Frederick Forsyth Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Frederick Forsyth is an English bestselling writer, former spy, and journalist and an occasional political commentator. He is popularly known for thrillers such as The Odessa File, The Dogs War, The Veteran Avenger, The Kill List, The Fourth Protocol and The Devil’s Alternative. Forsyth was born in Ashford, Kent and attended Tonbridge School before joining the University of Granada in Spain. Before journalism, he served in the Royal Air Force where he piloted the de Havilland Vampire. He later joined Reuters in 1961 and BBC in 1965 where he worked as an assistant diplomatic correspondent. For three months in 1967, the author covered the Biafran war between Nigeria and Biafra.

Get notified when Frederick Forsyth releases a new book at

Order of Frederick Forsyth Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Day of the Jackal 1971 Description / Buy
2 The Odessa File 1972 Description / Buy
3 The Dogs of War 1974 Description / Buy
4 Devil's Alternative 1979 Description / Buy
5 The Fourth Protocol 1984 Description / Buy
6 The Negotiator 1989 Description / Buy
7 The Deceiver 1991 Description / Buy
8 The Fist of God 1994 Description / Buy
9 Icon 1996 Description / Buy
10 The Phantom of Manhattan 1996 Description / Buy
11 Avenger 2003 Description / Buy
12 The Afghan 2006 Description / Buy
13 The Cobra 2010 Description / Buy
14 The Kill List 2013 Description / Buy
15 The Fox 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Frederick Forsyth Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Shepherd 1975 Description / Buy
2 The Emperor 1982 Description / Buy
3 The Citizen (Short Story) 2000 Description / Buy
4 Whispering Wind (Short Story) 2000 Description / Buy
5 The Miracle (Short Story) 2000 Description / Buy
6 The Art of the Matter 2001 Description / Buy

Order of Frederick Forsyth Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 No Comebacks 1982 Description / Buy
2 The Veteran and Other Stories 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Frederick Forsyth Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Biafra Story: The Making of an African Legend 1969 Description / Buy
2 Emeka 1991 Description / Buy
3 Used In Evidence 2005 Description / Buy
4 The Outsider: My Life in Intrigue 2015 Description / Buy

Frederick Forsyth Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Great Flying Stories 1991 Description / Buy
2 English Crime Stories of Today 1993 Description / Buy
3 A Tangled Web 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Forsyth left BBC in 1968 and returned to Biafra where he worked as a freelancer, and in 1969, he published a book about the Biafran War titled The Biafra Story. He decided to write a novel in 1970 but to write it using similar techniques that he applied in journalism. His first full-length novel was The Day of the Jackal which became an international bestseller and was made into a movie by the same name. Later in 1972, he published The Odessa File a book that narrates the story of a reporter who attempts to track down a group of ex-Nazis in the modern Germany. The author wrote The Dogs of War in 1974, a book that explains the story of a mining executive who hires mercenaries to overthrow the government of an African country. Other novels written by Frederick Forsyth are No Comebacks (1982), The Deceiver (1991), Icon (1996) and Avenger (2003)


Frederick Forsyth was the winner of 1972 Edgar Allan Poe Award for the novel The Day of the Jackal. Additionally, in February 2012, the Crime Writers Association listed Forsyth as the winner of Cartier Diamond Dagger Award as a recognition for his prolific work. The author was also appointed as the Commander of the Order of the British Empire during the 1997 New Year Honors.


Several of Frederick Forsyth books have been adapted into films and television shows. Here are some of the films based on his book titles: The Odessa File (1974), The Fourth Protocol (1987), Avenger (2006), Icon (2005) Money with Menaces (1973) and Cry of the Innocent (1980).


Here are two best books by Frederick Forsyth, The Day of the Jackal (1971) and The Dogs of War (1974). Both of these books have been adapted for the big screen.

The Day of the Jackal: Frederick Forsyth debut novel describes the story of a man named the Jackal. A tall Englishman and a professional assassin, described as a man of unknown identity, and who is unknown to any secret service in the world. This time round, he assigned with a task of assassinating the world’s heavily guarded man.

The Jackal is one man whose mission can change the course of history. His mission is so secretive such that not even his employers know his name. And even as the clock time ticks to the D-day, it appears that no power in the whole world can stop the killer jackal.

The Day of the Jackal plot takes place in the crisis faced France during the early 60’s when the country was bracing itself for civil war. Weaving together the historical facts of a country on the brink of civil war, Frederick Forsyth creates a high voltage political thriller.

The Dogs of War: The novel plot takes place in Africa where Sir James Manson, a cunning tycoon plans to overthrow the authority of a small African country so as to secure the mining rights to the Crystal Mountain. This mountain holds enormous amounts of platinum deposits, and via a series of elaborate plans involving the manipulation of shares and Swiss banks, Sir James intends to exploit the deposits and make millions of money. He then hires a ruthless mercenary by the name Cat Shannon to carry out a coup on the corrupt Zangara president.

The Dogs of War features an interesting plot, and it begins well. The atmospheres created in the first few scenes you in and each of the mercenaries presented in the book has their distinctive personality, and the character of the mercenary Shannon Cat makes a likable and a fantastic protagonist who you will end up liking for the good deed he does for others.

When Does The Next Frederick Forsyth book come out?

Frederick Forsyth doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Veteran and Other Stories and was released on May, 7th 2020. It is the newest book in the Frederick Forsyth Short Story Collections.

3 thoughts on “Frederick Forsyth”

  1. My favorite author of all time. I first read him when I served in the U.S. Army at Desert Storm; we were given some books when we stopped for fuel at a German Air Force Base. The Day of The Jackal was one of the books I picked up, read it in 3 days in spite of my broken English. I have read almost all of his books since then, specially the multi-layered (for “graduating” fans only): “The Devil’s Alternative” and “The Fourth Protocol”

  2. Mr Forsyth has been my author of choice for decades now and I wait with bated breath for his next release. Hi recent release, The Fox says it all about his style and professionalism and is just as inthralling as The Day of the Jackel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *