Dianne Freeman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Dianne Freeman is an American author that writes historical mysteries. She spent several years working as an accountant. Once she retired, she took the opportunity to pursue her love for fiction, particularly historical mysteries.

Get notified when Dianne Freeman releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Countess of Harleigh Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder 2018 Description / Buy
2 A Lady's Guide to Gossip and Murder 2019 Description / Buy
3 A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Murder 2020 Description / Buy
4 A Fiancée's Guide to First Wives and Murder 2021 Description / Buy
5 A Bride’s Guide to Marriage and Murder 2022 Description / Buy
6 A Newlywed’s Guide to Fortune and Murder 2023 Description / Buy
7 An Art Lover's Guide to Paris and Murder 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author was an avid reader before she took up writing. Her mother encouraged the habit. She had a day job that kept her quite busy but she always found the time to read. In fact, reading was one of the activities the mother and daughter shared.

They would sit beside one another, read their favorite novels and then talk about them. Freeman cannot recall a specific moment that turned her into a writer. As far as she can remember, she was always writing, both as a child and as an adult. Once she left college, she dedicated her time to corporate finance.

She continued to write but it was just a hobby. Accounting consumed most of her time. Nonetheless, she needed a creative outlet and she took every opportunity that came her way to write. When she wasn’t penning journals, she was crafting articles that she eventually sold to magazines.

Where fiction is concerned, Freeman had a rocky start. She wrote two romance novels. However, she couldn’t ignore how terrible they were. While she had the passion, she lacked the talent. But this obstacle did not discourage her.

Freeman started attending writer’s conferences in an effort to improve her abilities. She went so far as to collaborate with a friend on a non-fiction book. Under normal circumstances, Freeman would have continued to write until she perfected her craft and completed a manuscript worth publishing.

But her life took a detour. She became too busy with work to write. She also got married. Unable to fit her hobby into what was already a complicated schedule, Freeman abandoned her writing and publishing dreams.

She did not write for fourteen years. But she did not give up hope either. Eventually, she retired and immediately turned her attention to writing and publishing. Because of the long break, it took Freeman a while to find her footing.

Her first novel was ‘A Lady’s Guide to Etiquette and Murder’. It took the author two years to write and submit it to her agent. She wrote several drafts. However, once her manuscript was finally ready, it only took her agent three days to sell it.

Because the novel was historical, Freeman did some research. She wanted to get all the dates right. However, she also admits that she ended up obsessing over irrelevant details because she is fascinated by the Victorian Era.

With her first book, Freeman was a pantser. While the process was fun, it was also challenging because she kept stumbling into plot holes. But these obstacles were fine because she had all the time in the world to write her debut novel.

Freeman was not as fortunate with her second novel. She had a contract and her publishers expected a complete manuscript in eleven months. This forced her to become a plotter. The author found that she could proceed at a faster rate if she knew what was supposed to happen. She did not waste nearly as much time staring at a black page.

Dianne Freeman Awards

Freeman’s first novel won the Agatha Award in 2018.

Best Dianne Freeman Books

The author counts Agatha Christie and Edith Wharton among her favorite writers. Some of Freeman’s best novels include:

Lady’s Guide to Etiquette and Murder: You won’t find Frances Wynn crying for Reggie. With her philandering husband dead, the countess of Harleigh wants to start over, which is why she has moved to Belgravia with her daughter. Frances cannot wait for Lily, her sister, to arrive from New York. However, any excitement she has is quickly dampened when Frances learns that the police have implicated her in the death of her husband.

Lady’s Guide to Gossip and Murder: Frances has no interest in hunting. The other members of the upper class have embraced the season. While they flock to their country estates, she wants to enjoy the peace that the next few months will bring.

However, Mary is making things very difficult. Someone killed her. Because Charles, Frances’ cousin, was previously courting her, everyone thinks that he killed her. Frances knows that Charles is innocent, which is why she has joined forces with her neighbor to investigate the mystery.

When Does The Next Dianne Freeman book come out?

The next book by Dianne Freeman is An Art Lover's Guide to Paris and Murder and will be released on June, 25th 2024. It is the newest book in the Countess of Harleigh Mystery Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *