Barbara Erskine Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Barbara Erskine is a British history enthusiast that has written bestselling novels. Erskine’s work combines her love for history with supernatural elements. Born in Nottingham in 1944, Erskine can trace her roots back to India.

Get notified when Barbara Erskine releases a new book at

Order of Barbara Erskine Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lady of Hay 1986 Description / Buy
2 Kingdom of Shadows 1988 Description / Buy
3 Child of the Phoenix 1992 Description / Buy
4 Midnight Is a Lonely Place 1994 Description / Buy
5 House of Echoes 1996 Description / Buy
6 On the Edge of Darkness 1998 Description / Buy
7 Whispers in the Sand 2000 Description / Buy
8 Hiding from the Light 2002 Description / Buy
9 Daughters of Fire 2006 Description / Buy
10 The Warrior's Princess 2008 Description / Buy
11 Time’s Legacy 2010 Description / Buy
12 River of Destiny 2012 Description / Buy
13 The Darkest Hour 2014 Description / Buy
14 Sleeper’s Castle 2016 Description / Buy
15 The Ghost Tree 2018 Description / Buy
16 The Dream Weavers 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Barbara Erskine Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Milestones 1992 Description / Buy

Order of Barbara Erskine Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Encounters 1990 Description / Buy
2 Distant Voices 1997 Description / Buy
3 Sands Of Time 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her grandfather was employed by the East India Company. He also served in the Indian Army. He met and married Erskine’s grandmother, who originated from South West Ireland, in India. The author’s mother and her sister were born in the same country.

However, by the time Erskine entered the picture, the family had returned to England. Though, India was never far from the household. First of all, Erskine’s home was filled with reminders of her mother’s Asian home, including silk saris and cedar-lined trunks.

Additionally, friends and colleagues from India continued to spoil the family with gifts. Erskine grew up in an environment filled with the smell of spices and incense. Her unique heritage was part of the reason why she eventually developed an interest in history.

She knew that her father was a Battle of Britain Spitfire pilot. She was also aware that her ancestors were clergymen for many centuries and that they lived a respectable life befitting their aristocratic bloodline.

Her great aunt, a genealogist, would often regale the author with ancient tales about their family tree. It was hardly a surprise when Erskine attended Edinburgh University as a student of Scottish History.

It was during her time at the University that Erskine attempted to write her first novel. She failed, but only temporarily. While she abandoned the manuscript, she eventually re-discovered it and turned it into ‘Kingdom of Shadows’.

Like most authors, Erskine’s success wasn’t immediate. For a time, she worked as a researcher. People used her skills and knowledge to write art and history books. Once she decided to make more of an effort to pursue publishing, Erskine started writing and then selling short stories.

It took Barbara Erskine a decade to finally publish ‘Lady of Hay’, a novel that attracted so much attention that the author found herself on Primetime TV talking about it. It was the first step in a long and illustrious career.

Erskine’s work stands out because it is historical fiction with elements of the supernatural. She spends a lot of time writing about ghosts. She admits that her work is difficult to categorize. Some of her novels have been classified as horror to Erskine’s own surprise. Though, she probably wouldn’t use that label herself.

Even though Erskine has spent multiple decades writing fiction, the process hasn’t necessarily become easier, though it has changed. Initially, she wrote her books by hand. Once she was done, she would type them out, and then hire a professional to type them again.

But eventually, technology changed and the author acquired a computer that simplified matters. As such, she no longer produces clear drafts of her work. Rather, she keeps revising and refining the same copy until she is satisfied with the results.

Best Barbara Erskine Books

For Erskine, writing novels is often quite exhausting and she is always relieved when she finishes a manuscript. Some of the best novels in her bibliography include:

Lady of Hay: Jo Clifford thought she understood hypnosis. The talented and successful journalist was certain that it was all fake and she couldn’t wait to disprove it, especially the silly notion of past-life regression. But then she made the mistake of submitting herself to a hypnosis session. The experience shoved her back through time into the life of Matilda, Lady of Hay.

House of Echoes: Joss never knew her family. She was adopted at birth. A wife to Luke, her husband, and mother to Tom, her son, she had carved out a life for herself. Everything changed when she inherited Belheddon Hall from her newly discovered family.

She was eager to settle down in the old house and she couldn’t wait to find out what the home had to tell her about her family. But then the voices started. The house was haunted. Or at the very least, Joss knew that an invisible presence was watching her. And she wasn’t the only one hearing or seeing things.

Joss must now explore and understand the tragic history of her new home and what it means for her family’s sanity.

When Does The Next Barbara Erskine book come out?

Barbara Erskine doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Dream Weavers and was released on April, 15th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *