Eileen Goudge Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Eileen Goudge is an American author that writes women’s fiction and novels in the mystery genre. Born in 1950, she was one of six children. Her large family has drastically influenced the author’s work.

Get notified when Eileen Goudge releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Seniors Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Too Much Too Soon 1984 Description / Buy
2 Smart Enough to Know 1984 Description / Buy
3 Winner All the Way 1984 Description / Buy
4 Afraid to Love 1984 Description / Buy
5 Before It's Too Late 1985 Description / Buy
6 Too Hot to Handle 1985 Description / Buy
7 Hands Off, He's Mine 1985 Description / Buy
8 Forbidden Kisses 1985 Description / Buy
9 A Touch of Ginger 1985 Description / Buy
10 Presenting Superhunk 1985 Description / Buy
11 Bad Girl 1985 Description / Buy
12 Don't Say Good-Bye 1985 Description / Buy
13 Kiss and Make Up 1985 Description / Buy
14 Looking for Love 1986 Description / Buy
15 Sweet Talk 1986 Description / Buy
16 Heart for Sale 1986 Description / Buy
17 Life of the Party 1986 Description / Buy
18 Night After Night 1986 Description / Buy
19 Treat Me Right 1986 Description / Buy
20 Against the Rules 1986 Description / Buy

Order of Super Seniors Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Old Enough 1986 Description / Buy
2 Hawaiian Christmas 1986 Description / Buy
3 Something Borrowed 1988 Description / Buy
4 Deep-Sea Summer 1988 Description / Buy

Order of Cypress Bay Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bones and Roses 2014 Description / Buy
2 Swimsuit Body 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Garden of Lies Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Garden of Lies 1989 Description / Buy
2 Thorns of Truth 1998 Description / Buy

Order of Eileen Goudge's Swept Away Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gone with the Wish 1986 Description / Buy
2 Woodstock Magic ( With: Francess Lin Lantz) 1986 Description / Buy
3 Once Upon a Kiss 1987 Description / Buy
4 Star Struck ( With: Francess Lin Lantz) 1987 Description / Buy
5 All Shook Up ( With: Francess Lin Lantz) 1987 Description / Buy

Order of Who Killed Peggy Sue? Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dying to Win 1991 Description / Buy
2 Cross Your Heart, Hope to Die 1991 Description / Buy
3 If Looks Could Kill 1991 Description / Buy
4 Jailbird 1992 Description / Buy

Order of Carson Springs Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stranger in Paradise 2001 Description / Buy
2 Taste of Honey 2002 Description / Buy
3 Wish Come True 2003 Description / Buy
4 Welcome to Carson Springs (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Eileen Goudge Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Such Devoted Sisters 1991 Description / Buy
2 Blessing in Disguise 1994 Description / Buy
3 Trail of Secrets 1996 Description / Buy
4 One Last Dance 1999 Description / Buy
5 The Second Silence 2000 Description / Buy
6 Otherwise Engaged 2005 Description / Buy
7 Immediate Family 2006 Description / Buy
8 Woman in Red 2007 Description / Buy
9 Domestic Affairs / Woman in Black 2008 Description / Buy
10 The Diary 2009 Description / Buy
11 Once in a Blue Moon / Woman in Blue 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Eileen Goudge Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Golden Lilies 1990 Description / Buy
2 Something Warm from the Oven 2005 Description / Buy

Eileen Goudge Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Best of the Best 1998 Description / Buy
2 Mothers and Daughters 1998 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She writes a lot about sisterhood and family; the people she met, things she saw, and the events she encountered are always bleeding into her stories. Goudge would like to think that her successful writing career is the result of the tenacity the hardships of life ingrained in her.

She never finished college, having dropped out at the age of eighteen to marry the man she thought she loved. Their relationship ended in disaster. Within what felt like the blink of an eye, Eileen Goudge was divorced and broke, factors that were made harder by the child she was now expected to care for on her own.

It was during this period that she borrowed a typewriter and started writing, with her short stories and articles appearing in publications like Reader’s Digest and McCall’s. Her biggest break came in the 1980s when she joined the ‘Sweet Valley High’ writing team.

The young adult series was a massive hit and it created a semblance of stability for the writer. Goudge was hardly the established author she wanted to be but she knew that she was making steady progress.

In the years that followed, she moved from California to New York, wrote several novels in the young adult fiction genre, branched out into adult fiction, and then experimented with mystery. Hers has been a rags-to-riches story.

The success Goudge enjoys is hardwon. It took great courage for her to move to New York with two children in toe at a time when she had no consistent source of income. The many rejection slips she accrued from publishers should have discouraged her from pursuing a career as a writer.

But she never stopped chasing her dreams. She was a starving artist for many years, surviving on welfare, her writing barely generating the income she needed to feed her children. But she also found that she did not have to fight that hard to find inspiration for her novels.

Once people started reading her work, they could not ignore the dose of reality in her stories. As a successful author, Goudge enjoys the support of Sandy Kenyon, her husband, a TV reporter she met when she phoned in as a guest on his show.

Even more critical to her success were the many colleagues in the publishing field that she got to know. Goudge took a ‘marketing for freelance writers’ night class that got her started. She also remembers the school teacher who told her that she was waiting with bated breath for the book Goudge would eventually publish.

The encouragement went a long way in giving the author the impetus she needed to keep persevering during the hard times. But for Goudge, the author friends she made, later on, were just as important.

They gave her a support system, providing shoulders to cry on, critiquing her books when she needed it, and even helping her resolve certain contractual issues. This is why she supports the use of social media where publishing is concerned. She believes that it connects authors to like-minded people.

Best Eileen Goudge Books

Goudge imputes her success to her ability to set concrete goals and her willingness to work hard to achieve them; some of the best titles in her bibliography include:

The Diary: Elizabeth suffered a massive stroke that left her mute and on the edge of death. She is in no position to answer the questions that haunt her grown daughters. When they found their mother’s diary, the women were shocked to learn that their father was not Elizabeth’s true love. This compelled them to go on a journey to uncover the identity of the man that had captured their mother’s heart long ago.

Garden of Lies: Rachel and Rose couldn’t be more different. Rachel was raised with all the luxuries Manhattan could offer and she couldn’t wait to become a doctor. Rose’s time in the slums of New York, on the other hand, nurtured in her a passionate attitude. Rachel and Rose are forced to adjust their perceptions when they fall for the same person.

When Does The Next Eileen Goudge book come out?

Eileen Goudge doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Swimsuit Body and was released on March, 1st 2015. It is the newest book in the Cypress Bay Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *