Eugenia Price Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Eugenia Price was an American author that wrote inspirational and historical fiction. Born in 1916 in Charleston, West Virginia, Euginia was ten when she decided to pursue writing and publishing.

Order of St. Simons Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Beloved Invader 1965 Description / Buy
2 New Moon Rising 1969 Description / Buy
3 Lighthouse 1971 Description / Buy

Order of Florida Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Don Juan McQueen 1974 Description / Buy
2 Maria 1977 Description / Buy
3 Margaret's Story 1980 Description / Buy

Order of Savannah Quartet Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Savannah 1983 Description / Buy
2 To See Your Face Again 1985 Description / Buy
3 Before the Darkness Falls 1987 Description / Buy
4 Stranger in Savannah 1989 Description / Buy

Order of Georgia Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bright Captivity 1991 Description / Buy
2 Where Shadows Go 1993 Description / Buy
3 Beauty from Ashes 1995 Description / Buy

Order of Eugenia Price Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Waiting Time 1997 Description / Buy

Order of Eugenia Price Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Discoveries: Made from Living My New Life (Short Story) 1953 Description / Buy
2 The Burden is Light 1955 Description / Buy
3 Share My Pleasant Stones 1957 Description / Buy
4 Woman to Woman 1959 Description / Buy
5 Find Out For Yourself Young People can Discover Their Own Answers 1964 Description / Buy
6 The Wider Place ... Where God offers freedom from anything that limits our growth 1966 Description / Buy
7 Make Love Your Aim 1967 Description / Buy
8 The Unique World of Women in Bible Times and Now 1969 Description / Buy
9 Learning to Live from the Acts 1970 Description / Buy
10 Learning to Live 1976 Description / Buy
11 St. Simons Memoir 1978 Description / Buy
12 Leave Yourself Alone (Short Story) 1979 Description / Buy
13 Diary of a Novel 1980 Description / Buy
14 At Home on St. Simons (Short Story) 1981 Description / Buy
15 Getting Through the Night (Short Story) 1982 Description / Buy
16 What Really Matters (Short Story) 1983 Description / Buy
17 Another Day 1984 Description / Buy
18 God Speaks to Women Today 1984 Description / Buy
19 Early Will I Seek Thee 1985 Description / Buy
20 Just As I Am 1985 Description / Buy
21 What is God Like? 1989 Description / Buy
22 Beloved World 1991 Description / Buy
23 No Pat Answers (Short Story) 1991 Description / Buy
24 Inside One Author's Heart (Short Story) 1992 Description / Buy
25 A Woman's Choice 1993 Description / Buy
26 Strictly Personal 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She proved her resolve by submitting a poem to her school magazine. People who associate the author with her strong religious beliefs might be surprised to learn that she was part of the Methodist Church but left it during her teenage years.

She also temporarily abandoned her writing ambitions to become a dentist like her father. Eugenia was a self-proclaimed atheist during her time at Ohio University. However, despite becoming the only woman to enroll at Northwestern Dental School in 1935, she couldn’t shake her passion for writing.

Some of her friends were surprised when she joined ‘In Care of Aggie Horn,’ an NBC radio serial in 1939. This was just the beginning of her illustrious writing career. She stayed with the radio serial until 1942 before jumping to ‘Joyce Jordan, M.D’ (Proctor and Gamble).

Her radio production company (Eugenia Price Productions) developed many serials in the following years. By the time she joined WGN Radio (Writer/Producer/Director), the author had abandoned her atheism in favor of Christianity.

She wrote about her newfound faith in ‘Discoveries Made From Living My New Life,’ which Zondervan Publishing published in 1953. Eugenia was already a household name by this point because her show on WGN Radio was incredibly popular. In fact, she spent several years giving lectures all over the United States and Canada because of her show.

Her star rose one step further when ‘Discoveries Made From Living My New Life’ came out and turned her into a renowned inspirational writer. The books she wrote after encouraged readers to embrace Biblical teachings while rejecting advancements in psychology and analysis.

Her historical romances were equally successful, turning the author into a bestseller with millions of local and international readers. Eugenia’s most ardent fans speak fondly of the events that inspired the St. Simons Trilogy.

A book tour was taking the author from West Virginia to Florida in 1961 when she decided to stop in Georgia with a friend and immediately fell for the island of St. Simons with its moss, oaks, and expansive marsh.

Christ Church was the crowning jewel of this discovery. It had fallen into ruin until Anson Green Phelps Dodge Jr. came along and restored it. The investigation Eugenia undertook to determine the motivations driving the renovation led to her first St. Simons book.

Despite the success of her fictional works, the author continued to write inspirational books. She passed away in 1996. The cause was congestive heart failure.

Best Eugenia Price Books

The author was an avid baseball fan. Initially, the Chicago Cubs were her team. She replaced them with the Atlanta Braves after moving to St. Simons Island. Eugenia’s best books include:

Savannah: Mark Browning made a drastic decision at 20. He renounced his father’s fortune and ran off to his mother’s birthplace. At the time, he was unaware of the remarkable ways in which the two women in Savannah would change his life.

The orphan had a pure love for Eliza McQueen Mackay, one he couldn’t express because the beautiful woman was his mentor’s wife. Meanwhile, Caroline Cameron’s grandparents had saddled her with a secret that tormented them for half a century. Mark will soon learn why that secret affects him.

In time, he will face the ghosts of the past and the demons of the present. If he survives, Savannah will become his one true home.

Lighthouse: ‘Lighthouse’ is the first novel in the St. Simons trilogy. The story it tells is set in the 1800s during the United State’s earliest days. Conflicts between state and federal powers are still rife, and James Gould is trying to make a name for himself.

He hopes that building a lighthouse on the island will make his dreams a reality. But surviving in the 1800s means confronting many complex hypocrisies. For instance, James has a black friend he reveres.

And yet he owns slaves. James spends the novel wrestling with his pride, and the social and religious quandaries that challenge him at every turn, all the while fighting to keep his wife happy.

When Does The Next Eugenia Price book come out?

Eugenia Price doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Stranger in Savannah and was released on September, 10th 2013. It is the newest book in the Savannah Quartet Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *