Elizabeth Chadwick Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Elizabeth Chadwick is a British author that writes Historical fiction and romance. Born in Bury, Lancashire (1957), Chadwick moved to Scotland with her family when she was four. They planted their roots in Newton Mearns.

Get notified when Elizabeth Chadwick releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Wild Hunt Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Wild Hunt 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Running Vixen 1991 Description / Buy
3 The Leopard Unleashed 1992 Description / Buy
4 The Coming of the Wolf 2020 Description / Buy

Order of William Marshal Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Greatest Knight 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Scarlet Lion 2006 Description / Buy
3 A Place Beyond Courage 2007 Description / Buy
4 For the King's Favor / The Time of Singing 2008 Description / Buy
5 To Defy a King 2010 Description / Buy
6 Templar Silks 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Eleanor of Aquitaine Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Summer Queen 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Winter Crown 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Autumn Throne 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Jeanette of Kent Duology Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Royal Rebel 2024 Description / Buy

Order of FitzWarin Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lords of the White Castle / The Outlaw Knight 2000 Description / Buy
2 Shadows and Strongholds 2004 Description / Buy

Order of Elizabeth Chadwick Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Daughters of the Grail / Children of Destiny 1993 Description / Buy
2 Shields of Pride 1994 Description / Buy
3 First Knight 1995 Description / Buy
4 The Conquest 1996 Description / Buy
5 The Champion 1997 Description / Buy
6 The Love Knot 1998 Description / Buy
7 The Marsh King's Daughter 1999 Description / Buy
8 The Winter Mantle 2002 Description / Buy
9 The Falcons of Montabard 2003 Description / Buy
10 Lady of the English 2011 Description / Buy
11 The Irish Princess 2019 Description / Buy
12 A Marriage of Lions 2022 Description / Buy
13 The King's Jewel 2023 Description / Buy

Elizabeth Chadwick Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Loves Me, Loves Me Not 2009 Description / Buy
2 Historical Stories of Exile 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

A significant portion of her childhood was spent in Nottingham. She made the move at the age of ten. At fifteen, Chadwick started writing, penning a story set in the 12th Century that cemented her desire to write historical fiction.

She made very little headway during the initial stages of her career. Even though her stories won competitions, the traditional publishing arena kept rejecting them.

Finally, an agent took note of ‘The Wild Hunt.’ Within a year, not only was the book published, but it won an award. Chadwick believes that storytelling is in her blood. She was born to write fiction.

When she was three, the author was too young to read or write. But she would look at picture books and imagine herself inside the images. When she started watching shows like ‘The Lone Ranger’ and ‘Champion The Wonder Horse,’ Chadwick couldn’t stop inventing new episodes that allowed her to play significant roles in her favorite shows.

In school, she had a habit of acting out dramatic scenes from Scottish history. She would rope her classmates into her makeshift plays, compelling them to gallop around the classroom on imaginary horses.

When she watched the ‘Dark Crusader’ in her teens, Chadwick developed an unquenchable desire to write stories. Initially, her goal was to continue the story of the French knight she had seen in ‘Dark Crusader.’

She admits that her story was filled with historical inaccuracies because her knowledge of the Middle Ages was limited to what she had learned in school. But for Chadwick, ignorance wasn’t an excuse. Instead, it gave her a reason to do research.

Even at the age of 15, she was determined to get her portrayal of the Middle Ages right. Years later, her husband came along, and she gave birth to children. But the author refused to abandon her hobby.

Publishers wanted nothing to do with her. They rejected everything she submitted. But Chadwick was writing because she loved the activity, and the rejections were not enough to discourage her.

She took pride in the fact that every new project she wrote to completion made her a better writer. Chadwick knew she was improving because she kept winning competitions.

Eventually, a literary agent called Carole Blake came along and gave the author the chance she deserved. Before long, opportunities she never expected started knocking on her door. For instance, Columbia Pictures asked her to write the novel version of ‘First Knight’ featuring Sean Connery and Richard Gere.

In the years that followed, Chadwick started receiving awards recognition, a development that bolstered the author’s faith in her abilities.

Elizabeth Chadwick Awards

Chadwick won the Betty Trask Award.

Best Elizabeth Chadwick Books

The Historical Novel Society has dubbed the author the best Medieval fiction writer in the business. Chadwick’s best books:

The Summer Queen: Eleanor of Aquitaine is an icon, a beloved 12th Century monarch that historians have fawned over for centuries. Rather than boring readers with dry facts about the future Queen of France and England, Elizabeth Chadwick weaves a poignant tale about Eleanor, the person.

She takes readers back to Eleanor’s childhood, exploring the events that made her such a beloved figure. Chadwick shows that, despite her privileges, Eleanor’s life wasn’t all roses.

She had to tolerate a loveless marriage with an overly pious king. Her sister, Petra, is another intriguing figure who makes an appearance. She must vie for attention in a kingdom that reveres her glamorous older sibling.

The Greatest Knight: Chadwick uses ‘The Greatest Knight’ to educate readers about William Marshall, a notable medieval hero from an impoverished and landless family. And yet, he rose through the ranks to serve under the banners of Kings like Henry II and Richard the Lionheart.

William had the misfortune of living through dangerous times and serving highly disagreeable masters. But he persevered, refusing to betray his oaths in the face of certain death.

William is not new to avid Chadwick fans because Eleanor of Aquitaine trusted the knight to train her sons in horsemanship.

When Does The Next Elizabeth Chadwick book come out?

The next book by Elizabeth Chadwick is The Royal Rebel and will be released on September, 5th 2024. It is the newest book in the Jeanette of Kent Duology Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *