David Willis McCullough Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

David McCullough is an author that shouldn’t be confused with David Gaub McCullough. David Gaub McCullough is an author as well. Though, the Pulitzer Prize winner is also known for his work as a lecturer and historian.

Get notified when David Willis McCullough releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Ziza Todd Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Think on Death 1991 Description / Buy
2 Point No-Point 1993 Description / Buy

Order of David Willis McCullough Non-Fiction

# Read Title Published Details
1 Great Detectives 1984 Description / Buy
2 American Childhoods 1987 Description / Buy
3 Three Score and Ten 1996 Description / Buy
4 Chronicles of the Barbarians 1998 Description / Buy
5 Wars Of The Irish Kings 2000 Description / Buy
6 The Unending Mystery A Journey Through Labyrinths And Mazes 2004 Description / Buy

David Willis McCullough Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 City Sleuths and Tough Guys 1989 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first David McCullough is normally identified as ‘David Willis McCullough’. A native of Cannonsburg in Pennsylvania, where he was born, David Willis McCullough spent his childhood in Albany New York.

He attended the University of Rochester, graduating in 1959. He is also a former student of Stanford University. Born in 1937, McCullough’s resume will most likely mention the time he spent in the Book-of-the-month Club editorial department.

He also joined the Mystery Writers of America, Century Association, and the Author’s Guild. Some of his fans will recognize his work as an editor on volumes like ‘Great Detectives’, ‘American Childhoods’, and ‘City Sleuths and Tough Guys’.

The author’s bibliography is filled with books about historical figures and events. He garnered some attention for ‘People, Books, and Book People’, a book that featured short interviews from various authors whose works the Book-of-the-Month Club had marketed.

Critics praised the collection because it wasn’t boastful. Rather, it allowed readers to admire and explore the creative process. McCullough was also praised for his sparking writing in ‘Brooklyn and How It Got That Way’.

Most of the author’s books strike a unique chord in his readers. That includes his mysteries. After compiling ‘City Sleuths and Tough Guys’, McCullough decided to dip his toes into the mystery genre by writing books like ‘Think on Death’ and ‘Point No-Point’. In both cases, critics highlighted the author’s fluid prose as his strongest attribute.

David McCullough Awards

David Willis McCullough’s accolades include the ‘Books-Across-The-Sea Ambassador of Honor’ Award.

Best David McCullough Books

McCullough’s parents are Willis and Dorothy McCullough. He has a wife and children. Some of McCullough’s best books include:

Wars of the Irish Kings: Ireland’s past is intimately intertwined with war. Their history places special emphasis on the battles that shaped the country and the ancient warriors that fought them.

This book shines a light on those battles. It takes readers to an era where history and storytelling molded cultures, where kingdoms used tales of victory and loss as tools of propaganda to advance their agendas.

It touches on family feuds, both famous and obscure, the Viking raids of legend, and the many skirmishes that occurred between rival kingdoms. McCullough doesn’t forget to investigate the rebellion against the English and the important role it played in Ireland’s future.

But he places even more emphasis on the human beings at the heart of these conflicts, people like Cuchulain, Brian Boru, and Elizabeth the First who ultimately shaped Ireland’s destiny.

McCullough takes eyewitness accounts that were told over the course of a millennium, using them to paint the clearest picture of Ireland’s past.

Great Detectives: This is an impressive collection of detective, suspense, and mystery works written by authors like Dorothy Sayers, Agatha Christie, Dashiel Hammett, Raymond Chandler, Rex Stout, and Donald Westlake, to mention but a few.

The volume is comprehensive. It includes short stories, novellas, and complete novels from some of the best writers Britain and America have to offer. One such offering is ‘Death Notes’ from Ruth Rendell.

It chronicles the adventures of Inspector Wexford as he attempts to make sense of a famous flutist’s death. His investigation reveals that the death wasn’t an accident. However, finding the culprit means digging through a whole slew of coincidences and false identities.

Dashiel Hammett’s contribution to the volume includes ‘Too Many Have Lived’, ‘The Maltese Falcon’, ‘They Can Only Hang You Once’, and ‘A Man Called Spade’. They all feature Dashiel’s famous private eye, Sam Spade.

Philip Marlow is also present in this collection, along with Nero Wolfe (Rex Stout), and Lord Peter Wimsey from Dorothy Sayers. This is a dazzling assembly of star sleuths.

Chronicles of the Barbarians: As the name suggests, this book chronicles the lives of famous figures like Genghis Khan whose victories in their home nations compelled them to invade foreign lands.

The accounts in the book are sourced from notable scholars and warriors like Herodotus and Julius Ceasar. Besides the history lesson, readers will appreciate the maps and illustrations that litter the book, not to mention the timeline and glossary.

When Does The Next David Willis McCullough book come out?

David Willis McCullough doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Unending Mystery A Journey Through Labyrinths And Mazes and was released on October, 26th 2004. It is the newest book in the David Willis McCullough Non-Fiction.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *