Frances Brody Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Frances Brody is an English author that writes mystery novels and sagas. Born in Leeds, West Yorkshire, Brody did not harbor publishing dreams when she was young. Even though she wrote a lot, Brody never thought she would make a career out of telling stories in her adult years.

Order of Kate Shackleton Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dying in the Wool 2009 Description / Buy
2 A Medal for Murder 2010 Description / Buy
3 Murder in the Afternoon 2011 Description / Buy
4 A Woman Unknown 2012 Description / Buy
5 Murder on a Summer's Day 2013 Description / Buy
6 Death of an Avid Reader 2014 Description / Buy
7 A Death in the Dales 2015 Description / Buy
8 Death at the Seaside 2016 Description / Buy
9 Death in the Stars 2017 Description / Buy
10 A Snapshot of Murder 2018 Description / Buy
11 The Body on the Train 2019 Description / Buy
12 Murder is in the Air / Death and the Brewery Queen 2020 Description / Buy
13 Kate Shackleton's First Case 2022 Description / Buy
14 A Mansion for Murder 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Brackerley Prison Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Murder Inside 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Frances Brody Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Somewhere Behind the Morning 2005 Description / Buy
2 Sixpence in Her Shoe 2006 Description / Buy
3 Sisters of Fortune / Halfpenny Dreams 2008 Description / Buy
4 Sisters on Bread Street 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Cozy Case Files Mystery Sampler Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 1 2017
2 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 2 2017 Description / Buy
3 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 3 2017 Description / Buy
4 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 4 2018 Description / Buy
5 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 5 2018 Description / Buy
6 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 6 2019 Description / Buy
7 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 7 2019 Description / Buy
8 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 8 (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
9 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 9 2020 Description / Buy
10 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 10 2020 Description / Buy
11 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 11 2021 Description / Buy
12 A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 12 2021 Description / Buy
13 Cozy Case Files, Volume 16 2022 Description / Buy
14 Cozy Case Files, Volume 17 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author was eighteen when she started writing her novel. After spending her evenings working as a barmaid, she had finally saved enough money to buy a portable typewriter. Her mother took an interest in the author’s publishing goals after finding a page she had typed and left at the kitchen table.

She was impressed with Brody’s talents and couldn’t wait to tell her how good her writing was. Of course, the woman had no idea that the author had simply copied the first page of ‘A Tale of Two Cities.’

The family had a copy of the Charles Dickens volume, but it had a missing page. Brody typed the page after finding a copy of ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ at the library. Brody is confident that her mother would have loved the ‘Kate Shackleton’ series for which she is best known.

It took a while for Brody to find her footing as a writer. She abandoned her first novel after 30 pages because she was easily bored. The author took a detour to the United States after stumbling upon a secretarial agency that wanted to send girls to America.

Brody submitted her application and began a romantic adventure that took her to Manhattan. She joined Ruskin College (Oxford) after returning home. She also attended York University (History and English Literature).

But her desire to write fiction never faded, and she continued to pursue her dream. She started by selling stories and plays to entities like the BBC. Then she contributed her talents to various touring theater companies.

‘Dying in the Wool’ was her first crime novel. The concept came to her after she concocted a mystery surrounding a man behind a high wall. The author tried to imagine a sleuth capable of solving the puzzle, and Kate Shackleton came to her, inspired by a picture in a family album.

The character was an elegant woman from a previous era, a combination of the many women Brody knew while growing up. The heroine was a welcome introduction to the author’s imagination.

She has enjoyed exploring Kate’s life, walking in her shoes, and gaining a better understanding of what makes her tick. Brody chose the 1920s as a fitting setting for Kate’s adventures because she was well-acquainted with the era.

The author had already written sagas set between 1914 and the 1930s. After listening to stories and reading books about the period, she grew to appreciate the storytelling potential of the 1920s. It was a time of great change, during which society struggled to recover from the consequences of the Great War. Brody couldn’t think of a more fitting setting.

Frances Brody Awards

Brody’s accolades include the Harper Collins Elizabeth Elgin award and nominations for a Mary Higgins Clark and a Time Out award.

Best Frances Brody Books

‘Frances Brody’ is a pen name for Frances McNeil. Brody’s best books include:

Dying in the Wool: Nothing of note ever happened in Bridgestead. The village was quiet, remote, and, most importantly, peaceful. But then Joshua Braithwaite went missing, and questions arose. What happened to him? Did he run off with his mistress? Was he even alive?

These were the questions that occupied her daughter’s thoughts. And now that she was getting married, the woman was determined to find answers. Fortunately for her, kate Shackleton had an affinity for mysteries. She would continue sticking her nose where it did not belong until she found the truth.

A Medal For Murder: Many men went missing during the war. Kate Shackleton did what she could to help the women they left behind find the answers they sorely desired. Kate understood their plight because her husband had also disappeared. She never found him.

These days, Kate uses her skills to solve more straightforward puzzles. The private investigator works for an ex-police officer who pays her to catch the many criminals lurking in the shadows. When Kate takes on a pawn shop robbery, she doesn’t expect the investigation to tie into a kidnapping and murder case.

When Does The Next Frances Brody book come out?

Frances Brody doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Mansion for Murder and was released on October, 20th 2022. It is the newest book in the Kate Shackleton Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.