Cindy Woodsmall Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Cindy Woodsmall is an American New York Times bestseller that writes inspirational fiction. Woodsmall was ten when she befriended Luann. The author was living in Maryland at the time. Luann was unlike any of Woodsmall’s other friends because she was a Mennonite girl.

Get notified when Cindy Woodsmall releases a new book at

Order of Sisters of the Quilt Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 When the Heart Cries 2006 Description / Buy
2 When the Morning Comes 2007 Description / Buy
3 When the Soul Mends 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Ada's House Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hope of Refuge 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Bridge of Peace 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Harvest of Grace 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Apple Ridge Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sound of Sleigh Bells 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Christmas Singing 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Scent of Cherry Blossoms 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Dawn of Christmas 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Amish Vines and Orchards Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Season for Tending 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Winnowing Season 2013 Description / Buy
3 For Every Season 2013 Description / Buy
4 Seasons of Tomorrow 2014 Description / Buy

Order of The Amish of Summer Grove Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ties that Bind 2015 Description / Buy
2 Fraying at the Edge 2016 Description / Buy
3 Gathering the Threads 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Cindy Woodsmall Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Love Undone 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Gift Of Christmas Past ( With: Erin Woodsmall) 2017 Description / Buy
3 As the Tide Comes In ( With: Erin Woodsmall) 2018 Description / Buy
4 The Christmas Remedy ( With: Erin Woodsmall) 2018 Description / Buy
5 A Christmas Haven ( With: Erin Woodsmall) 2019 Description / Buy
6 The Englisch Daughter ( With: Erin Woodsmall) 2020 Description / Buy
7 Yesterday's Gone ( With: Erin Woodsmall) 2022 Description / Buy
8 Until Then ( With: Erin Woodsmall) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Cindy Woodsmall Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Angel of Forest Hill 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Cindy Woodsmall Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 Plain Wisdom 2011 Description / Buy

Cindy Woodsmall Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Amish Christmas at North Star: Four Stories of Love and Family 2015 Description / Buy
2 21 Days of Love: Stories That Celebrate Treasured Relationships 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She stood out immediately because of the prayer Kapp and cape dresses she wore. The author and Luann had very little in common because Luann came from a strict Mennonite household that prohibited modern accessories such as TV and radio.

But Woodsmall and Luan were so close that they often stayed at one another’s homes. Whenever Luann slept at her house, Woodsmall was careful to follow every rule the Mennonite girl’s parents set.

She was afraid that Luann’s parents would prohibit their friendship if they learned that Luann was pursuing activities they disproved of while at the author’s home. Maintaining the Amish lifestyle was much easier when Woodsmall went to Luann’s home because the household was free of forbidden items.

Even at that young age, the author was distinctly aware of the vast differences between her and Luann, and they sparked her imagination, compelling her mind to devise thrilling stories.

Woodsmall’s friendship with Luann ended when Luann’s family left the region. But the author’s obsession with the Amish was far from over.

Woodsmall was an adult when she kindled a friendship with Miriam Flaud. The pair met through a friend of Woodsmall’s that worked for an Amish birthing center. Like Luann, the author had no reason to strike up a close relationship with Miriam.

After all, Miriam was an Old Order Amish woman. The women couldn’t have been more different. And yet, when they started talking, Woodsmall and Miriam noticed several commonalities between them.

Their friendship was such that the pair collaborated on a nonfiction book. When Woodsmall started penning stories about the Amish, she turned to people like Miriam to ensure her books accurately represented the Amish.

Woodsmall’s Amish friends won’t stop at reading her manuscripts before she submits them. They will also brainstorm with her. When she visits an Old Order Amish home, some of the women will come over and speak to her, revealing notable events from their past that Woodsmall can use in her novels.

The author wants to present the Amish in a positive light. She is fascinated by their determination to maintain the lifestyle of their ancestors from the 1900s. She also admires their passion for seeking God regardless of the circumstances they encounter.

Because her novels provide an authentic glimpse into the lives of the Amish, they allow readers to understand the complex society Woodsmall’s friends inhabit and to make sense of their decision to reject modern life.

Cindy Woodsmall Awards

Woodsmall’s accolades include Reviewers Choice Awards. She has received Carol, Rita, Christy, Christian Book of the Year, and Christian Retailers Choice awards.

Best Cindy Woodsmall Books

The author receives many requests from readers that want her to connect them to Amish pen pals and friends. She has discouraged them from submitting those requests because it would be irresponsible to introduce her Amish friends to online strangers. Woodsmall’s best books include:

When The Heart Cries: Hannah Lapp is 17, and she has no intention of staying true to the customs of her Old Order Amish family. Hannah wants to pursue a relationship with Paul Weddell, a man outside her community. When the Mennonite fellow proposes to Hannah, she accepts his request for marriage.

Hannah cannot wait to start a new life with the man of her dreams, despite the opposition from her family. The last thing she expects is for tragedy to strike.

When The Morning Comes: When Hannah’s relationship with Paul Waddell collapsed, she fled, unwilling to tolerate the judgment of her Old Order Amish community. While she struggled to start afresh in the home of a shunned aunt, Paul fought tooth and nail to reclaim her.

Overwhelmed with guilt, Paul had seen the light. He was determined to reclaim his one true love. But Hannah’s father resisted him at every turn, convinced that his daughter had sinned. His stubborn attitude blinded him to the pain wreaking havoc on his family.

Meanwhile, Hannah had found solace in her aunt’s home. And after striking up a friendship with Martin Palmer, an Englischer, she was strongly tempted to embrace the English way of life.

When Does The Next Cindy Woodsmall book come out?

Cindy Woodsmall doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Until Then and was released on September, 5th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *