Catherine Ryan Hyde Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Catherine Ryan Hyde is an American author that writes novels and short stories for adults and young adults. She has succeeded both as an indie writer and a traditionally published author. Catherine, who came to fame when she wrote Pay It Forward, spends a lot of time writing about ordinary people that must conquer extraordinary challenges.

Order of Catherine Ryan Hyde Standalone Novels

1Funerals for Horses 1997Description / Buy
2Pay It Forward 1999Description / Buy
3Electric God/The Hardest Part of Love 2000Description / Buy
4Walter's Purple Heart 2002Description / Buy
5Becoming Chloe 2006Description / Buy
6Love in the Present Tense 2006Description / Buy
7The Year of My Miraculous Reappearance 2007Description / Buy
8Chasing Windmills 2008Description / Buy
9The Day I Killed James 2008Description / Buy
10Diary of a Witness 2009Description / Buy
11When I Found You 2009Description / Buy
12Second Hand Heart 2010Description / Buy
13Jumpstart the World 2010Description / Buy
14Dont Let Me Go 2011Description / Buy
15When You Were Older 2012Description / Buy
16Walk Me Home 2013Description / Buy
17Where We Belong 2013Description / Buy
18Take Me with You 2014Description / Buy
19The Language of Hoofbeats 2014Description / Buy
20Worthy 2015Description / Buy
21Ask Him Why 2015Description / Buy
22Leaving Blythe River 2016Description / Buy
23Say Goodbye for Now 2016Description / Buy
24Allie and Bea 2017Description / Buy
25The Wake Up 2017Description / Buy
26Heaven Adjacent 2018Description / Buy
27Just After Midnight 2018Description / Buy
28Have You Seen Luis Velez? 2019Description / Buy
29Stay 2019Description / Buy
30Brave Girl, Quiet Girl 2020Description / Buy
31My Name is Anton 2020Description / Buy
32Seven Perfect Things 2021Description / Buy
33Boy Underground 2021Description / Buy

Order of Catherine Ryan Hyde Short Story Collections

1Earthquake Weather 1998Description / Buy
2Always Chloe 2013Description / Buy
3Subway Dancer 2013Description / Buy

Order of Catherine Ryan Hyde Non-Fiction Books

1How to be a Writer in the E-Age 2012Description / Buy
2The Long Steep Path 2013Description / Buy
3365 Days of Gratitude 2014Description / Buy

Order of Catherine Ryan Hyde Picture Books

1Paw It Forward (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born in 1955 in Buffalo, New York, Catherine was 17 when she left school. She attributes her decision to pursue writing as a career despite the obstacles to Lenny Horrowitz, her favorite teacher. Though, it took her a while to decide that she wanted to inject all her time, money, and effort into the publishing arena.

Before finally sitting down to write, the author tried her hand at a litany of jobs. She worked as a tour guide, a dog grainer, and even a baker. She was already in her thirties when she finally became a full-time writer.

Her journey to publishing success was punctuated by several rejections. Catherine started by producing short stories. She accumulated more than a hundred rejections before her first story was finally published.

Eventually, she found someone willing to publish ‘Funeral for Horses’. It was her first published novel but not the first novel she ever wrote to completion. That honor goes to Walter’s Purple Heart.

When ‘Pay It Forward’ was published in 1999, it was such a massive hit, turning Catherine Ryan Hyde into an award-winning and best-selling author that she was convinced that her life would never be the same.

But she was wrong. If anything, things took a turn for the worst. In the years that followed, Catherine attracted even more rejections. Her success with ‘Pay It Forward’ did not make the publishing industry any less of a gamble.

The author found that she was still expected to work twice as hard to produce manuscripts that would fit the mold of the novels that agents and editors wanted. Nonetheless, even when she could barely make her mortgage payments, Catherine persevered, eventually carving out an audience of dedicated readers that couldn’t wait to consume the dozens of novels she had written during her long career.

Catherine’s novels are inspired by her experiences. She has described her teenage years as extremely painful. She comes from a family of writers. The people in her home were so busy that she found it quite easy to disappear.

As a child, because she spent so much time alone, she used the stories brewing in her mind to pass the time. Catherine did what she could to steer clear of the limelight. She wanted to live a life that wasn’t dependent on the people around her.

According to the author, she was one of those children that inadvertently fell through the cracks. Her trials fed the addiction she eventually developed. It was at the age of 33 that Catherine entered the 12-step program. There, she discovered a new family that helped her overcome her demons.

Writing entered the picture when she lost her job at a local restaurant. After spending so much of her life complaining that she never had time to write, Catherine saw the layoff as an opportunity to get her first novel written.

During those early days, Catherine just wanted to make enough money from her novels to meet her financial needs. She did not expect the career to reward her with so many opportunities.

Catherine Ryan Hyde Awards

Catherine received ‘Richard and Judy Best Read of The Year’, ‘Lambda Literary’, ‘British Book’, ‘O’Henry’, ‘Pushcart Prize’, and ‘Best American Short Stories’ Award nominations.

Catherine Ryan Hyde Books into Movies

Pay It Forward became a movie of the same name in 2000 starring Haley Joel Osment and Kevin Spacey.

Best Catherine Ryan Hyde Books

Besides writing, Catherine likes to hike, ride, lecture, and take photographs. Her best books include:

When I Found You: Nathan McCann’s life changed when he found a newborn baby in the woods. The boy was eventually sent to live with his grandmother. Nathan hoped that the woman would introduce the child to him when he grew up.

He never expected the boy, now angry and troubled, to turn up on his doorstep, a suitcase in hand.

Take Me With You: August Shroeder wanted to visit Yellowstone with his son. He has no intention of changing his plans. However, all he has for a companion now is the ashes of Philip. The death of the 19-year-old threw August into the arms of sobriety.

He thought he knew what to expect on his trip. But then he met two half-orphans that changed everything.

When Does The Next Catherine Ryan Hyde book come out?

The next book by Catherine Ryan Hyde is Boy Underground and will be released on December, 7th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *