Eric Jerome Dickey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Eric Jerome Dickey was an American author that wrote crime novels with a diverse cast of characters. Born in 1961 in Memphis, Tennessee, he got his degree (Computer System Technology) from the University of Memphis.

Order of Gideon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sleeping with Strangers 2007 Description / Buy
2 Waking with Enemies 2007 Description / Buy
3 Dying for Revenge 2008 Description / Buy
4 Resurrecting Midnight 2009 Description / Buy
5 Finding Gideon 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Nia Simone Bijou Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Pleasure 2008 Description / Buy
2 Decadence 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Wicked Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bad Men and Wicked Women 2018 Description / Buy
2 Before We Were Wicked 2019 Description / Buy

Order of McBroom Sisters Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Naughty or Nice 2001 Description / Buy
2 Naughtier Than Nice 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Eric Jerome Dickey Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sister, Sister 1996 Description / Buy
2 Friends and Lovers 1997 Description / Buy
3 Milk in My Coffee 1998 Description / Buy
4 Cheaters 1999 Description / Buy
5 Liar's Game 2000 Description / Buy
6 Between Lovers 2001 Description / Buy
7 Thieves' Paradise 2002 Description / Buy
8 The Other Woman 2003 Description / Buy
9 Drive Me Crazy 2004 Description / Buy
10 Genevieve 2005 Description / Buy
11 Chasing Destiny 2006 Description / Buy
12 Tempted by Trouble 2010 Description / Buy
13 An Accidental Affair 2012 Description / Buy
14 A Wanted Woman 2014 Description / Buy
15 One Night 2015 Description / Buy
16 The Blackbirds 2016 Description / Buy
17 Harlem (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
18 The Business of Lovers 2020 Description / Buy
19 The Son of Mr. Suleman 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Eric Jerome Dickey Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Education of Nia Simone Bijou (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Eric Jerome Dickey Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Got to be Real: Four Original Love Stories 2000 Description / Buy

Order of Eric Jerome Dickey Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Astonishing X-Men 2006 Description / Buy

Eric Jerome Dickey Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mothers and Sons 2000 Description / Buy
2 Black Silk 2002 Description / Buy
3 Black Satin 2004 Description / Buy
4 Voices from the Other Side 2006 Description / Buy
5 Suspense Magazine June 2014 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

For a time, the author plied his trade in the aerospace industry. But it did not take long for his artistic passions to surface. While he had some fun with acting and standup comedy, Dickey quickly realized that he enjoyed writing more than everything else.

Interestingly enough, he attended his first writing class because a friend wanted the author to accompany her. She did not want to be the only black student in the class. Dickey acquiesced to her request. Later on, she dropped out, but Dickey stayed.

The author succeeded because he refused to limit his focus to a particular field. He wrote scripts and, in doing so, gained a clear understanding of character development.

The poems and short stories he wrote honed his skills. Additionally, Dickey attended International Black Writers and Artists (IBWA) workshops to develop his talents further.

His first significant success came in the form of ‘Thirteen,’ his first published short story. It came out in 1994. Soon after, Dickey wrote ‘Cappuccino,’ a screenplay that Craig Ross Jr. directed.
Once ‘Cappuccino’ started making appearances in coffee houses all over LA, Dickey could have sat back and celebrated what might have been the start of a long and successful career as a screenwriter.

But he was not content with screenplays. Short stories were equally dissatisfying. After noticing that stories that should have ended after ten or so pages kept exploding into 300-page volumes, Dickey decided to try his hand at novel writing.

It took the author three years to find an agent for his full-length novels. Once he got his foot through the publishing door, he made a name for himself in the industry, becoming one of the most prominent authors in urban fiction.

Dickey’s name is associated with numerous bestsellers. His books have been translated into languages like French and Japanese.

Dickey’s stories were unique when he arrived on the publishing scene because no other author was writing books that delivered the sort of literary representation he wanted.

Dickey couldn’t find fictional characters that mimicked the people he knew: powerful, intelligent, educated African American women that black readers could admire and seek to emulate.

The author died of cancer in 2021. ‘Mr. Suleman’ was his final novel, published posthumously.

Eric Jerome Dickey Awards

Dickey received the Glyph Comic Award for his work on ‘Storm,’ the African American Literary Award (Best Contemporary Fiction & Author of the Year), and an NAACP Image Award Nomination.

Best Eric Jerome Dickey Books

Following his death, Dickey’s fans and peers praised the author for his kind and gracious spirit. Dickey’s best books include:

Friends and Lovers: Leonard, Shelby, Tyrel, and Debra were close friends. Their unique personalities brought them together, only to break them apart. Leonard and Debra had similar attitudes.

Leonard, an aspiring comedian, was tired of being single. Debra, shy and hardworking, was the same. It did not take long for Leonard and Debra to fall for one another. What started as a strong friendship evolved into a solid marriage.

Tyrel and Shelby couldn’t have been more different from Leonard and Debra. Tyrel was a dominant male, which made him the perfect match for Shelby, who was outspoken.

They both lived in the moment. But the ecstasy wasn’t enough to keep them together. Eventually, they stopped communicating, putting their best friends, Leonard and Debra, in an awkward situation.

Cheaters: Stephen doesn’t have fond memories of his father. He had a habit of cheating on Stephen’s mother. And yet, as an adult, Stephen is following in his father’s footsteps. He jumps from woman to woman.

His friends are just as dysfunctional. Darnell has a wife, but she doesn’t understand him. He couldn’t be more miserable, which is why he cannot help but fall for Tammy.

Jake is the worst of all because he has a loving wife. But he cannot dedicate himself to her. No matter what Charlotte does, Jake is always looking for something better.

On the other side of the table, Chante has everything she could possibly want: a great degree, a decent job, and a lovely apartment. But every man she sleeps with leaves or cheats, and she doesn’t know why.

When Does The Next Eric Jerome Dickey book come out?

Eric Jerome Dickey doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Son of Mr. Suleman and was released on April, 20th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *