Francine Rivers Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Francine Rivers is an American author that writes Christian fiction. Born in 1947 to a police officer and a nurse, she went to Amador Valley High School and the University of Nevada. After graduating with a bachelor of arts degree in English and Journalism, she worked as a newspaper reporter.

Get notified when Francine Rivers releases a new book at

Order of Mark of the Lion Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Voice in the Wind 1993 Description / Buy
2 An Echo in the Darkness 1994 Description / Buy
3 As Sure as the Dawn 1995 Description / Buy

Order of Lineage of Grace Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Unveiled: Tamar 2000 Description / Buy
2 Unashamed: Rahab 2000 Description / Buy
3 Unshaken: Ruth 2001 Description / Buy
4 Unspoken: Bathsheba 2001 Description / Buy
5 Unafraid: Mary 2001 Description / Buy

Order of Sons of Encouragement Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Warrior: Caleb 1998 Description / Buy
2 The Priest: Aaron 2004 Description / Buy
3 The Prince: Jonathan 2005 Description / Buy
4 The Prophet: Amos 2006 Description / Buy
5 The Scribe: Silas 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Marta's Legacy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Her Mother's Hope 2010 Description / Buy
2 Her Daughter's Dream 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Francine Rivers Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Kathleen 1979 Description / Buy
2 Rebel In His Arms 1981 Description / Buy
3 Heart's Divided 1983 Description / Buy
4 This Golden Valley 1983 Description / Buy
5 Sarina 1983 Description / Buy
6 Heart In Hiding 1984 Description / Buy
7 Not So Wild a Dream 1985 Description / Buy
8 Pagan Heart 1985 Description / Buy
9 Sycamore Hill 1985 Description / Buy
10 Outlaw's Embrace 1986 Description / Buy
11 Fire in the Heart 1987 Description / Buy
12 Redeeming Love 1991 Description / Buy
13 The Scarlet Thread 1995 Description / Buy
14 The Atonement Child 1997 Description / Buy
15 The Last Sin Eater 1998 Description / Buy
16 Leota's Garden 1999 Description / Buy
17 And The Shofar Blew 2003 Description / Buy
18 Bridge to Haven 2014 Description / Buy
19 The Masterpiece 2018 Description / Buy
20 The Lady's Mine 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Francine Rivers Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Shoe Box (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
2 Earth Psalms 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Francine Rivers Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Lineage of Grace 2001 Description / Buy
2 Bible Stories for Growing Kids 2007 Description / Buy
3 Sons of Encouragement 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Francine Rivers Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Path to Redeeming Love: A Forty-Day Devotional ( With: Karin Stock Buursma) 2020 Description / Buy
2 Redeeming Love: The Companion Study ( With: Angela Hunt) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In a way, she was already fulfilling her dream. Francine knew at an early age that she wanted to pursue writing as a career. But she wasn’t tempted to experiment with fiction until a family member came along and lent her some romance novels.

The books introduced the author to the joys of fiction, and she realized that novels were her true calling. She put her talents to good use in the mid-70s when she published her first book. It did not take Francine long to make her mark.

The steamy historical stories she told secured the author a loyal following of readers, some of whom were quite surprised when she abandoned secular stories for Christian fiction. Even though she grew up in a Christian family, the author wasn’t particularly devoted to her faith until she became a publishing success.

Francine knew that her obsession with writing wasn’t healthy. Her identity was intimately intertwined with her career as a novelist. Francine’s husband would often joke that, given a choice, she would choose writing over her children.

When she became a born-again Christian, everything changed. This development came at a pivotal time in Francine’s life. Her marriage to Rick (Husband) was holding on by a thread. The couple had migrated to northern California because they hoped that living near family would improve their situation.

Instead, they met new neighbors that kept inviting them to church until Francine surrendered. She remembers attending the church and being gobsmacked by the teaching. Before long, she had asked the pastor to organize a Bible study group in their house, and her husband was attending.

But once she became a born-again Christian, the author found that she couldn’t write. Francine had practically worshipped her career for years, and now that she had replaced the activity with God, the author couldn’t bring herself to tell the same romance stories that made her a success.

It took her three years to understand the message God was imparting to her. God did not want Francine to abandon writing. Instead, he wanted the author to write for him, to use her gifts for his glory.

She did just that, penning ‘Redeeming Love,’ her most famous novel. She based the book on the story of Hosea from the Bible. In the decades since it came out, ‘Redeeming Love’ has become a classic, attracting interest from Christians and non-Christians.

Francine Rivers Awards

Francine has Christy and Rita Awards. She has also won the Holt and ECPA Gold Medallion.

Francine Rivers Books Into Movies

‘The Last Sin Eater’ and ‘Redeeming Love’ received live-action movie adaptations.

Best Francine Rivers Books

People love the author’s work because she tackles gritty subjects that Christian fiction usually ignores. Francine’s best books include:

Redeeming: Angel lived a tragic life. She was still a child when they sold her into prostitution. Her experiences taught her to despise men. She saw them for what they were: weak, arrogant, and treacherous.

But Hosea was different. She wanted to reject him, to expose his lies. But Hosea defied her worst expectations and, in doing so, thawed the ice surrounding her heart.

Hosea was not foolish. He knew that most men would flee from Angel once they learned of the demons she carried. But Hosea was a man of God. God had commanded him to love Angel unconditionally, and he was determined to obey.

A Voice In The Wind: Hadassah was just a slave girl, a survivor of the massacre that claimed her family. But she was determined to make a difference, especially when she realized that the hedonistic Julia Valerian was her new master.

To Julia, Hadassah was just a toy, a target for his reckless impulses. But the slave girl was strong. More importantly, she wanted live according to the teachings of Jesus, who had commanded her to treat her masters in ways they did not deserve.

But following in the footsteps of Jesus in a society that expected her to hide her religious identity was easier said than done.

When Does The Next Francine Rivers book come out?

Francine Rivers doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Lady's Mine and was released on February, 8th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *