Anne Perry Books

Anne Perry is a writer of historical detective novels. A native of England, She is best known for her Thomas Pitt and William Monk stories as well as her annual Christmas stories.

Order of Anne Perry Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Letters from the Highlands 2004

Order of Anne Perry Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Fashionable Funeral 1992
2 A Dish Taken Cold 1999
3 The One Thing More 2000
4 Heroes 2007
5 The Sheen on the Silk 2010
6 The Scroll (Short Story) 2014

Order of Charlotte & Thomas Pitt Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Cater Street Hangman 1979
2 Callander Square 1980
3 Paragon Walk 1981
4 Resurrection Row 1981
5 Rutland Place 1983
6 Bluegate Fields 1984
7 Death in The Devil's Acre 1985
8 Cardington Crescent 1987
9 Silence in Hanover Close 1988
10 Bethlehem Road 1990
11 Highgate Rise 1991
12 Belgrave Square 1992
13 Farriers' Lane 1993
14 The Hyde Park Headsman 1994
15 Traitors Gate 1995
16 Pentecost Alley 1996
17 Ashworth Hall 1997
18 Bedford Square 1998
19 Brunswick Gardens 1998
20 Half Moon Street 1998
21 The Whitechapel Conspiracy 2000
22 Southampton Row 2002
23 Seven Dials 2003
24 Long Spoon Lane 2005
25 Buckingham Palace Gardens 2008
26 Betrayal at Lisson Grove 2010
27 Dorchester Terrace 2011
28 Midnight at Marble Arch 2012
29 Death on Blackheath 2014
30 The Angel Court Affair 2015
31 Treachery at Lancaster Gate 2016
32 Murder on the Serpentine 2017

Order of Christmas Stories Series

Order of Tathea Series

# Read Title Published
1 Tathea 1999
2 Come Armageddon 2001

Order of Timepiece Series

# Read Title Published
1 Tudor Rose 2011
2 Rose of No Man's Land 2011
3 Blood Red Rose 2012
4 Rose Between Two Thorns 2012

Order of William Monk Series

Order of World War I Series

# Read Title Published
1 No Graves As Yet 2003
2 Shoulder the Sky 2004
3 Angels in the Gloom 2005
4 At Some Disputed Barricade 2006
5 We Shall Not Sleep 2007


Print: Print PDF

Born as Juliet Hulme, Perry struggled with her life at the start as she was diagnosed with tuberculosis as a child and had missed a few years of schooling. She was also sent to jail for a few years after she was found to have assisted a friend in a murder case.

After she was released from prison, she eventually joined the LDS church while in the United States. She had been studying history and genre fiction and became very interested. She started writing novels under the Anne Perry name as she used her stepfather’s surname for her name publishing name.

Since then, Perry has been a popular writer who has inspired people as someone who got through a difficult childhood and into a stronger and happier life. She has three different series of books in particular.

Her Thomas Pitt series is about the titular detective who works alongside a local female society to solve crimes and mysteries in the 1850s Victorian era. The William Monk series takes place in the later part of the nineteenth century and has Monk traveling with nurse Hester Latterly to solve various crimes.

She also has a series of Christmas stories that she has been working on every year since 2003. These stories often entail various minor characters from the Pitt and Monk series and highlight important messages of redemption and hope during this special time of the year. The stories often entail unique mysteries that take place around this period of time.

Anne Perry Awards

Many of Anne Perry’s books have been finalists for the Agatha Award, a prominent award given to the world’s best mystery novelists. Among the books she has written that have been finalists include the 1992 Monk book Defend and Betray and the 2008 Pitt book Buckingham Palace Gardens. The 2000 Pitt novel Half Moon Street was also a finalist for a Macavity Award, another prominent honor given to top mystery writers. He works continue to be respected and admired by people all around the world, especially those in the United Kingdom.

Anne Perry Books Into Movies

Although none of Anne Perry’s books have been made into movies, a documentary about her past was released in 2009. The film Anne Perry: Interiors entails Perry discussion her involvement in a murder when she was young and how it had impacted her life. This marks an important point in her life as she discusses the many problems she had when growing up and what she had to do as a means of getting through her difficult history to become a novelist. It is unclear as to whether any of Perry’s works will be made into movies or television programs themselves.

Best Anne Perry Books

The Face of a Stranger: The first William Monk story was published in 1990. Monk has lost his memory following a carriage accident. He soon goes out to investigate the death of a Crimean war hero. However, as he begins to discover more things about himself, this leads him to the concern that he could have committed the act himself. However, he soon meets nurse Hester Latterly, who worked alongside Florence Nightingale, to help him with his investigation.

Half Moon Street: The 2000 novel in the Thomas Pitt series is about an investigation into a man whose mutilated body was found along the shore of the Thames. The investigation leads Pitt into the modern art society of London as he is brought into the new world of photography. He also meets an appealing woman whose new play about the modern woman is creating quite a shock in the London theatre scene.

A Christmas Visitor: This beloved 2004 Christmas story features Henry Rathbone, a character from the William Monk series of stories. As Henry arrives to a home to spend the Christmas holiday with acquaintances, he discovers that the house master has died. However, someone is claiming to be the real owner of his estate and is willing to slander the old master’s name. This leads into an investigation to try and find what happened and who the estate is truly supposed to belong to.