Darcy Coates Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Darcy Coates is a bestselling self-published and traditionally published author who writes mystery, suspense, and horror. She started writing during her teenage years. However, while she experimented with many stories, she rarely wrote them to completion.

Get notified when Darcy Coates releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Ghosts and Shadows Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 House of Shadows 2015 Description / Buy
2 House of Secrets 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Gravekeeper Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Whispering Dead 2021 Description / Buy
2 The Ravenous Dead 2022 Description / Buy
3 The Twisted Dead 2023 Description / Buy
4 The Hollow Dead 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Black Winter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Voices in the Snow 2020 Description / Buy
2 Secrets in the Dark 2020 Description / Buy
3 Whispers in the Mist 2020 Description / Buy
4 Silence in the Shadows 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Darcy Coates Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ghost Camera (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Haunting of Gillespie House 2015 Description / Buy
3 Dead Lake 2015 Description / Buy
4 The Haunting of Blackwood House 2015 Description / Buy
5 The Haunting of Ashburn House 2016 Description / Buy
6 Parasite 2016 Description / Buy
7 The Folcroft Ghosts 2017 Description / Buy
8 The House Next Door 2017 Description / Buy
9 The Haunting of Rookward House 2017 Description / Buy
10 Craven Manor 2017 Description / Buy
11 The Carrow Haunt 2018 Description / Buy
12 Hunted 2018 Description / Buy
13 The Haunting of Leigh Harker 2021 Description / Buy
14 From Below 2022 Description / Buy
15 Gallows Hill 2022 Description / Buy
16 Dead of Winter 2023 Description / Buy
17 Where He Can't Find You 2023 Description / Buy
18 Mistral Bed and Breakfast (Short Story) 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Darcy Coates Short Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Quarter to Midnight 2015 Description / Buy
2 Small Horrors 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Darcy Coates Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bellamy (Short Story) 2023 Description / Buy

Darcy Coates Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Apocalyptic Fears VI 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her first proper manuscript eventually became ‘Ghost Camera,’ which explored the lives of two friends who discovered a polaroid camera with supernatural abilities.

Horror stories came naturally to Coates because she loved the genre. Even as a child, the author was more interested in The Blair Witch Project than the romantic comedies her friends watched.

‘Ghost Camera’ was not quite the success the author expected. Her friends bought the novella the week it came out. She also landed a few organic sales. It wasn’t the meteoric rise Coates would have wanted. But those sales were enough to motivate the author to write more books.

She went on to publish several short stories. Though, it wasn’t until ‘The Haunting of Gillespie House’ came out that things changed. The novella showed Coates that she could earn a living from writing.

Each book that Coates released in the years that followed sold more than the volumes that came before. The author did not limit herself to horror, dipping her toes into science fiction and historical fiction. This allowed Coates to attract new readers outside the horror genre.

Her sales became so prominent that a Barnes and Noble in New Jersey reached out to Coates to order several physical copies of her work. She fulfilled the request using the print-on-demand company she had contracted.

Finally, Poisoned Pen Press came to the author and offered her a book deal that included the paperback rights to more than two dozen of her novels. Today, Coates’ career as a traditionally published author continues to climb.
Her journey hasn’t been easy. Like most writers, she is not immune to negative reviews. Though, she doesn’t take them personally. She doesn’t expect every reader to enjoy her stories. She also believes that valid criticisms have lessons that experienced authors can use to improve their craft.

Coates believes that every aspiring author can succeed if they persevere. She also expects them to read and write a lot. Otherwise, their skills will stagnate. People have continued to flock to her books because she writes atmospheric horror.

Unlike some of her peers, she is not obsessed with violence and action. Instead, Coates tries to create a sensation of unease. She wants to fill her readers with feelings of dread, forcing them to question every shadow in the room, every sound they hear.

That doesn’t mean she’s afraid of including gore. However, any gore that appears in Coates’ stories has a purpose. The story drives the gore, not the reverse. She compares her books to scary stories told around a campfire that instill so much fear that the listener is too afraid to wander off alone.

Best Darcy Coates Books

The author spends a lot of time writing about young protagonists in their 20s. Even though bad things happen in her stories, she tries to give her characters happy and satisfying endings. Coates’ best books include:

The Haunting of Ashburn House: Ashburn House was Adrienne’s only hope. She had twenty dollars and a pet cat when she inherited the property from Edith. People thought that Ashburn House was haunted.

Edith had done nothing to ease their fears. She did not allow guests to stay in the house. But Adrienne did not believe in ghosts, which was a good thing because she couldn’t afford to reject the inheritance.

However, any notions of finding a modicum of peace in the house went out the window when the unexpected started happening. Someone was scrawling messages into the wallpaper. She was also certain that the portraits were watching her.

Adrienne was determined to plant her roots in Ashburn House despite her misgivings. But then she realized that her new home had a bitter foe that had marked her as its prey.

Craven Manor: Daniel was the new groundskeeper at Craven Manor. But he knew something was wrong from the moment he walked through the mansion’s open front door. He could tell that no one had lived on the property in years.

However, he had a job to do, and he was desperate. Daniel did not realize that Craven Manor’s terrible secret was out to get him.

When Does The Next Darcy Coates book come out?

Darcy Coates doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Mistral Bed and Breakfast and was released on February, 14th 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *