Attica Locke Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Attica Locke was born in the year 1974 in Houston, Texas, and is a graduate from Northwestern University. Locke has written many scripts for different studios and was once a fellow at the Sundance Institute Feature Filmmakers Lab. She was a writer for the television series “Empire”.

Get notified when Attica Locke releases a new book at

Order of Highway 59 Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bluebird, Bluebird 2017 Description / Buy
2 Heaven, My Home 2019 Description / Buy
3 Guide Me Home 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Jay Porter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Black Water Rising 2009 Description / Buy
2 Pleasantville 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Attica Locke Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Cutting Season 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Locke made her fiction debut in the year 2009 with the release of “Black Water Rising”.


She won a Harper Lee Prize in the legal category for her novel “Pleasantville” in the year 2016. It made quite a few best of lists for the year 2015. Her novel “The Cutting Season” won an Ernest Gaines Award for Literary Excellence.


For those readers looking to get into works by Attica Locke, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Black Water Rising”, “The Cutting Season”, and “Pleasantville”.

Black Water Rising: This is the first novel in the “Jay Porter” series and was released in the year 2009. Jay Porter is not quite the lawyer that he had set out to become. The most promising client he has got is a cheap call girl and his law practice is located in a dingy strip mall. Long ago, however, he has made peace about not living the American Dream and hidden away some of his deepest and darkest sins with care: like the FBI file, the trial that nearly ripped him apart, and the guns.

The year 1981 in Houston, Texas. Jay thinks that he can make a new start here in Houston. That changes when he saves the life of a drowning woman while on a boat in the bayou, and opens up a Pandora’s box of sorts. The secrets the woman has are putting Jay in danger,. Trapping him in a murder case that might just cost him his own practice, his life, and family. He has to confront his past so that he can figure out this tangled mystery, which stretches to the top of the corporate brokers of power in Houston.

Pleasantville: This is the second in the “Jay Porter” series and was released in the year 2015. This novel is set fifteen years after “Black Water Rising”, and Jay is fighting to cope with all of the major changes in his own personal life and the fact that his law practice is fall apart. The victory against Cole Oil remains the high point of his career, even though he has yet to see any money come in from it because of the appeals. Time has worn him down. He is both weary and restless. At this point, he wants to quit.

A girl goes missing in 1996 on Election Night, in Pleasantville (which is a neighborhood for black people who are upwardly-mobile), which is located on Houston’s north side. It deeply disturbs Jay, as he is a single father. He has been providing Pleasantville after a chemical fire. This case has been dragging on for awhile, and it is beginning to give him doubts about how good of a lawyer he is.

The girl that vanished was volunteering for a mayoral candidate in Houston and it makes the heated campaign that much more complex. He defends the nephew of a candidate. There is a man’s life, not to mention his own reputation on the line, Jay is going to try the first murder in his career. It is going to put on trial an electoral process, and expose power’s dark side as well as those that fight hard to keep it.

The Cutting Season: This is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. Right after dawn, and Caren is walking the grounds on Belle Vie, which is the historic plantation home in the state of Louisiana, which she has managed for these last four years. There is nothing unusual that she sees, besides some ground that someone dug up near the fence that borders the sugar cane fields.

She asks the gardener to clean up the area, as she thinks some animal was out after it was dark. It is something else, the gardener tells her. A lot worse. It is a dead body. Because Caren was at a distance, she did not see the body. Or the blood or the dirt or the girl. Now there are cops on site, and the investigation has started, as well as a member of the staff that no one can find. Caren keeps on finding things out that she wishes she did not know.

When Does The Next Attica Locke book come out?

The next book by Attica Locke is Guide Me Home and will be released on September, 3rd 2024. It is the newest book in the Highway 59 Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *