Anthony Riches Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Anthony Riches is an English author who writes historical fiction. Anthony blames his interest in the military on his father and grandfather. They served in the First And Second World Wars. The author attended Manchester University, where he acquired a degree in Military Studies.

Get notified when Anthony Riches releases a new book at

Order of Empire Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wounds of Honour 2009 Description / Buy
2 Arrows of Fury 2010 Description / Buy
3 Fortress of Spears 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Leopard Sword 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Wolf's Gold 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Emperor's Knives 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Eagle's Vengeance 2014 Description / Buy
8 Thunder of the Gods 2015 Description / Buy
9 Altar of Blood 2016 Description / Buy
10 The Scorpion's Strike 2019 Description / Buy
11 River of Gold 2020 Description / Buy
12 Vengeance 2022 Description / Buy
13 Storm of War 2023 Description / Buy
14 Clash of Legions 2024 Description / Buy

Order of The Centurions Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Betrayal 2017 Description / Buy
2 Onslaught 2017 Description / Buy
3 Retribution 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Michael Bale Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Nemesis 2021 Description / Buy
2 Target Zero 2022 Description / Buy

Anthony Riches Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rubicon 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Anthony worked for various blue-chip companies in the ensuing decades before branching into business systems and projected management. His work as a freelance project manager has taken the author to the Middle East, Europe, the USA, and the Far East.

Initially, he wrote fiction to entertain himself. The experimentation allowed the author to refine his craft. He remembers carrying the manuscript for ‘Wounds of Honor’ on several computer hard drives and memory sticks for a decade.

It took a fortuitous encounter in Belfast to give Anthony the kick he needed to rewrite and publish the manuscript.

The author is not a plotter. Usually, he knows the story’s beginning and how it might end. But everything in between takes shape as he puts words on the page. Once Anthony creates new characters, he expects them to do most of the heavy lifting. They will support and even expand the plot, guiding him from the first page to the last as he gradually discovers the story.

He prefers to maintain a large cast. This gives him more options because he can rotate through different characters with each new book. Additionally, readers are less likely to guess the trajectory each story will take.

Anthony’s process is somewhat messy because it compels him to routinely backtrack to insert events that support future developments. But the process has never betrayed him, although he believes that storytellers who map out their books ahead of time are superior.

His books require little or no editing because he pours over the manuscript repeatedly toward the end as he attempts to tie up loose ends. Research is a vital aspect of his craft. When the author took the Tungrians to Rome in ‘The Emperor’s Knives,’ he walked around Rome to get a better sense of the topology.

Anthony is not content with simply reading about the eras that fascinate him. The author tries to recreate those periods. For that reason, he owns several suits of armor, including a Tungrian auxiliary set and an early Principiate centurion kit.

They give him an appreciation for the aches and pains ancient warriors tolerated while matching through strenuous conditions. He understands the weight of a sword and the strength it takes to swing the weapon. That knowledge informs the author’s vivid descriptions.

Anthony does not follow a strict writing routine. On a good day, he can write two thousand words within hours. But some days are a struggle. Nonetheless, he tries to write every day, regardless of whether he feels like it or not.

Best Anthony Riches Books

The author loves interacting with his fans, particularly the dumbstruck readers who look at him with awe when they see him in person. Anthony’s best books include:

Wounds Of Honour: Marcus Valerius Aquilla was on Hadrian’s Wall because he had no choice. His time in Britannia took a nasty turn when a power-mad Emperor condemned him to a dishonorable death. Marcus took a new name and tried to start afresh in an obscure regiment.

But the fates wouldn’t let him be. A rebel army was marching from the north of the wall, and Marcus was the only man competent enough to keep his band of misfits alive long enough to repel the attack.

Arrows Of Fury: The Battle of the Lost Eagle was merely the first of many. While it had saved Hadrian’s wall, a new war was brewing on the horizon. And this time, it would take a miracle for Marcus to survive.

The new Roman Governor was determined to quell the rebellion of the northern tribes. Failure meant losing the province. But for Marcus, the northern tribes were merely one of several problems dogging his heels.

The landscape was changing. Reinforcements kept pouring into Britannia and hemming Marcus in with new officers who had every reason to betray him. The Emperor’s henchmen were still on the loose.

It would take a single careless word to doom him. Can Marcus navigate Britannia’s precarious climate while training Syrian archers to withstand a barbarian charge?

When Does The Next Anthony Riches book come out?

Anthony Riches doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Clash of Legions and was released on February, 15th 2024. It is the newest book in the Empire Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *