Connie Willis Books

Constance Elaine Trimmer Willis of Connie’ Willis is a noted American writer in science fiction and fantasy genre. A recipient of several honors, Connie was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2009. Born in Denver, Colorado, on December 31, 1945, Connie completed her graduation from the erstwhile Colorado State College in 1967. She lives in Greeley, Colorado, her with her husband Courtney Willis, a former physics professor. They have a daughter named Cordelia. Connie gave up her teaching job and took to full-time writing in 1982.

Order of Oxford Time Travel Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fire Watch 1984 Description / Buy
2 Doomsday Book 1992 Description / Buy
3 To Say Nothing of the Dog 1998 Description / Buy

Order of Oxford Time Travel Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blackout 2010 Description / Buy
2 All Clear 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Beserker Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Berserker Base (With: Fred Saberhagen) 1985 Description / Buy

Order of Connie Willis Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Water Witch 1982 Description / Buy
2 Lincoln's Dreams 1987 Description / Buy
3 Light Raid 1989 Description / Buy
4 Impossible Things 1993 Description / Buy
5 Uncharted Territory 1994 Description / Buy
6 Remake 1994 Description / Buy
7 Bellwether 1996 Description / Buy
8 Promised Land 1996 Description / Buy
9 Passage 2001 Description / Buy
10 Crosstalk 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Connie Willis Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Daisy in the Sun 1979 Description / Buy
2 Inside Job 2005 Description / Buy
3 D.A. 2007 Description / Buy
4 All Seated on the Ground 2007 Description / Buy
5 All About Emily 2011 Description / Buy
6 I Met a Traveller in an Antique Land (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
7 Jack (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Connie Willis Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Miracle and Other Christmas Stories 1999 Description / Buy
2 The Winds of Marble Arch 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Best of Connie Willis 2013 Description / Buy
4 A Lot Like Christmas 2017 Description / Buy
5 Terra Incognita 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Connie Willis Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 Roswell, Vegas, and Area 51 (Short Story) 2002 Description / Buy

Connie Willis Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 War of the Worlds: Global Dispatches (Short Story) 1996 Description / Buy
2 Nebula Awards 33 (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
3 A Woman's Liberation (Short Story) 2001 Description / Buy
4 Enter a Future, Fantastic Tales from Asimov's Science Fiction (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Women of Futures Past (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Reputed for her prose style and characters, Connie has produced several works during her writing career – be it novels, short stories or others. Though she is an acclaimed science-fiction writer, much of her works also explore the social sciences as well. The Secret of Santa Titicaca is Connie’s first published story which came out in Worlds of Fantasy in 1970. She penned at least seven stories before co-authoring her debut novel Water Witch with Cynthia Felice in 1982. Some of Connie’s notable books include Lincoln’s Dreams (1987), Light Raid (co-authored with Felice and came out in 1989), Doomsday Book (1992), Remake (1994), Uncharted Territory (1994), Bellwether (1996), etc.

Connie has also edited books like A Woman’s Liberation : A Choice of Futures by and About Women with Sheila Williams, the New Hugo Winners, Volume III with Martin Greenberg besides writing a book titled Roswell, Vegas, and Area 51: Travels with Courtney.


Connie Willis has won scores of awards in her long career. She won several Hugo Awards, Nebula Awards and Locus Awards to her credit besides receiving the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award in 2011. She received it from the Science Fiction Writers of America. Connie’s novelette titled Fire Watch, which was published in 1982, received both Hugo and Nebula awards in 1983. She has also won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. Many of her works also got nominated for several awards.


Connie’s short story Just Like the Ones We Used to Know which was released in 2003 — one of the collections in The Winds of Marble Arch and Other Stories: A Connie Willis Compendium – was made into a CBS TV Christmas film called Snow Wonder which was aired in November 2005. The film starred Mary Tyler Moore, Michelle Krusiec, Camryn Mannheim and others.


Some of the veteran novelist’s much-appreciated novels are Doomsday Book, Lincoln’s Dreams and To Say Nothing of the Dog:

Doomsday Book: A multi-award winning work, Doomsday Book is about Kivrin, who is set to go to one of the deadliest eras of human history for an on-site study. For those who are controlling her time travelling, this mission is all about carefully monitoring of the location where Kivrin would reach. But Kivrin gets stranded in a past age even as her instructors in the 21st century tries to rescue her. Kevrin, however, finds herself emerging as an unlikely symbol of hope in one of history’s darkest phase. This 1993 work is one of Connie’s best creations and in this, she tries to explore the issues of evil and suffering and a determined human spirit against them in another age. This is an incredible work in deed.

Lincoln’s Dreams: This 1987 book perfectly blends history and psychology with time travelling. In this work, a young historical researcher for a Civil War author Jeff Johnston sees reality defined on a winter night when he meets Annie, a woman suffering from nightmares. Haunted by the lovely woman’s nightmares, Jeff takes her on an emotional journey through the Civil War’s heartland in search of a remedy. Their relationship gradually blossoms and they become two intense lovers connected by history but challenged by a threatening duty. Lincoln’s Dreams is full of suspense that keeps the reader absorbed.

To Say Nothing of the Dog: This Hugo and Locus award-winning book published in 1998 is about a world of mystery, love and time travelling. Ned Henry, who has been moving between the 21st century and the mid-20th century in search for a Victorian atrocity needs rest. The mission is about restoring the Coventry Cathedral which was ruined by Nazi air strikes. It is then when another time traveller called Verity Kindle brings something from the past. Henry now needs to rewind to the Victorian era to help his fellow traveller not only to save the mission but also to stop alerting history.

When Does The Next Connie Willis book come out?

Connie Willis doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Jack and was released on April, 30th 2020. It is the newest book in the Connie Willis Short Stories/Novellas.