Barbara Ross Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Barbara Ross is an American author that writes cozy mysteries. She had a thriving career in technology before turning her attention to publishing. Ross came across an ad for a company (Information Mapping) that promised part-time work.

Get notified when Barbara Ross releases a new book at

Order of Maine Clambake Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Clammed Up 2013 Description / Buy
2 Boiled Over 2014 Description / Buy
3 Musseled Out 2015 Description / Buy
4 Fogged Inn 2016 Description / Buy
5 Nogged Off (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
6 Iced Under 2016 Description / Buy
7 Stowed Away 2017 Description / Buy
8 Steamed Open 2018 Description / Buy
9 Sealed Off 2019 Description / Buy
10 Shucked Apart 2021 Description / Buy
11 Halloween Party Murder ( With: Leslie Meier, Lee Hollis) 2021 Description / Buy
12 Muddled Through 2022 Description / Buy
13 Hidden Beneath 2023 Description / Buy
14 Scared Off 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Chief Ruth Murphy Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Death of an Ambitious Woman 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Jane Darrowfield Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Jane Darrowfield, Professional Busybody 2020 Description / Buy
2 Jane Darrowfield and the Madwoman Next Door 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Barbara Ross Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hallowed Out 2022 Description / Buy
2 Logged On 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Barbara Ross Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bread Baby 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Barbara Ross Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Eggnog Murder 2016 Description / Buy
2 Yule Log Murder 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Barbara Ross Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Paysanne Cook Book ( With: Bob Ross) 2018 Description / Buy

Barbara Ross Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Seasmoke 2006 Description / Buy
2 Thin Ice: Crime Stories by New England Writers 2010 Description / Buy
3 Best New England Crime Stories 2012 2011 Description / Buy
4 25 Years in the Rearview Mirror 2012 Description / Buy
5 Best New England Crime Stories 2014 2013 Description / Buy
6 Someone Wicked 2013 Description / Buy
7 Writes of Passage 2014 Description / Buy
8 Best New England Crime Stories 2015 2014 Description / Buy
9 Best New England Crime Stories 2016 2015 Description / Buy
10 Edgar Allan Cozy 2016 Description / Buy
11 Haunted House Murder 2019 Description / Buy
12 Irish Coffee Murder 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She stayed with the company for twelve years, during which she lent her talents to practically every division in the firm. However, her career did not truly skyrocket until she combined forces with her friend (Carol Vallone).

They created WebCT, a revolutionary company from the mid-90s that allowed businesses to upload courses to the internet. They profited significantly from the venture when they sold WebCT for $180 million.

Rather than resting on her laurels, Ross joined Wimba, a higher education technology firm eventually bought by a competitor in 2010. But despite her numerous victories in the tech field, Ross always saw herself as a writer who had accidentally stumbled into business instead of a business savant experimenting with writing.

She worked with a writers’ group to hone her craft for over fifteen years. Though, her foray into publishing was challenging. She was fortunate enough to land a big agent for her first book.

They parted ways when the agent in question tried and failed to sell Ross’ manuscript. For a time, Ross abandoned the manuscript, hiding it in a drawer and moving on to other things.

Years later, she retrieved the manuscript and sold it to a publisher without an agent, proving that she did not have to follow a conventional publishing blueprint to get ahead.

During her infancy in the publishing industry, Ross wrote by the seat of her pants. Later on, she was forced to become a plotter because she had to submit synopses to her editor for approval. The author also found that plotting allowed her to meet her deadlines because she could write with greater discipline.

Her first drafts are always rough. Whenever she sits down to write, Ross is confident that she will get better at drafting. But she is always wrong. The author has so much confidence when she starts each new manuscript.

But as she advances, that confidence begins to fizzle out. She cannot help but criticize her work, noting all the poorly developed characters, premature twists, and inconsistent details. By the time she completes the first draft, Ross is just glad that she finished the manuscript.

The book finally comes together during the revision process. Ross would probably revise her manuscripts indefinitely if the author had her way. She only stops because her deadlines arrive, and she has no choice but to submit the novels to her editor.

Ross takes the time to critique amateur sleuth manuscripts. She does what she can to set struggling writers on the right path.

Barbara Ross Awards

Ross has received multiple Agatha Award nominations. She won the Maine Literary Award (Crime Fiction).

Best Barbara Ross Books

Because she spent so many years working with tech startups, advancements in the publishing industry do not scare her. Ross’ best books include:

Clammed Up: Julie Snowden came back home to keep her family’s business afloat. The last thing the clambake business needed was the stain of murder. But it was too late.

Julia’s woes began with a catered wedding on Morrow Island. The best man was found hanging in the Snowden family mansion.

Before Snowden could rescue her family’s struggling business, she had to first identify the killer. But all fingers were pointing to Chris Durand, Julia’s old crush.

Boiled Over: The Snowden name was already associated with one murder. They couldn’t afford to add a second to their reputation. But once again, Julie did not have a choice in the matter. She was still in her hometown, doing what she could to help her family’s clambake company.

The Founder’s Day Summer celebration was just around the corner, and she wanted to give revelers a taste of New England’s seafood. But her neighbors had bigger news on their lips.

A man was dead, and everyone thought that Cabe Stone had committed the murder because he fled the crime scene. Because Cabe was a Snowden employee, Julia had to clear his name before the family business suffered the consequences.

But solving the murder was easier said than done, especially when the killer was working so hard to stop Julia’s investigation.

When Does The Next Barbara Ross book come out?

Barbara Ross doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Scared Off and was released on August, 22nd 2023. It is the newest book in the Maine Clambake Mystery Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *