David Poyer Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

David Poyer is an American author that writes historical, thriller, and mystery novels. The retired naval officer was born in 1949 in Dubois, Pennsylvania. His education included stints at Bradford Area High School, the U.S. Naval Academy, and George Washington University, where he acquired a master’s degree.

Get notified when David Poyer releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Dan Lenson Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Med 1988 Description / Buy
2 The Gulf 1990 Description / Buy
3 The Circle 1992 Description / Buy
4 The Passage 1994 Description / Buy
5 Tomahawk 1998 Description / Buy
6 China Sea 2000 Description / Buy
7 Black Storm 2002 Description / Buy
8 The Command 2004 Description / Buy
9 The Threat 2006 Description / Buy
10 Korea Strait 2007 Description / Buy
11 The Weapon 2008 Description / Buy
12 The Crisis 2009 Description / Buy
13 The Towers 2011 Description / Buy
14 The Cruiser 2014 Description / Buy
15 Tipping Point 2015 Description / Buy
16 Onslaught 2016 Description / Buy
17 Hunter Killer 2017 Description / Buy
18 Deep War 2018 Description / Buy
19 Overthrow 2019 Description / Buy
20 Violent Peace 2020 Description / Buy
21 Arctic Sea 2021 Description / Buy
22 The Academy 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Hemlock County Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Dead of Winter 1988 Description / Buy
2 Winter in the Heart 1993 Description / Buy
3 As the Wolf Loves Winter 1996 Description / Buy
4 Thunder on the Mountain 1999 Description / Buy
5 The Hill 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Tiller Galloway Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hatteras Blue 1989 Description / Buy
2 Bahamas Blue 1991 Description / Buy
3 Louisiana Blue 1994 Description / Buy
4 Down to a Sunless Sea 1996 Description / Buy

Order of Civil War at Sea Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fire on the Waters 2001 Description / Buy
2 A Country of Our Own 2003 Description / Buy
3 That Anvil Of Our Souls 2005 Description / Buy

Order of David Poyer Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 White Continent 1980 Description / Buy
2 The Shiloh Project 1981 Description / Buy
3 Star Seed 1982 Description / Buy
4 The Return Of Philo T. McGiffin 1983 Description / Buy
5 Stepfather Bank 1987 Description / Buy
6 The Only Thing to Fear 1995 Description / Buy
7 Ghosting 2010 Description / Buy
8 The Whiteness of the Whale 2013 Description / Buy

Order of David Poyer Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Happier Than This Day And Time 2012 Description / Buy
2 Heroes Of Annapolis 2019 Description / Buy

David Poyer Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Campfire Collection 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

His military career took him to various places, including the Arctic, Pacific, Caribbean, and Atlantic, to mention but a few. Poyer was a captain by the time he left the Joint Forces Command. When he entered the publishing field, the author had no idea that drawing from his experiences to write fiction would turn him into a success.

To many readers and critics, Poyer is the most prominent American sea fiction author in the world, best known for the Dan Lenson books. He routinely tells his students that writers pen fiction because they don’t have a choice.

The gift is in their blood. It won’t let them rest until they express it. Poyer was four years old when he discovered this gift. He knew that writing was his one true passion, and everything he did, from graduating high school to enrolling at the Naval Academy, was little more than preparation for his publishing future.

When he first dipped his toes into the industry, the author initially aimed to recount his experiences as a Naval officer. He also hoped to tell the most exciting story his imagination could conjure. He had no themes to explore or messages to promote.

Later on, the author was heartened to receive glowing reviews from his peers in the Navy that showered him with praise for providing a realistic portrayal of their ordeals and sacrifices. Since those early days, Poyer has grown as a storyteller.

His novels endeavor to investigate the guides and authorities that inform his characters’ ethical actions. The author’s books are not empty thrillers. They place his protagonists in situations that compel them to make difficult decisions.

When crafting a new book, he starts with a general plot. Once he determines the role each character will play in the story, he sketches out their arcs. Poyer will generate a reasonably detailed outline that allows him to complete a first draft within six months.

The outline allows the author to write at a steady pace without running into writer’s block. It acts as his guiding light. Lenore Hart, his wife and a novelist, reads the second draft and provides feedback.

The manuscript will cycle through several subject matter experts in and outside the Navy before Poyer is ready to make the final revisions. This process is long because he wants to add as much realism as possible.

He does extensive research that involves interviewing professionals in the military and reading publications such as The Economist and Armed Forces Journal. But the author doesn’t allow this research to overwhelm his novels.

It influences the story from behind the scenes. Poyer spent many years passing these lessons and more on to the next generation while teaching creative writing at Wilkes University.

Best David Poyer Books

The author admits that his books are a group effort. He works with numerous individuals while brainstorming the novels. Poyer’s best books include:

The Med: Dan Lenson was a staff officer on a Naval Task Force. He had no expectations for the routine deployment in the Mediterranean Sea. Things took a turn for the better when they docked in Taormina, Sicily, because it allowed Lenson to spend his liberty period with his wife and daughter.

Susan and Nan were happy to see Lenson. But Susan couldn’t hide the fact that life as a navy wife was challenging. Nonetheless, she wanted to make the best of their time together. When Lenson’s tack force resumed its deployment, Lenson was shocked to learn that Susan and Nan were among several people taken as hostages by terrorists.

Lenson and the rest of Task Force 61 won’t rest until the 100 hostages are safe and sound.

Hunter Killer: The World was at war. China had unleashed its military might across the seas, forcing Japan and the Philippines to fall in line. Lenson’s superiors wanted the newly-promoted admiral to buy the allies time to regroup.

But his flagship came under attack, forcing Lenson to flee. Meanwhile, his wife was fighting to formulate a response to the losses in the Pacific.

When Does The Next David Poyer book come out?

David Poyer doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Hill and was released on December, 16th 2023. It is the newest book in the Hemlock County Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *