Cathy Glass Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Cathy Glass is a British author that writes memoirs inspired by her experiences as a foster mother. Glass has fostered over a hundred children over the decades.

Get notified when Cathy Glass releases a new book at

Order of Cathy Glass Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Girl in the Mirror 2010 Description / Buy
2 Run, Mummy, Run 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Silent Cry (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
4 Nobody’s Son 2017 Description / Buy
5 Cruel to Be Kind 2017 Description / Buy
6 A Long Way from Home 2018 Description / Buy
7 Where Has Mummy Gone? 2018 Description / Buy
8 A Terrible Secret 2020 Description / Buy
9 A Family Torn Apart 2022 Description / Buy
10 A Family Torn Apart: Part 2 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Cathy Glass Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 My Dad’s a Policeman (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Cathy Glass Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hidden 2007 Description / Buy
2 Damaged 2007 Description / Buy
3 Cut 2008 Description / Buy
4 The Saddest Girl in the World 2009 Description / Buy
5 Happy Kids 2010 Description / Buy
6 I Miss Mummy 2010 Description / Buy
7 Mummy Told Me Not to Tell 2010 Description / Buy
8 The Night the Angels Came 2011 Description / Buy
9 Happy Adults 2012 Description / Buy
10 A Baby’s Cry 2012 Description / Buy
11 Another Forgotten Child 2012 Description / Buy
12 Happy Mealtimes for Kids (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
13 Will You Love Me? 2013 Description / Buy
14 Please Don’t Take My Baby 2013 Description / Buy
15 Will You Love Me? Part 1 of 3 (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
16 Will You Love Me? Part 2 of 3 2013 Description / Buy
17 Will You Love Me? Part 3 of 3 (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
18 About Writing and How to Publish 2013 Description / Buy
19 Daddy’s Little Princess 2014 Description / Buy
20 The Child Bride 2014 Description / Buy
21 Happy Kids & Happy Mealtimes 2015 Description / Buy
22 Saving Danny 2015 Description / Buy
23 Girl Alone 2015 Description / Buy
24 A Dark and Dangerous Place / The Silent Cry 2016 Description / Buy
25 Can I Let You Go? 2016 Description / Buy
26 Finding Stevie 2019 Description / Buy
27 Innocent 2019 Description / Buy
28 Too Scared to Tell 2020 Description / Buy
29 A Life Lost 2021 Description / Buy
30 An Innocent Baby: Part 1 of 3 2021 Description / Buy
31 An Innocent Baby: Part 2 of 3 2021 Description / Buy
32 An Innocent Baby: Part 3 of 3 2021 Description / Buy
33 Neglected 2022 Description / Buy
34 Unwanted: Part 1 of 3 2023 Description / Buy
35 Unwanted: Part 2 of 3 2023 Description / Buy
36 Unwanted: Part 3 of 3 2023 Description / Buy
37 Unsafe 2023 Description / Buy
38 Unsafe Part 2 2023 Description / Buy
39 Unsafe Part 3 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author fosters one child at a time. She doesn’t have a choice. The children she cares for have challenging needs. She can only afford to tackle them one at a time. The duration they spend in her home will vary.

Some children will only stay for a few nights. Others will live with Cathy for one or two years. The author has a degree in education and psychology. She got it as a mature student.

Glass joined the civil service (in a clerical position) after leaving school. She abandoned the work to start a family. However, her efforts to have a child with her husband at the time ended in failure.
Her relationship with the foster care system began when she saw a newspaper ad looking for responsible adults to provide a foster home for a young girl. Determined to make a difference, she volunteered.

But by the time Glass’ assessment, as a potential foster caregiver, was completed, the girl in question had found another home. But the author’s journey as a foster caregiver was just starting.
She met Jack, a 15-year-old boy she had to foster while his father looked for a suitable living space. Jack entered the foster system because his stepfather had broken his nose.

A few months after Jack entered Glass’ life, the author’s first child, Adrian, was conceived. Despite discovering the pregnancy, Glass continued to volunteer her services as a foster caregiver.

She tried to help a shy 13-year-old girl called Dawn. But her case was so challenging that she was eventually assigned to a residential home that could offer her the therapeutic services she needed.

Later on, Glass had a second child, Paula. Then she adopted Lucy. The author wouldn’t abandon the foster children left in her care despite the growing size of her biological and adopted family. She continues to undergo regular training to enhance her ability to help the troubled souls that enter her home.

She published her first book in 2007. ‘Damaged’ explored the author’s relationship with Jodie, a girl traumatized by a pedophile ring.

She went on to publish over a dozen memoirs that educated her readers on the atrocities to which many children are exposed before they enter her care. Glass does her best to help her charges recover from the consequences of physical and sexual abuse.

Her decision to write about her experiences came about naturally. She spent her childhood writing. She would contribute poems, short stories, and articles to magazines in her teens.

She also entered writing competitions. Initially, Glass wrote as a hobby. Later on, she saw the value of combining her two passions –Foster Care and Writing – into a single pursuit.

Best Cathy Glass Books

The author writes under a pen name because of the sensitive nature of her work. She also changes the names of the real-life children that appear in her memoirs. Glass’ best books include:

Damaged: At 8-years-old, Jodie was impossible. Because of her violent aggression, numerous foster homes had expelled her. Cathy Glass was the last stop. She knew that Jodie was trouble when the girl soiled herself on purpose and then kicked Glass’ children in the shins.

Jodie continued to escalate things by cutting her wrists and wiping the blood on her face. But Glass persevered. She refused to abandon Jodie. And in response, the girl opened up, revealing the abuse she had suffered at the hands of a pedophile ring.

Hidden: Tayo was different. Glass could tell. Unlike the many children she had fostered, he was calm and polite when the police brought the young boy to her. From the social worker, Glass learned that Tayo had a living father in Nigeria.

His mother, a drug-addled prostitute, kidnapped the boy, bringing him to the UK, where he worked in a sweatshop until an injury forced his masters to cast him out.

Glass was hopeful. She thought she could pierce Tayo’s walls to reach the real boy hiding beneath. But then she took the boy to school and noted how easily he lied and manipulated to get his way.

When Does The Next Cathy Glass book come out?

Cathy Glass doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Unsafe Part 3 and was released on August, 31st 2023. It is the newest book in the Cathy Glass Non-Fiction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *