Gil McNeil Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Gil McNeil is a British author from Kent who writes contemporary romance novels. McNeil has been actively writing novels since 2001 when she published her debut novel, “The Only Boy for Me”. She would go on to write several freestanding novels before deciding to try her hand at writing series.

Get notified when Gil McNeil releases a new book at

Order of Beach Street Knitting Society Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club / Diva's Don't Knit 2007 Description / Buy
2 Needles and Pearls 2008 Description / Buy
3 Knit One Pearl One 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Gil McNeil Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Only Boy For Me 2001 Description / Buy
2 Stand by Your Man 2004 Description / Buy
3 In the Wee Small Hours 2011 Description / Buy
4 A Good Year for the Roses 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Gil McNeil Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Magic 2002 Description / Buy
2 Summer Magic 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Gil McNeil Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mums 2007 Description / Buy
2 Dads 2008 Description / Buy
3 Grandparents 2009 Description / Buy

Gil McNeil Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Journey To The Sea 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Gil McNeil’s best known series is the “Joe Mackenzie” series of novels that debuted with “The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club” that was published in 2007. However, her freestanding novels have also done very well. In 2007 her debut novel was adapted into a prime time TV series. In addition to her novels, McNeil is an accomplished editor who has five short story collections to her name. She is also a Director with PiggyBankKids, a charity offering support to projects that helps children achieve their dreams. She lives with her son in Kent.


Gil McNeil’s debut novel “The Only Boy For Me” was adapted into a prime Time TV drama by the same name in 2006. The drama which premiered in the UK in 2006 was produced by Greenpoint films and had Helen Baxendale as the lead.


Gil McNeil’s books have made quite the splash with the following three being the most appreciated:

The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club: One of the best novels in the Joe Mackenzie series of novels about the healing power of new beginnings and friendship. Joe Mackenzie holds the dreams of every woman who has wanted to knit, be a better mother, or just start over. Her husband comes out of the blues to announce that he is divorcing her, and soon after he is involved in a fatal crash leaving her a single mother.

She has no choice but to pack up her things and move back to her hometown, where she sets up in a dilapidated villa. Luckily for her, she finds that her Gran’s knitting shop is up for grabs though it is very much out-of-date. Her first few days in the town are rough though it is not long before her love for knitting leads her to find comfort with “Stitch and Bitch”. The group comprises lively and quirky women addicted to cake that love to tell stories full of humor and warmth.

As she acclimatizes to the small town and gets used to being a single mother, she finds the support of the group invaluable. However, the entry of a new man into her life throws a wrench into the works.

Needles and Pearls: The perfect sequel to the first novel of the series that tells the adorable novel of the relationship between a mother and her children cemented by love. Joe Mackenzie is getting entrenched into the life of Broadgate having taken up the yarn store that belonged to her grand mother.

A friendship with Grace Harrison a top actress has given her much needed publicity, and with the support of Martin a local carpenter helping her, the business is growing in leaps and bounds. The family is looking forward to the anniversary of their move into the city when life throws them a curve-ball. McNeil explores the themes of dysfunctional families, death, divorce, and pregnancy in endearing episodes that make for layered and very realistic characters.

Knit One Pearl One: The third novel of the series is set a few years after Joe lost her husband and moved her small family to Broadgate. Since then her life has been full of unexpected pleasures, surprises, adventure, and of course a lot of knitting. She is busier than ever with a brand new café and her sea side yarn shop keeping her ever so busy. She thought that having a headstrong toddler and two boys to take care of would be a daunting though enchanting task, and it has proved just so.

To top it all off, Ellen her firecracker best friend is about to establish a new TV series and has only told Grace the celebrity diva. The hapless but lovable Martin is still trying to woo Joe though she clearly does not want anything to do with it. But just when she thinks she is handling everything just about right, a handsome man that happens to be Pearl’s dad comes into her life. It is a witty and warm story of a woman rebuilding her life with the help of her grandmother and her friends.

When Does The Next Gil McNeil book come out?

Gil McNeil doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Good Year for the Roses and was released on January, 1st 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *