bishop Books

Anne Bishop’s books are designed to provide the perfect blend of dark, violent fantasy and sensual romance, with some of the best books in her bibliography including:

Daughter of the Blood: The Dark Kingdom has known for a while now that the power of the High Lord of Hell would be eclipsed by a Dark Queen who would rise to fulfill an ancient prophecy. Now the witch is here and she isn’t quite what anyone expected.

The girl is immensely powerful but she is also quite young. Whoever controls her will control the darkness.

Heir to the Shadows: Janelle is slowly coming into her own. She still has room to grow. Her powers are frightening. But Saetan, her foster father, will protect and guide her until she gains the control she needs to take her place as the true heir of the magical darkness.

But before that appointed time, Jaenelle must regain her memories of Daemon, Saetan’s son and the person who sacrificed everything for her.

When Does The Next Anne Bishop book come out?

Anne Bishop doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Lady in Glass and Other Stories and was released on February, 27th 2024. It is the newest book in the Anne Bishop Short Story Collections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *