Anne Holt Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Anne Holt is a popular Norwegian author that writes crime fiction. The author started out in law before branching into the publishing arena.

Get notified when Anne Holt releases a new book at

Order of Hanne Wilhelmsen Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blind Goddess 1993 Description / Buy
2 Blessed Are Those Who Thirst 1993 Description / Buy
3 Death of the Demon 1995 Description / Buy
4 The Lion's Mouth 1997 Description / Buy
5 Dead Joker 1999 Description / Buy
6 No Echo 2000 Description / Buy
7 Beyond the Truth 2003 Description / Buy
8 1222 2007 Description / Buy
9 Odd Numbers / Offline 2015 Description / Buy
10 In Dust and Ashes 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Selma Falck Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Grave for Two 2018 Description / Buy
2 A Necessary Death 2020 Description / Buy
3 A Memory for Murder 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Vik & Stubø Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Punishment / What Is Mine 2001 Description / Buy
2 The Final Murder / What Never Happens 2004 Description / Buy
3 Death in Oslo 2006 Description / Buy
4 Fear Not 2008 Description / Buy
5 What Dark Clouds Hide 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Sara Zuckerman Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Flimmer 2010 Description / Buy
2 Sudden Death 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Anne can trace her roots back to Larvik in Norway where she was born in 1958. Though, many of her childhood memories are of places like Tromso and Lilestrom which is where she grew up.

The author attended the University of Bergen from where she got her law degree. Though, before she could practice law, she had to first spend two years in the Oslo Police Department.

Anne has enjoyed a relatively varied series of careers. Besides law, she also dabbled in journalism, at one point working as an anchorwoman at a television station. By the time she became Minister of Justice in Cabinet Jagland, Anne Holt’s literary career had taken off.

She wrote Blind gudinne in 1993, a novel that introduced Hanne Wilhelmsen to readers, a lesbian police officer with a sharp wit and a strong heart. Anne has always been quite the politically active figure.

Identifying as a social democrat, the author has fought long and hard to secure the rights of Islamic immigrants in Norway. Anne has a strong relationship with Swedish journalists who she has commended for criticizing the anti-immigrant factions in Norway.

She has expressed concern that Noway has been slow to call out the racism she sees in those people who have taken up the fight against immigrants from Muslim countries. Anne’s goal has always been to bring the same sense of political correctness that persists in Sweden.

The author’s books definitely mirror her politics. Anne Holt primarily writes crime fiction. She tells stories that draw upon the social, economic and cultural issues of her community.

Her literary efforts have made her one of the most successful Norwegian authors in the world.

Anne Holt Awards

Anne earned the Riverton Prize and the Bokhandler Prize for Salige er de som torster and Demonens dod. The author has been nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award and a Macavity Award for 1222, not to mention being a finalist for the Lambda Literary Prize for Death of the Demon.

Anne Holt Books into movies

Anne Holt’s Fear Not was turned into a Scandinavian Crime drama series that premiered on BBC in November of 2016. Fear Not is the fourth book in the Vik/Stubo series. Called Modus, the series was brought to the small screen by the same people responsible for The Bridge.

The Television show follows the exploits of a profiler and her autistic daughter that are drawn into a dangerous investigation.

Best Anne Holt Books

Anne Holt has captured the hearts and minds of readers in Scandinavia and beyond, with authors like Val McDermid praising her for her strong voice and skillful plotting; some of the best novels in the author’s bibliography include:

Blessed Are Those Who Thirst: May is here. Oslo is struggling under the weight of a brutal heat wave. And unfortunately for everyone involved, violent crimes have suddenly spiked. This matters to Hanne Wilhelmsen because she is a detective and crime is her business.

When Hanne is called to an abandoned shed, she doesn’t know if she’s looking at a crime scene or a prank. There’s no body to speak of but the copious amounts of blood on display are startling.

Then there’s the series of numbers that have been written in blood on one particular wall. Hanne needs to figure out whether the blood is human and if someone has actually been murdered.

This is as the guilty party proceeds to write more numbers in blood all over Oslo. Hanne realizes that they have a real case on their hands when the digits in question are revealed to correspond to the filing numbers of foreign female immigrants that are missing.

If there is a serial killer on the prowl in Oslo, then he seems to have access to immigrant data, and that is worrisome. Hanne must stop him or her before it is too late.

Dod Joker: Chief Public Prosecutor Sigurd Halvorsrud watched his wife getting decapitated. When he is found covered in blood, with the remains of his wife in the family room, the police naturally look to him as the primary suspect.

Sigurd is pointing the finger at Stale Salvesen who he prosecuted years ago. Hanne Wilhelmsen is the detective that must make sense of a case that takes an even more complicated turn when Stale Salvesen commits suicide.

When Does The Next Anne Holt book come out?

Anne Holt doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Memory for Murder and was released on April, 15th 2021. It is the newest book in the Selma Falck Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *