Christina Henry Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Christina Henry is an American author that writes horror and dark fantasy. Christina was born in 1974. The wife and mother has been reading for as long as she can remember. She spent her childhood inside, losing herself in her favorite books. She would have spent the rest of her life reading if she had her way.

Get notified when Christina Henry releases a new book at

Order of Black Wings Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Black Wings 2010 Description / Buy
2 Aren't You Glad You Didn't Turn On the Lights? 2011 Description / Buy
3 A Good Bargain 2011 Description / Buy
4 The 12 Dancing Princes 2011 Description / Buy
5 Moonlight and Sunscreen 2011 Description / Buy
6 Black Night 2011 Description / Buy
7 Night Out 2011 Description / Buy
8 Black Howl 2012 Description / Buy
9 Black Lament 2012 Description / Buy
10 Black City 2013 Description / Buy
11 Black Heart 2013 Description / Buy
12 Black Spring 2014 Description / Buy

Order of The Chronicles of Alice Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Alice 2015 Description / Buy
2 Red Queen 2016 Description / Buy
3 Looking Glass 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Christina Henry Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lost Boy 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Mermaid 2018 Description / Buy
3 The Girl in Red 2019 Description / Buy
4 The Ghost Tree 2020 Description / Buy
5 Near the Bone 2021 Description / Buy
6 Horseman 2021 Description / Buy
7 Good Girls Don’t Die 2023 Description / Buy
8 The House That Horror Built 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Christina Henry Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Gargoyle’s Guide to Chicago (Short Story) 0 Description / Buy
2 The Care and Feeding of Gargoyles (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy

Christina Henry Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Giving the Devil His Due 2021 Description / Buy
2 Into the Forest 2022 Description / Buy
3 Twice Cursed 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In grade school, she took an interest in writing. The author was so dedicated to her craft that she wrote her first novel at the age of 12. It wasn’t her best work. She was obsessed with Lord of the Rings at the time, and her novel was a blatant attempt at recreating Tolkien’s work.

Unlike some of her peers, the author appreciates the days she spent in school because they compelled her to read books that did not appeal to her. This is why she encourages young people to experiment with the classics.

She knows that the archaic language repels them. But she thinks they will enjoy the experience if they relax and sink into each new book.

Christina was 34 when she sold her debut novel to Penguin/Ace. It took her a month and a half to write ‘Black Wings.’ She remembers ruminating over a story about the Grim Reaper. When she first thought of the character, the author imagined a tall, brooding male.

But suddenly, Maddy’s voice came to her. Before long, the brooding male had disappeared. And in his place was a short, slightly overweight female with a bad attitude. Once Maddy came to her, the other characters followed, including Beezle.

She spent the next six months searching for an agent. But finding a person to represent her was easier said than done. The world had too many writers and not enough agents. Rather than spending even more time on her search, she skipped this critical stage of the publishing journey and submitted a summary of her book and the first ten pages to Ace.

An editor from the publisher reached out to her within a week and asked for a manuscript, which Christina sent. Within days, she had a contract on her hands. The author knows she was lucky. The right editor found her manuscript at the right time.

Once readers met Maddy, they couldn’t get enough of her. They loved everything about the character, not just her strength and witty dialog but the surprising vulnerability she brought to the table.

Since then, Christina’s bibliography has grown considerably. She is best known for retelling classic stories like Alice in Wonderland and Little Red Riding Hood. She doesn’t think this pattern is unique because most authors thrive by taking familiar tales and giving them a twist.

In fact, many publishers promote books by comparing them to familiar stories. Christina finds joy in taking established ideas and reworking them. Surprisingly, she has found that penning a re-imagining is no different from writing an original story.

Christina Henry Awards

Christina has received Goodreads Choice Awards nominations.

Best Christina Henry Books

The author’s real name is Tina Raffaele. She combined her first name, husband’s name, and son’s name to create the ‘Christina Henry’ pen name. Christina’s best books include:

Alice: A woman waits in a hospital in the heart of a crumbling city. Even though memories of a tea party continue to tease her, she doesn’t know how she got there. But she knows she can’t stay.

Soon enough, her chance comes. A fire starts, paving the way for her escape. Once she’s free, the woman begins a journey to find the truth. She won’t stop until she learns what happened to her.

Lost Boy: He was Peter Pan’s favorite lost boy, the first. Peter’s promises were sweet. He tempted them with paradise, an island where they could stay young and play to their heart’s content. This island was special because it had neither rules nor adults.

They could do as they pleased. He wasn’t the only one. Peter brought more boys, and their family grew rapidly. But the island was not all it seemed, and Peter’s games had a sharp edge.

The fun would always end once the pirates and monsters came along. And then the actual game would begin.

It wasn’t his fault. He did not set out to become Peter’s greatest enemy. But he had little choice in the matter. Peter had lied to him.

When Does The Next Christina Henry book come out?

Christina Henry doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The House That Horror Built and was released on May, 14th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *