Beth Amos Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Beth Amos is a traditionally published bestselling author that writes mystery and suspense novels. She has written both standalone novels and series. This is on top of publishing hundreds of articles. Beth has worked with notable publishers like HarperCollins using her real name.

Get notified when Beth Amos releases a new book at

Order of Mattie Winston Mysteries Series as Annelise Ryan

# Read Title Published Details
1 Working Stiff 2009 Description / Buy
2 Scared Stiff 2010 Description / Buy
3 Frozen Stiff 2011 Description / Buy
4 Lucky Stiff 2013 Description / Buy
5 Board Stiff 2014 Description / Buy
6 Stiff Penalty 2015 Description / Buy
7 Stiff Competition 2016 Description / Buy
8 Dead in the Water 2017 Description / Buy
9 Dead Calm 2019 Description / Buy
10 Dead of Winter 2020 Description / Buy
11 Dead Ringer 2020 Description / Buy
12 Dead Even 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Helping Hands Mystery Series as Annelise Ryan

# Read Title Published Details
1 Needled to Death 2019 Description / Buy
2 Night Shift 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Beth Amos Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cold White Fury 1996 Description / Buy
2 Eyes of Night 1997 Description / Buy
3 Second Sight 1998 Description / Buy
4 Nick of Time 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Face of Death 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Mack's Bar Mystery Series as Allyson K. Abbott

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder on the Rocks 2013 Description / Buy
2 Murder with a Twist 2014 Description / Buy
3 In the Drink 2015 Description / Buy
4 Shots in the Dark 2016 Description / Buy
5 A Toast to Murder 2017 Description / Buy
6 Last Call 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Monster Hunter Mystery Series as Annelise Ryan

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Death in Door County 2022 Description / Buy
2 Death in the Dark Woods 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She has also written various novels under pen names like Annelise Ryan and Allyson K Abbot. As a child, the author had a vivid imagination. This wasn’t always appreciated by her parents who took offense to her affinity for lying.

But Beth is convinced that the stories she would invent during those early days only served to prepare her for the career she would eventually pursue. She also read a lot. It wouldn’t be an exaggeration to call her a word nerd.

Beth uses this same term to describe herself. Her interest in the written word can be blamed on her parents. First of all, the couple was just as obsessed with reading. Secondly, they did a lot of moving. As such, Beth had to come to terms with a certain amount of instability.

She did not always feel comfortable at school because she always stood out as the new kid. Making friends was a difficult undertaking because she knew she would have to leave them behind, sooner rather than later.

For that reason, Beth spent a lot of time reading. It was her escape. When she wasn’t losing herself in her novels, the author could be found participating in scrabble competitions. She couldn’t have asked for a better foundation for her publishing career.

As a young writer, Beth experimented with short stories. It took her a while to realize that she was better off writing full-length novels. Despite her persistence, she couldn’t crack the short story arena.

Beth wasn’t the only one who thought that she was better off writing full-length novels. The author spent a lot of time submitting her work to publications. And in return, she accumulated quite the pile of rejection laters.

The reception to her novels was far more positive. Harper Collins published her first book in 1995. However, after writing and publishing two more books, her young career ended prematurely when she was dropped by her publisher

Like some of her colleagues, she attempted to self-publish her stories but she did not thrive in the field. She eventually found her way back into the traditional publishing industry with the Mattie Winston series.

It made sense to publish the books under a new name. Because of the way her career had stalled during its initial stages, she did not want people to associate her new books with the ‘Beth Amos’ name.

When she wrote the Mack’s Bar series, she repeated this tactic. She introduced an entirely new pen name, one that would ensure that her books appeared at eye level on the shelves of every bookstore because of their alphabetical position.

The notion of writing under so many pseudonyms does not scare Beth. She does it as naturally as one changes hats. Though, despite her success, Beth doesn’t make it a point to advertise her career as a published writer.

When the author isn’t producing fiction, she can be found working in an ER as a nurse. On occasion, she has encountered patients that have read her work. And while most of these encounters have been positive, she is reluctant to reveal her publishing activities to the people in the ER.

This is because, as an author, she spends a lot of time looking for creative ways to kill her characters and she is convinced that any conversation with a sick patient about her writing process would make things awkward.

Best Beth Amos Books

Even though her work is categorized as ‘Cozy Mystery’, she breaks many of the cozy mystery rules by including violence and sexual innuendo in her stories. Some of Beth Amos’ best novels include:

Second Sight: Marlie Kaplan was on the trail of a corrupt corporation. The investigative reporter did not expect the project to claim the life of her partner or to rob Marlie of her sight. Fortunately, the doctors performed an experimental procedure that reversed her blindness.

An unexpected side effect of Marlie’s restored vision is the insights it gives her into the hidden motives of the people she encounters. As a reporter, Marlie knows that the ability is a blessing, one that is bound to enhance her investigative skills. However, she also understands that the gift is powerless against those that wish her harm.

Cold White Fury: When he was an infant, a small fragment of metal became lodged in the brain of Jennifer Bolton’s son. Eight years later, Tanner has started manifesting unexpected gifts. He must learn to use them before the unseen forces threatening the family’s lives make their move.

When Does The Next Beth Amos book come out?

Beth Amos doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Face of Death and was released on May, 14th 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *