Eva Gates Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Eva Gates is a bestselling author that writes cozy mysteries. A native of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Eva attended Carleton College (Minnesota). She pursued modern history. She quickly noticed her affinity for ordinary men and women trying to survive difficult circumstances.

Get notified when Eva Gates releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Lighthouse Library Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 By Book or By Crook 2015 Description / Buy
2 Booked for Trouble 2015 Description / Buy
3 Reading Up a Storm 2016 Description / Buy
4 The Spook in the Stacks 2018 Description / Buy
5 Something Read, Something Dead 2019 Description / Buy
6 Read and Buried 2019 Description / Buy
7 A Death Long Overdue 2020 Description / Buy
8 Deadly Ever After 2021 Description / Buy
9 Death By Beach Read 2022 Description / Buy
10 Death Knells and Wedding Bells 2023 Description / Buy
11 The Stranger in the Library 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The notion of writing about larger-than-life figures such as international spies and warmongers did not appeal to her. After abandoning college (before finishing her senior year), the author got married and spent over a decade in South Africa.

She returned to Canada later on with a wealth of experience. Eva surprised some people when she left a position as a system analyst at a major bank, settling for a simpler life in Ontario. With more time to focus on her literary career, the author writes three to four books each year.

Surprisingly, even with her impressive production rate, she finds the time to travel. Eva believes that getting away from her manuscripts is beneficial. It is particularly useful for her research, of which she does a considerable amount.

She knows that she can learn everything she needs from Google Earth. But nothing can replace a visit to an actual location.

The author has always gravitated toward mystery novels because they have something to offer everyone. You will find both light and dark content in the genre. Darker crime fiction is fascinating because it provides a glimpse into the human psyche.

It allows readers to question how far they would go if they encountered the difficulties plaguing their favorite characters, whether they would retain their principles or surrender to the dangerous urges that drive the best literary villains.

Although many of Eva’s followers associate her with lighter stories, specifically cozy mysteries. Her books feature warm circles of friends and families living in welcoming communities. The main characters do not face real danger, and you rarely see tragedy in the adventures they undertake.

The author adds romance and tales of strong friendships without sacrificing the mystery. Eva has no interest in exploring explicit violence. She emphasizes character development above all else. The author wants readers to see how far people will go if you push them.

Her writing habits are relatively conventional. She starts each morning by sitting at the computer in her office and catching up on everything from emails and online newspapers to Facebook and Twitter engagements and interactions.

Then she walks to her Netbook computer in the dining room and begins her writing session. She reads what she wrote the day before and then spends the next few hours writing (while standing). At some point, she boils and eats an egg while checking her email.

Eva is highly disciplined. She doesn’t write in small chunks. More importantly, she doesn’t wait for inspiration to drive her. The author follows her routine strictly.

Best Eva Gates Books

Eva Gates is Vicki Delany’s pseudonym. Vicki writes the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Year Round Christmas Mysteries series. Eva’s best books include:

By Book Or By Crook: Lucy loved every second of the ten years she spent at the Havard Library. Nothing brought her more joy than pouring over rare literature tomes. Her engagement to her father’s law partner’s son was far less fulfilling.

Once her life imploded, Lucy couldn’t wait to start over. Fortunately, aunt Ellen was more than happy to accommodate her. Ellen found Lucy a place at the lighthouse library on Bode Island. It was everything Lucy could have wanted and more.

But before she could find her footing, things went wrong. A priceless edition of Jane Austen went missing. And then someone murdered the chair of the library board. Now, Lucy has a real mystery on her hands, and if she’s not careful, her life could reach a tragic end sooner than she expected.

Booked For Trouble: Lucy was happy. She loved living at the Bodie Island Lighthouse, working as a librarian, walking on the beach, and enjoying the attention of two eligible men. But Suzanne wouldn’t let her rest. Lucy’s mother dropped in and demanded that Lucy return to Boston.

She wanted the librarian to rekindle her relationship with her ex-fiance. Lucy had no intention of accepting Suzanne’s demands. But before they could resolve the issue, Suzanne had a public fight with her former classmate shortly before Karen Kivas died. Now, everyone thinks Suzanne killed Karen.

When Does The Next Eva Gates book come out?

Eva Gates doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Stranger in the Library and was released on June, 4th 2024. It is the newest book in the Lighthouse Library Mystery Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *