Emily Giffin Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Emily Giffin is a former lawyer who was born March 20, 1972. She graduated from the University of Virginia’s law school and from Wake Forest University (here, she got an undergraduate degree, and had a double major in both English and history). She worked at a law firm in Manhattan for some time, practicing litigation. Even though she worked as a lawyer, she always knew that she wanted to write novels. Her fondest memories include her reading a lot and writing stories of her own. She was even editor in chief at her high school paper and was a part of the creative writing club. She thinks she became a lawyer to get some kind of real job so that she could be taking less of a risk. Plus, she feels that it was the right call because she gained so many skills and a lot of knowledge, stuff that she puts to good use today. She finally quit working at her law firm, partly to write, but also because she did not like the culture of a big law firm and the reality of actually practicing law. She would work on a novel in her free time and work to pay off her student loans. Then, in the year 2001 (once her novel was finished), she moved to London so that she could write full time. Emily Giffin wrote a young adult novel, called “Lily Holding True” that was turned down by eight publishers. Later on she began a work on another novel that she called “Rolling the Dice”, which would become “Something Borrowed”. She was able to find an agent in 2002 and was able to get a two novel deal with St. Martin’s Press. During revisions of this novel, she came up with an idea for a sequel (which was released with the name “Something Blue”). At one point, she had three novels on USA Today’s Top 150 list. Each of her books have been bestsellers around the world. Emily Giffin lives with her three kids and her husband.

Get notified when Emily Giffin releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Adventures of Darcy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Something Borrowed 2004 Description / Buy
2 Something Blue 2005 Description / Buy

Order of Emily Giffin Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Baby Proof 2006 Description / Buy
2 Love the One You're With 2008 Description / Buy
3 Heart of the Matter 2010 Description / Buy
4 Where We Belong 2012 Description / Buy
5 The One & Only 2014 Description / Buy
6 First Comes Love 2016 Description / Buy
7 All We Ever Wanted 2018 Description / Buy
8 The Lies That Bind 2020 Description / Buy
9 Meant to Be 2023 Description / Buy
10 The Summer Pact 2024 Description / Buy

Emily Giffin Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Girls' Night Out 2006 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Emily Giffin often writes humorous, romantic, and chick lit, and has written about Darcy J. Rhone and her friend Rachel White (both of whom are lawyers). The series is called the “Darcy and Rachel” series. She has also written some stand alone novels.


“Something Borrowed” was adapted into a movie that starred Kate Hudson, Ginnifer Goodwin, and John Krasinski. It was released in 2011.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Emily Giffin, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Something Borrowed” and “Something Blue”.

Something Borrowed: This is the first novel in the “Darcy and Rachel” series and was released in the year 2004. Rachel and Darcy are friends. They have been since they were kids. Rachel has been nothing but a good girl. That is, until she turns thirty, and ends up getting into bed with her good friend Darcy’s fiance. This after Darcy throws a big party for her and Rachel drinks to much. She tries to put the fling behind her and make believe that it was just a one time thing. But she finds that she actually has feelings for the guy, the one guy that she should run away from. Darcy and this guy are supposed to get married in September, and finds that she has a choice that she has to make. Right and wrong is divided by a line, that at times, can be blurry. Endings are not always so neat as we would like them to be. At times, you have to risk everything to win true happiness.

Something Blue: This is the second novel in the “Darcy and Rachel” series and was released in the year 2005. Darcy Rhone has been able to rely on her charm, her fiance (who is named Dex), her beauty, and Rachel (her best friend forever). That was all that she ever needed in life. Or that is what she always thought before Dex decided to put an end to their getting married. Then she found out why and blamed everyone but herself. Darcy goes off to London and tries to remake her glamorous life on a new continent. Her luck has expired as her tested tricks do not work here. This is dismaying to her. Only then can she start her journey for true love, forgiveness, and redemption.

When Does The Next Emily Giffin book come out?

Emily Giffin doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Summer Pact and was released on July, 9th 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *