Elizabeth Strout Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Elizabeth Strout is an American author that writes literary fiction. Born in 1956 in Portland, Maine, to a science professor (Father) and an English professor (Mother), she attended Bates College (Lewiston, Maine) and Syracuse University College of Law, from where she acquired her J.D. degree.

Get notified when Elizabeth Strout releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Olive Kitteridge Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Olive Kitteridge 2008 Description / Buy
2 Olive, Again 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Amgash Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 My Name Is Lucy Barton 2016 Description / Buy
2 Anything Is Possible 2017 Description / Buy
3 Oh William! 2021 Description / Buy
4 Lucy by the Sea 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Elizabeth Strout Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Amy and Isabelle 1998 Description / Buy
2 Abide with Me 2006 Description / Buy
3 The Burgess Boys 2013 Description / Buy
4 Tell Me Everything 2024 Description / Buy

Elizabeth Strout Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ploughshares at Emerson College Vol. 36, No. 1, Spr. 2010 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Best American Short Stories 2013 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Stories of Frederick Busch 2013 Description / Buy
4 Providence Noir 2015 Description / Buy
5 Fight of the Century 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

After waitressing in New York City for longer than she would have liked, Strout started experimenting with publishing, writing stories that appeared in various literary magazines.

She practiced law for half a year after graduating from Syracuse University College of Law. But then she decided to make writing her priority. The author’s desire to write fiction was unquenchable. She was so determined to pursue her publishing dreams that the thought of failing at the task was simply unbearable to her.

Strout kept her dreams to herself because she did not expect affirmation or encouragement from the people around her, especially as she grew older.

The author, who spent her childhood in small Maine and New Hampshire towns, started writing early in her life. She would record her daily activities in a journal. When Strout wasn’t writing, she would frequent the local library.

Strout had a brother that played with her on occasion. But most of the time, she played alone. The experience nurtured a love for the physical world in the author.

‘Amy and Isabelle’ was her first novel. It received awards recognition, turning the author into a literary star. ‘Abide with Me,’ Strout’s second novel did garner the same success. Though, critics loved it.

‘Olive Kitteridge’ performed better than its predecessors, winning a Pulitzer Prize and grossing millions of dollars in the years that followed. Strout was a late bloomer.

Even though she was writing by the age of four, the author started publishing her novels later in life. ‘Amy and Isabelle’ was not her first attempt at writing stories.

She made various attempts as a much younger woman. But something wasn’t right. Initially, she couldn’t put her finger on it. Later on, after moving to New York and watching stand-up comics, Strout realized that audiences laughed hardest at jokes that explored the truth.

This showed the author that her work was missing an element of honesty. The author took a moment to ponder the issue, to try and determine what she could say to a gathering of people to make them laugh.

To put some of her ideas to the test, she joined a challenging class whose students had to perform at the Comic Strip. The course was tough, so much so that people kept dropping out.

But Strout made it to the end. Even though it was one of the most terrifying moments of her life, the author made her audience laugh.

Elizabeth Strout Awards

Strout won the Pulitzer Prize in 2009. She has received nominations for a Baileys Women’s Prize, Rathbone Folio Prize, and The Man Booker Prize, to mention but a few.

Elizabeth Strout Books into Movies

Oprah Winfrey turned ‘Amy and Isabelle’ into a movie starring Elizabeth Shue and Hanna Hall. HBO turned ‘Olive Kitteridge’ into a four-part show starring Frances McDormand.

Best Elizabeth Strout Books

The author is married to James Teirney (Lecturer at Harvard Law School). Strout’s best books include:

Olive Kitteridge: Olive is a retired teacher with irrational sensitivities. She has taken great offense to the changes sweeping through her town. The woman is completely blind to the negative impact her tyranny has had on her daughter or the strength it takes for her husband to stay loyal to their marriage. Before long, Olive will gain a deeper understanding of herself.

My Name is Lucy Barton: Lucy is stuck in the hospital. The doctors said her procedure was simple. But now, she’s bedridden, slowly recovering, which is why her mother has come to see her.

Their interactions are few and far between. Every so often, she will squeeze a laugh out of Lucy with the funny names she has assigned the nurses. But for the most part, the woman is silent.

Not so for Lucy. Elizabeth Strout puts the readers in Lucy’s head as she fills the awkward silences with stories about her life. She pulls back the curtain to reveal the complexities surrounding her childhood, including the poverty and abuse she had to overcome.

When Does The Next Elizabeth Strout book come out?

The next book by Elizabeth Strout is Tell Me Everything and will be released on September, 10th 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *