Elizabeth Buchan Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Elizabeth Buchan is a British author that writes fiction and non-fiction novels set in the present and the past. Buchan was born in 1948 in Guildford, Surrey. Her father was Major Peter Oakleigh-Walker. Buchan’s childhood was quite mobile.

Get notified when Elizabeth Buchan releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of The Two Mrs Lloyd Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Second Wife / Wives Behaving Badly 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Elizabeth Buchan Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ice Dancer 1985 Description / Buy
2 Daughters of the Storm 1988 Description / Buy
3 Light of the Moon 1992 Description / Buy
4 Consider the Lily 1993 Description / Buy
5 Perfect Love 1995 Description / Buy
6 Against Her Nature 1998 Description / Buy
7 Secrets of the Heart 2000 Description / Buy
8 The Good Wife Strikes Back 2003 Description / Buy
9 That Certain Age / Everything She Thought She Wanted 2004 Description / Buy
10 Separate Beds 2008 Description / Buy
11 Daughters 2012 Description / Buy
12 I Can't Begin to Tell You 2014 Description / Buy
13 The New Mrs Clifton 2017 Description / Buy
14 The Museum of Broken Promises 2019 Description / Buy

Elizabeth Buchan Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Anniversary 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She kept changing homes every three years. Her travels took the author to places like Nigeria and Egypt. She saw more of the world in her childhood than most adults have ever seen. Though, her life eventually gained a semblance of stability when she went back to Guilford.

She started reading as a little girl. Buchan would hide under the bedclothes, reading by torchlight. No one was particularly shocked when she pursued English and History at the University of Kent (Canterbury), eventually graduating with a double degree. That was in the 1970s.

Career-wise, Elizabeth Buchan always knew that she would eventually write and publish her own novels. However, in her own words, she was a ‘really awkward lumpen child’. So she understood that any plans for publishing that she made would require time before they bore fruit.

While she waited for her chance to come, Buchan joined Penguin Books as a blurb writer. She couldn’t believe her luck. To do her job, the author had to read widely. She had to gain a thorough understanding of every story that crossed her desk to accurately represent it using a few carefully selected words.

Essentially, she was being paid to read books, a blessing that few others enjoy. And yet her time at Penguin Books had so much more to offer than the simple pleasure of reading fiction and nonfiction for a living. She describes the experience as a ‘brilliant nursery school’ for aspiring writers.

Buchan spent years figuring out what made books tick before writing the relevant blurbs. The lessons she picked up during this period came in handy when she started writing her own stories. Though, she had to wait a few more years before pursuing her publishing dreams.

Her marriage to Benjamin William Buchan took place in 1974. The pair added two children to their family. At some point, the author left Penguin and landed a position at Random House where she worked as a fiction editor.

By the time she left Random House, she had co-authored a children’s adventure gamebook. She finally decided to write full-time in 1994. The decision was a gamble but it paid off. Elizabeth Buchan had traveled rather frequently as a child. As an adult, she fell right back into this routine. Once her publishing career took off, she was offered numerous opportunities to travel the world on her book tours.

She took great joy in the interactions she had with fans who loved her books and reading as much as she did. Her stories have appeared on radio (BBC Radio 4) and in magazines. Besides her fiction, Buchan has written reviews for publications like The Sunday Times and The Daily.

Elizabeth Buchan Awards

The author won the ‘Romantic Novel of the Year’ Award (Consider the Lily).

Best Elizabeth Buchan Books

Buchan spends a lot of time writing about the family because it is the key to the goings-on of the wider society, with some of the best books in her bibliography including:

New Mrs Clifton: In the waning moments of WWII, Gus Clifton’s sisters couldn’t believe what their brother, an intelligence officer, had done. He was slated to marry Nella, his fiance and their friend. But then he came home with Krista, a German woman he had secretly married.

Krista had experienced horrors the sisters could never imagine. And yet the sisters saw her as less of a victim and more of the enemy, a witch of a woman that had stolen their noble brother’s heart. They made it their mission in life to boot her out of their home.

Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman: Rose was afraid. She had spent more than two decades living a secure existence. Things had been hectic. She had struggled to find a balance between her work and the responsibilities that came with caring for a husband and children.

But then she lost it all, not just the career but the family as well. The idea of starting over terrified her. It took Rose a while to realize that what she had on her hands was the freedom to do whatever she wanted.

When Does The Next Elizabeth Buchan book come out?

Elizabeth Buchan doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Museum of Broken Promises and was released on September, 5th 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *