Cate Conte Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Cate Conte is the pseudonym used by Liz Mugavero. Under the pseudonym, Liz writes novels in the cozy mystery novels featuring main characters that are in the deepest end of their lives but are helped by animals to find their place in life. Liz Mugavero has also written books under her real name.

Order of Cat Cafe Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cat About Town 2017 Description / Buy
2 Purrder She Wrote 2018 Description / Buy
3 The Tell Tail Heart 2019 Description / Buy
4 A Whisker of a Doubt 2020 Description / Buy
5 Claws for Alarm 2021 Description / Buy
6 Gone but Not Furgotten 2022 Description / Buy
7 Nine Lives and Alibis 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Full Moon Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Witch Hunt 2020 Description / Buy
2 Witch Trial 2021 Description / Buy
3 Witch Way Out 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Cozy Case Files Mystery Sampler Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cozy Case Files Volume 1 2017 Description / Buy
2 Cozy Case Files Volume 2 2017 Description / Buy
3 Cozy Case Files Volume 3 2017 Description / Buy
4 Cozy Case Files Volume 4 2018 Description / Buy
5 Cozy Case Files Volume 5 2018 Description / Buy
6 Cozy Case Files Volume 6 2019 Description / Buy
7 Cozy Case Files Volume 7 2019 Description / Buy
8 Cozy Case Files Volume 8 2020 Description / Buy
9 Cozy Case Files Volume 9 2020 Description / Buy
10 Cozy Case Files Volume 10 2020 Description / Buy
11 Cozy Case Files Volume 11 2021 Description / Buy
12 Cozy Case Files Volume 12 2021 Description / Buy
13 Cozy Case Files Volume 13 2021 Description / Buy
14 Cozy Case Files Volume 14 2022 Description / Buy
15 Cozy Case Files Volume 15 2022 Description / Buy
16 Cozy Case Files Volume 16 2022 Description / Buy
17 Cozy Case Files Volume 17 2023 Description / Buy
18 Cozy Case Files, Volume 18 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

As a child, Cate was a nerd, something she is not shy about admitting. She could not keep her nose off those good books, and eventually, she graduated from reading the novels to writing them. The author remembers losing herself to short stories, but as a teenager, she was quickly drawn into writing poetry.

As a teen, she tended to view her life through the eyes of popular Soap Opera and writing bad poetry allowed Cate to express some of the anxiety she felt about life and either way it was evident that she was destined to be a successful author. Like many of his peers, Cate journey to getting published wasn’t a downhill trail. Born and raised in Lawrence, Massachusetts. She graduated with a degree in English at a tender age, but her family and friends saw this as a sign that Cate would venture into teaching and probably into the English department.

However, deep in her soul, Cate knew that she was destined to be an author. Cate completed her first novel while at the university but surprisingly enough she decided to use it as a thesis for her grad school. This was the best decision that she could make rather than showing it to her doubting family and friends. Cate went ahead and acquired a master’s degree in Writing and Publishing, and contrary to the expectations of her loved ones, the author ventured into journalism. It was during her career as a journalist that Cate came to appreciate her great passion for mystery genre such that she even began writing her debut mystery novel at that time.

Pawsitively Organic Mysteries debuted in 2011 but published under Cate’s real name Liz Mugavero paved her path into writing human-animal related books. Additionally, Cate admitted that Sisters in Crime opened her way to places where she could interact with writers in the same genre as hers, where they could share success and challenges of the mystery genre. It was from this group that the author finally found her agent, John Talbot and that marked the beginning of her successful journey.


These are two best books written by Cate Conte, Cat About Town and Purrder She Wrote.

Cat About Town: Book one in Cat Café Mystery authored by Cate Conte. The story introduces us to Maddie James who has just returned Daybreak Island, just of the coastal line of Massachusetts ready to attend her grandmother’s funeral. As an animal enthusiast, Maddie spies on a stray cat on the funeral and resolves that she will befriend it and give it a home as well. So when the funeral ceremony is over, Maddie James discovers that her grandfather is in serious debt and he is being forced to sell his house so that he can clear out these debts.

In response, Maddie resolves to speak with Frank O’Malley, the man who has been pressuring her granddad but things do not turn the way she anticipated. Then as Maddie is out with her new cat friend, the cat runs away only for her to chase it to the location of a dead body. Frank has been murdered and now she has to clear her name since she was the last person to be seen with the man.

Cate About Town is a brilliant debut novel and also a brilliant debut novel by Liz Mugavero under the pseudonym, Cate Conte. After being accused as the prime suspect in the murder of Frank, Maddie pokes, prods and questions her way to the specific answers she needs to clear her name. Cate Conte added some fantastic characters, including Grandpa Leo whose relationship with her granddaughter Maddie, is just beautiful- Maddie will go extra miles to ensure that she protects Grandpa Leo. The relationship between Maddie and her stray cat is also wonderful. It can be compared to that of Charlie Harris and his Cat in Stacks mystery series by Miranda James. Daybreak Island is a beautiful setting, filled with the history of the homes and shops.

Additionally, Cat About Town plot is intriguing, with a long list of suspects for the readers to ponder over motive, means, and opportunity.

Purrder She Wrote: The second in Cat Café Mystery opens up during the grand opening of Daybreak Island Cat’s Café where the customers get cozy with a wide range of assortments of friendly felines- and maybe take one or a few home. The co-owner of the Daybreak Island Cat Café is purring with excitement over her new warm and fuzzy venture until when she gets caught up in a petty drama between one of her volunteers who insists a calico kitty- from an instant.

The catfight that follows is terrible enough for business, but when the snubbed socialite is found murdered with a catnip toy on the scene, suspicions lands on Maddie’s staffer. With her reputation and prospects on the line, Maddie must do whatever it takes to solve this murder crime before it is too late.

When Does The Next Cate Conte book come out?

The next book by Cate Conte is Nine Lives and Alibis and will be released on August, 22nd 2023. It is the newest book in the Cat Cafe Mystery Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.