Anthony Trollope Books

Anthony Trollope was one of the most prodigious British novelists of the nineteenth century who helped shape the contours of English literature since the Victorian times. He is mostly acknowledged for his collection of novels famously referred to as the Chronicles of Barsetshire and a separate series known as Palliser novels. He lived between 1815 and 1882.

Order of Anthony Trollope Non-Fiction Books

Order of Anthony Trollope Short Stories

Order of Anthony Trollope Short Story Collections

Order of Anthony Trollope Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 The Macdermots of Ballycloran 1847
2 The Kellys And The O'Kellys 1848
3 La Vendée 1850
4 The Three Clerks 1858
5 The Bertrams 1859
6 Castle Richmond 1860
7 A Ride Across Palestine 1861
8 Aaron Trow 1861
9 Orley Farm 1862
10 The Struggles of Brown, Jones and Robinson, by One of the Firm 1862
11 Rachel Ray 1863
12 Miss Mackenzie 1865
13 Travelling Sketches 1866
14 The Belton Estate 1866
15 The Claverings 1867
16 Nina Balatka 1867
17 Linda Tressel 1868
18 He Knew He Was Right 1869
19 The Vicar of Bullhampton 1870
20 Sir Harry Hotspur of Humblethwaite 1870
21 The Golden Lion of Granpere 1871
22 Ralph the Heir 1871
23 Lady Anna 1874
24 Harry Heathcote of Gangoil 1874
25 The Way We Live Now 1875
26 The Writings of Anthony Trollope 1876
27 An Editor's Tale 1876
28 The American Senator 1877
29 Is He Popenjoy? 1878
30 The Lady of Launay 1878
31 Dr. Wortle's School 1879
32 Cousin Henry 1879
33 An Eye for an Eye 1879
34 John Caldigate 1879
35 Life of Cicero 1880
36 The Life of Cicero Volume One 1880
37 The Life of Cicero Volume 2 1880
38 Ayala's Angel 1881
39 The Fixed Period 1882
40 Kept in the Dark 1882
41 Marion Fay 1882
42 Mr. Scarborough's Family 1883
43 The Landleaguers 1883
44 An Old Man's Love 1884
45 Tacitus 1885
46 The Noble Jilt 1923

Order of Chronicles of Barsetshire Series

Order of Palliser Series

# Read Title Published
1 Can You Forgive Her? 1865
2 Phineas Finn 1869
3 The Eustace Diamonds 1873
4 Phineas Redux 1873
5 The Prime Minister 1876
6 The Duke's Children 1880
Print: Print PDF

Predominantly, Trollope’s novels dwelt on matters of social, political and gender issues, which engaged the interests of European societies during his time. He also authored dozens of short stories and travel books on themes that affected the daily lives of his primary audience. All through, Trollope enjoyed the esteem of fans and critics because of the depth of his literary insight.


Doctor Thorne (2016) is the latest screen adaptation of Trollope’s novels. The three-part television drama that features on ITV was written by Julian Fellowes. The drama features Tom Hollander and Stefanie Martini as Doctor Thorne and Mary Thorne respectively. The intriguing flow of the story is rendered in outstanding dramatic details that gives the entire story a unique audio-visual flourish.

Trollope’s fourth novel, The Warden, was serialized by the BBC in 1951. The serialization was broadcast live, but it was never recorded. The BBC presentation had a profound positive effect that spurred fresh interest into the works of the nineteenth century author. Subsequent screen adaptations have tended to reenact the Victorian social realities albeit with some modifications.

In 1974, the BBC ran a dramatized version of The Pallisers, which was the boldest television adaptations of Trollope’s works. The dramatization combined all the six books under the original Pallisers series. The filming took 13 months and involved a significantly huge cast. Cumulatively, the program involved twenty years of narrative with diverse thematic content.

There was also an adaptation of the Barchester Towers by the BBC in 1982. The filming was done around Peterborough Cathedral and ended up winning the Bafta award for Best Design. In 2001, the BBC featured a magnificent performance of ‘The Way We Live Now.’ The BBC One featured, ‘He Knew He Was Right,’ in 2004, which was critically acclaimed.


The Warden: This is Trollope’s first book and one of the highly acknowledged because of its exceptional form and thematic substance. Much of the novel revolves around the moral and legal tussle between Mr Septimus Harding, the warden of Hiram’s hospital and a young church reformer, John Bold over the warden’s hefty remunerations. The novel was published in 1855.

Bold considers the warden’s remunerations as unjustifiably excessive and disproportionate with other people’s salaries. The tipping point comes when the warden opts to relinquish his position on moral grounds. Overall, this is a story that weaves around matters of moral responsibility, kinship and love. The entangled social realities make this novel all the more interesting.

Barchester Towers: This novel is the second in Trollope’s series commonly known as Chronicles of Barsetshire. Published in 1857, Barchester Towers projects a critical angle on the rift between the Evangelical adherents and followers of the High Church during the turbulent times of the church of England. Many critics have found the book resoundingly vivid in its portrayal of the Victorian society.

Rival perspectives about the book have often labelled the charge of exaggeration, particularly in its treatment of the presumed excesses of the church leadership and the hypocrisy of the members. There is an impressive sense in which the author poured his passion into this novel with keen attention on the chinks that showed in the church’s armor during Trollope’s time.

Can You Forgive Her?: This is the first novel under Trollope’s Palliser series. In various respects, the author lets loose his diverse sentiments on femininity as expressed across a range of issues that include courtship and marriage. This book provides a resourceful grip into gender roles and expectations as they played out during the nineteenth century European society.

Trollope appeared to shine his search light on some of the vexing issues that appertain the character of women when placed against the challenges posed by the patriarchal mindset of his time. Through the characters of Alice Vavasor, Glencora Palliser and Arabella Greenow, the author lets us understand the varying shades of the authentic Victorian woman. The novel reveals the author as a keen observant and interpreter of the social realities of his era.