Bill Loehfelm Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Bill Loehfelm is the author of more than six novels, including the best-selling series about Maureen Coughlin, a New Orleans police officer. Let The Devil Out is the most recent novel by the author and is also an installment within the best-selling, Maureen Coughlin book series. Other novels to be written by the author include The Devil Knows, which introduced the readers to the protagonist, Maureen Coughlin, The Devil in Her Way is the second novel in the series. Standalone novels include Fresh Kills, which was published in the year 2008, and BloodRoot, which was published in the year 2009. With that said, Loehfelm was born in Park Slope, though he was brought to Staten Island and Brooklyn. After completing his college education in Scranton PA, Loehfelm became an English teacher on Staten Island. Currently, Bill resides together with his wife, who is an author and yoga instructor in Garden District, New Orleans.

Get notified when Bill Loehfelm releases a new book at

Order of Maureen Coughlin Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Devil She Knows 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Devil in Her Way 2011 Description / Buy
3 Doing the Devil's Work 2014 Description / Buy
4 Let the Devil Out 2016 Description / Buy
5 The Devil's Muse / Can the Devil Catch Fire? 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Bill Loehfelm Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fresh Kills 2008 Description / Buy
2 Bloodroot 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Bill Loehfelm Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heroes & Villains - Osama bin Laden 2003 Description / Buy

Bill Loehfelm Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Year Zero 2007 Description / Buy
2 Life in the Wake 2007 Description / Buy
3 Staten Island Noir 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Bill Loehfelm Awards

Bill Lohfelm is yet to receive any major literary award.

Bill Loehfelm Books into Movies

None of the books by the author have been adapted for a screenplay.

Best Bill Loehfelm Books

The Devil She Knows: This is the first installment in the Maureen Coughlin book series by Bill Loehfelm. In this installment, the author introduces the reader to one, Maureen Coughlin, who is not only 29 years old but also a wisp of a woman. Maureen is a powerhouse emotionally and is a person with acumen tenacity. She works a cocktail waitress, a job that she has served more than ten years. At this point, Maureen is just sick of this job, and thus, she wants a little bit of change. Maureen works in a faux chic bar and resides on Staten Island. She had just started college but had dropped out on several occasions. Maureen resides alone and has no one special in her life. Before starting her daily duties, Maureen is used to taking a little bit of alcohol and cocaine so that she can get going through the day.

A while ago, Maureen had a little bit of cocaine problem; however, she managed to successfully go through it. Now, Maureen uses cocaine as a recreational drug; however, her alcohol consumption is still exceedingly high. The Devil She Knows, opens up as Maureen has just completed her shift. It is a few minutes to daybreak, and Maureen is not only tired but also strung up. Maureen eventually finds herself within the boss’s office. As she is just about to leave, she notices that Dennis was on his knees giving out blowjob to one Frank Sebastian, who is vying for a State Senate seat. Maureen immediately acts as if she has not seen anything, hoping that this would be the end of it. However, when she reports to work in the morning, she finds out that Dennis is dead and it is believed to be suicide.

However, Maureen does not believe that the cause of death was not suicide, because, Dennis had initially told her that he wanted to talk. Furthermore, she also understands that Dennis is not the type of person who can easily claim his life. Maureen decides to approach her ex-boss where Maureen used to work a while back. The ex-boss encourages Maureen to contact the local police and also gives her a name of a local police officer that he truly trusts. Unfortunately, later on in the book, we find out that this particular officer, Waters has a history with Frank Sebastian. Frank and Waters used to work together while in Brooklyn. However, something unfortunate happened, forcing Sebastian to go on a permanent leave as a hero while Frank was transferred to Staten Island. Waters is not only old but also exceedingly tired.

Maureen thinks of Frank as a great lumbering bear. Maureen finally decides to open up and tell him about what happened between Sebastian and Dennis. Waters promises to look into the issue and find out what happened that night. Maureen had not yet figured out, how really a bad guy Sebastian was. Sebastian had killed so many people before and was not afraid of getting his hands on hands dirty. One day, when she returns home from work, Maureen finds that someone had broken into her home. Her television set had been smashed, and the warning cards had been laid carefully beneath her mattress. At this point in time, Maureen realizes that she is in real trouble. Waters, the former detective advises Maureen to stay low and also instead of staying in her apartment, she should move into her mother’s house.

However, Maureen does not like taking orders or advice from anyone. She loves taking matters into her hands. With that said, this novel has been well-written and has been filled with great quips which will keep you interested throughout. Maureen is an exceedingly wonderful character.

When Does The Next Bill Loehfelm book come out?

Bill Loehfelm doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Devil's Muse / Can the Devil Catch Fire? and was released on July, 11th 2017. It is the newest book in the Maureen Coughlin Series.

1 thought on “Bill Loehfelm”

  1. This is also titled The Devil’s Muse. It really pisses me off when the publisher uses 2 titles for the same book. You wind up buying the same book twice, but then boycotting the author. A..holes!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *