Archer Mayor Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Archer Mayor is a firefighter/EMT, constable, publications consultant, history researcher, newspaper writer, medical illustrator, political advance man, lab technician, travel writer, feature writer, scholarly editor, historian, teacher, and photographer turned critically acclaimed author.

Get notified when Archer Mayor releases a new book at

Order of Joe Gunther Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Open Season 1988 Description / Buy
2 Borderlines 1990 Description / Buy
3 Scent of Evil 1991 Description / Buy
4 The Skeleton's Knee 1992 Description / Buy
5 Fruits of the Poisonous Tree 1993 Description / Buy
6 The Dark Root 1994 Description / Buy
7 The Ragman's Memory 1995 Description / Buy
8 Bellows Falls 1996 Description / Buy
9 The Disposable Man 1997 Description / Buy
10 Occam's Razor 1999 Description / Buy
11 The Marble Mask 2000 Description / Buy
12 Tucker Peak 2001 Description / Buy
13 The Sniper's Wife 2002 Description / Buy
14 Gatekeeper 2003 Description / Buy
15 The Surrogate Thief 2004 Description / Buy
16 St. Albans Fire 2005 Description / Buy
17 The Second Mouse 2006 Description / Buy
18 Chat 2007 Description / Buy
19 The Catch 2008 Description / Buy
20 The Price of Malice 2009 Description / Buy
21 Red Herring 2010 Description / Buy
22 Tag Man 2011 Description / Buy
23 Paradise City 2012 Description / Buy
24 Three Can Keep a Secret 2013 Description / Buy
25 Proof Positive 2014 Description / Buy
26 The Company She Kept 2015 Description / Buy
27 Presumption of Guilt 2017 Description / Buy
28 Trace 2017 Description / Buy
29 Bury the Lead 2018 Description / Buy
30 Bomber's Moon 2019 Description / Buy
31 The Orphan's Guilt 2020 Description / Buy
32 Marked Man 2021 Description / Buy
33 Fall Guy 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Joe Gunther Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Snow Blind (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Crosscut (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Archer Mayor Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Southern Timberman 1988 Description / Buy

Archer Mayor Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Mysterious Press Anniversary Anthology: Celebrating 25 Years 2001 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In addition to the many professions he has held over the years, he has lived on two continents and several countries, and speaks Spanish and English. Given his many occupations and wanderlust ,he is best described as unemployable adventurer, though he loves to describe himself as a novelist.

Archer Mayor is best known for writing the “Joe Gunther” novels which he has been actively publishing since 1988. The debut novel was “Open Season” which was so popular that it has been followed by nearly thirty titles in the still ongoing series. He writes novels full of verve in vivid landscapes full of complex characters and intriguing plots, which have won him several awards over the years.


Apart from making several bestseller lists such as USA Today and The New York Times, Archer Mayor has won several awards too. His most prestigious award was the Best Fiction by the New England Independent Booksellers Association. He made history as the first crime fiction author to ever receive the award.


With nearly thirty novels to his name Archer Mayor’s novels are some of the most appreciated out there. The following three are some of the most highly regarded:

Trace: The VBI (Vermont Bureau of Investigations) finds itself in a difficult situation as it has to take care of three cases concurrently. Meanwhile, Joe Gunther the head of the Bureau needs to be excused to take care of his sick and elderly mother. The three cases now fall to three junior but highly competent officers. The murder case is assigned to Sammie Martens, who has shown a knack for solving such complex cases. The victim is daughter to the popular Beverly Hillstrom’s Medical Examiner, a young woman in her early twenties.

He is coming in from New York but knows that his first order is to find out the motive for the killing of the young woman that seemingly would not hurt a fly. Lester Spinney is saddled with a double murder cold case. A motorist and state trooper had been killed in a roadside incident, where it is alleged gunfire had been exchanged. Lester now believes that the fingerprints of the motorist on the gun had been planted leaving the question of who was responsible for killing the trooper and the motorist.

Willy Kunkle takes charge of the case where a child found three teeth on the nearby railroad, that resulted in an investigation into possible sabotage. The cases lead the VBI team across the state of Vermont and into neighboring states as they engage in thrilling adventure in the quest for justice.

Fruits of the Poisonous Tree: The fifth novel in the series is one of its most highly regarded. Joe Gunther’s decades long companion, and town selectwoman Gail Zigman is the victim of a brutal rape. The incident leaves Gunther caught up in a tangled network of well-meaning advocates for women’s rights, local politicians, and the media as he tries to banish his emotions and work to bring justice to the perpetrator.

Every single clue he unearths seems to lead him towards an obvious singular suspect. But he thinks the evidence fits in too well to be anything but corrupted. He arrests the suspect but cannot let go of the case and continues digging. By doing so he risks the respect of his peers and the friendship of his girlfriend, in the hope that he can prove once and for all whether the man they have in custody is guilty or not.

The Ragman’s Memory: The seventh novel of the series is a great novel with some of the most heartbreaking of mysteries. Joe Gunther is relaxing in his backyard when his neighbor, a small girl brings to him a bird’s nest – half made of human hair. Trying to find just who the hair could belong to, Gunther stumbles into the story of sudden disappearance, a grisly murder, and a mysterious death.

All the cases seem to have some connection to industrial espionage, blackmail, and municipal corruption. He knows that “The Ragman”, an aptly named World War II veteran may unravel the whole puzzle, but he needs to get to him before the deranged killer makes his next move.

When Does The Next Archer Mayor book come out?

Archer Mayor doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Fall Guy and was released on September, 27th 2022. It is the newest book in the Joe Gunther Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *