Chuck Wendig Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Chuck Wendig is a bestselling American novelist, screenwriter, and comic book writer that is responsible for novels like Star Wars Aftermath. Born in 1976 in New Hope, Pennsylvania, Wendig attended the Queens University of Charlotte, graduating in 1998 after pursuing Engish and Religion.

Order of Double Dead Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Double Dead 2011 Description / Buy
2 Double Dead: Bad Blood 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Miriam Black Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blackbirds 2012 Description / Buy
2 Mockingbird 2012 Description / Buy
3 The Cormorant 2013 Description / Buy
4 Thunderbird 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Raptor & the Wren 2018 Description / Buy
6 Vultures 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Mookie Pearl Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Blue Blazes 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Hellsblood Bride 2014 Description / Buy
3 Red Devils Rise 2015 Description / Buy

Order of The Heartland Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Under the Empyrean Sky 2013 Description / Buy
2 Blightborn 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Harvest 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Dinocalypse Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dinocalypse Now 2012 Description / Buy
2 Beyond Dinocalypse 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Gods & Monsters Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Unclean Spirits 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Atlanta Burns Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Atlanta Burns 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Hunt 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Zer0es Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Zeroes 2015 Description / Buy
2 Invasive 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Star Wars 2015 Description / Buy
2 Life Debt 2016 Description / Buy
3 Empire's End 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Chuck Wendig Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wanderers 2019 Description / Buy
2 The Book of Accidents 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Chuck Wendig Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Wind Has Teeth Tonight (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Chuck Wendig Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Irregular Creatures (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Chuck Wendig Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 Confessions of a Freelance Penmonkey 2011 Description / Buy
2 250 Things You Should Know About Writing (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Revenge of the Penmonkey 2011 Description / Buy
4 500 Ways to Be a Better Writer 2011 Description / Buy
5 500 More Ways To Be A Better Writer 2012 Description / Buy
6 500 Ways to Tell a Better Story 2012 Description / Buy
7 The Kick-Ass Writer 2013 Description / Buy
8 30 Days in the Word Mines (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy

Chuck Wendig Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Feeding Kate 2012 Description / Buy
2 Trouble in the Heartland 2014 Description / Buy
3 Exigencies 2015 Description / Buy
4 Nights of the Living Dead Anthology 2017 Description / Buy
5 Death & Honey 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Wendig knew from a young age that he wanted to write fiction for a living. He was just 18 when he wrote his first novel. The accomplishment, while significant, did little to promote his career. The author wrote five more novels. None of them were ever published.

As a result, Wendig decided to experiment with other forms of writing. He spent several years working as an RPG writer, amassing an impressive two million words during that period. He left his stamp on the world of pen-and-paper roleplaying games, adding his voice to projects like ‘Hunter: The Vigil’.

To make ends meet, the author was also forced to do several odd jobs. After using pseudonyms like C. David Wendig to publish his early works, Wendig eventually abandoned all other pursuits to write full time as a freelancer.

Wendig wrote ‘Double Dead’, his debut novel in 2011. He went on to publish several novels before finally bringing the ‘Miriam Black’ series to the world. The books attracted so much attention that Starz optioned the series for a possible television adaptation.

Even though the writer and producer of ‘Breaking Bad’ was initially interested in developing the show, the project never materialized. Though, you won’t find Wendig complaining. Rumors of the project did a lot to market his books to new audiences.

The author’s success did not end with the publication of the ‘Miriam Black’ series. Besides joining Marvel Comics and using his talents to write some of their more interesting characters, Wendig is also responsible for the ‘Aftermath’ Star Wars Saga.

The author’s Star Wars story was controversial when it was first published, attracting praise and criticism in equal amounts. The furor surrounding ‘Aftermath’ added more fuel to the fire that was Wendig’s career, introducing his work to readers that had never heard of him.

Despite the knocks the author took because of his work on ‘Aftermath’, Chuck Wendig hasn’t stopped writing. He gets most of his work done in the morning, but only after making his family breakfast, feeding the dog, and drinking some coffee.

Like most authors, Wendig struggles with writer’s block from time to time. Sometimes, he merely pushes through it. Other times, he gets the creative juices flowing by reading through what he’s written so far and fixing his mistakes.

There are times where his writer’s block isn’t truly writer’s block but, rather, a case of anxiety or depression. Those conditions are not quite as easy to overcome.

Chuck Wendig Awards

Wendig received a John W. Campbell Award nomination for ‘Blackbirds’. He has also received an International Digital Emmy Award nomination and Goodreads Choice Awards nominations.

Best Chuck Wendig Books

Wendig struggled as an aspiring writer because he kept imitating the styles of other writers. But today, he is recognized for his unique voice and distinct style. Some of the best books in his bibliography include:

Aftermath: Things are starting to change for the Galaxy. Following the Empire’s defeat at the Battle of Endor, the New Republic is ready to rebuild. But the war is not over. During a reconnaissance mission, Wedge Antilles stumbled upon a terrifying sight. Before he could report his findings, they took him captive.

Like a lot of former rebels, Norra was tired of war. She couldn’t wait to settle down with her son in some distant corner of the galaxy. But then she intercepted Antilles’s desperate call and realized that her mission wasn’t over. She had one more job to do, a mission that had to succeed. Otherwise, the Empire would launch a deadly counterstrike.

Wanderers: Shana had an emergency on her hands. Her sister was sleepwalking. Not only had Shana failed to wake her but she was seemingly walking towards a particular destination. Before Shana could make head or tails of the mystery, she realized that her sister wasn’t the only victim of this ailment.

People from all over America were sleepwalking with Shana’s sister, and their friends and family were following in their wake, determined to keep them safe from a militia that would stop at nothing to exterminate them.

When Does The Next Chuck Wendig book come out?

The next book by Chuck Wendig is The Book of Accidents and will be released on July, 20th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *