Carol Higgins Clark Books

Carol Higgins Clark is an American author that writes mystery novels. Even though Carol has worked had as an author to build her name, there are many readers for whom she will always be Mary Higgins Clark’s daughter.

Carol was born in 1956 in New York, though she grew up elsewhere. A student of Mount Holyoke College, Carol Higgins Clark’s love for writing was ignited by her mother. Mary had been a bestselling mystery author for several years by the time her daughter started college.

Order of Regan Reilly Mystery Series

# Read Title Published
1 Decked 1991
2 Snagged 1993
3 Iced 1994
4 Twanged 1997
5 Deck the Halls 2001
6 Fleeced 2001
7 Jinxed 2002
8 Popped 2003
9 The Christmas Thief 2004
10 Burned 2005
11 Hitched 2006
12 Laced 2007
13 Zapped 2008
14 Dashing Through the Snow 2008
15 Cursed 2009
16 Wrecked 2010
17 Mobbed 2011
18 Gypped 2012
19 Knocked 2019

Order of Alvirah and Willy Series

Order of Carol Higgins Clark Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 He Sees You When You're Sleeping 2001
Print: Print PDF

Carol was already helping her mother write her books by the time she began to pursue her B.A. In the beginning, Carol’s primary assignment was to retype Mary’s transcripts. She then slowly progressed to more substantial contributions, this including making changes to names and locations.

Even as a young child, Carol Higgins Clark had a keen interest in her mother’s work. Writing wasn’t easy for Mary. She had a full-time job, so finding the time to write was a hassle. Realizing that she had the capacity to help Mary, Carol began experimenting with and trying to understand the writing process at a very young age. By the time she was in college, Carol had the knowledge and skill to substantially contribute to Mary Higgins Clark’s novels.

It never occurred to Carol that all the time she was spending helping her mother would be preparation for her own writing career. Carol, like her mother, writes mystery and suspense novels. However, you would be hard pressed to compare the literary efforts of the two authors. This is because Mary is such a serious writer. Carol, on the other hand, loves to experiment with humor and lighter tones.

Before taking to the writing profession, Carol Higgins Clark was an actor. She managed to snag a few film roles before finally deciding to focus her efforts on her writing.

Carol has co-authored novels with her mother.

Carol Higgins Clark Awards

While Carol hasn’t won any notable awards for her work, she has had the pleasure of receiving a nomination for the Agatha Award and the Anthony Award in 1992 and 1993 respectively.

Best Carol Higgins Clark Books

Carol’s time as an author hasn’t been easy primarily because she has had to overcome the vast shadow that her famous mother casts; however, Carol has done a pretty decent job of standing out on her own, with some of the best books from the author including:

Snagged: When Regan Reilly comes to Miami, she expects to have a good time. There’s a wedding party on the horizon and Reilly suspects that South Beach will be every bit the fun time it is advertized.

Reilly gets to meet Uncle Ritchie, a close relative of the bride and a pretty unique individual. Ritchie has a lot more on his mind than the wedding. The seventy-something-year-old is off to a pantyhose convention, and he intends to show off some of his unconventional inventions.

When Ritchie survives an attempt on his life, Reilly isn’t so quick to jump to conclusions, not when there is so much fun to be had in Miami. However, she has no choice but to put her detective hat on when a second attempt is made on Ritchie’s life.

Further questions are raised when a suspicious death occurs. Reilly is determined to keep Ritchie alive. But, with a chaotic Miami hotel full of suspects, finding a crazed killer won’t be easy.

Snagged is the second book in Carol Higgins Clark’s Regan Reilly series. The book finds Regan Reilly protecting Ritchie Blossom, an old man who has developed a new kind of pantyhose.

Ritchie is certain that he has struck the jackpot. He just needs to sell the rights to his invention in order to write his retirement ticket. However, someone seems really determined to kill Ritchie.

And when Reilly interferes, she becomes a target as well.

Burned: Regan Reilly is about to marry Jack. But before she can tie the knot, Reilly must hightail it to Hawaii where all her girlfriends are waiting to join her for one last weekend getaway.

However, even though Reilly just wants to put her feet up, crime never seems to rest. The body of a nosy woman washes up at a resort and Reilly is forced to go on the hunt to find a killer before it is too late for her and her friends.