Graham Hurley Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Graham Hurley is an English author that writes historical, mystery, and young adult fiction. Hurley was born in 1946. A native of Clacton on Sea in Essex, the author spent his childhood playing football, swimming, and reading.

Get notified when Graham Hurley releases a new book at

Order of Faraday & Winter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Turnstone 2000 Description / Buy
2 The Take 2001 Description / Buy
3 Angels Passing 2002 Description / Buy
4 Deadlight 2003 Description / Buy
5 Cut To Black 2004 Description / Buy
6 Blood and Honey 2006 Description / Buy
7 One Under 2006 Description / Buy
8 The Price of Darkness 2008 Description / Buy
9 No Lovelier Death 2009 Description / Buy
10 Beyond Reach 2010 Description / Buy
11 Borrowed Light 2010 Description / Buy
12 Happy Days 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Faraday & Winter Companion Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Backstory 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Most Wanted Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dead Brigade ( By: James Lovegrove) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Heroes ( By: Anne Perry) 2007 Description / Buy
3 Kill Clock ( By: Allan Guthrie) 2007 Description / Buy
4 Revenge ( By: Eric Brown) 2007 Description / Buy
5 The Chop 2008 Description / Buy
6 The Ghosts of 2012 2009 Description / Buy
7 Stumps ( By: Mark Morris) 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Jimmy Suttle Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Western Approaches 2012 Description / Buy
2 Touching Distance 2013 Description / Buy
3 Sins of the Father 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Order of Things 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Wars Within / Spoils Of War Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Finisterre 2016 Description / Buy
2 Aurore 2017 Description / Buy
3 Estocada 2018 Description / Buy
4 Raid 42 2019 Description / Buy
5 Blood of the Wolf / Last Flight to Stalingrad 2021 Description / Buy
6 Kyiv 2021 Description / Buy
7 Katastrophe 2022 Description / Buy
8 The Blood of Others 2023 Description / Buy
9 Dead Ground 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Enora Andresson Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Curtain Call 2019 Description / Buy
2 Sight Unseen 2019 Description / Buy
3 Off Script 2020 Description / Buy
4 Limelight 2020 Description / Buy
5 Intermission 2021 Description / Buy
6 Lights Down 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Graham Hurley Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rules Of Engagement 1991 Description / Buy
2 Reaper 1992 Description / Buy
3 Thunder In The Blood 1995 Description / Buy
4 The Perfect Soldier 1996 Description / Buy
5 Sabbathman 1996 Description / Buy
6 Heaven's Light 1997 Description / Buy
7 Nocturne 1999 Description / Buy
8 Permissible Limits 2000 Description / Buy
9 The Devil's Breath 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Graham Hurley Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lucky Break? 1981 Description / Buy
2 Airshow: A Year in the Life of the World's Largest Military 1998 Description / Buy
3 Estuary (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Eventually, a scholarship took him to boarding school in London, paving the way for his stint at Cambridge University. While others merely spoke of pursuing publishing, Hurley took tangible steps and wrote five manuscripts.

Publishers rejected them all, and Hurley is glad because they would have tainted his reputation. Never one to surrender, the author kept writing. Publishers rewarded the young man by drowning him in rejection slips.

Fortunately, he had a day job at the time. Hurley worked for Southern Television, initially as a promotion scriptwriter. Later on, they promoted him to researcher and director. The television arena kept him occupied for the next two decades.

He remembers filming the wreck of the Titanic and profiling the Brighton bomber. The industry recognized the author’s talents and awarded him several prizes. But these achievements couldn’t quench his interest in fiction or the desire to pursue publishing.

The author was still working in TV when ‘Rules of Engagement,’ his debut novel, came out. He kept juggling his responsibilities at his day job with his duties as a writer until Southern Television sacked him.

This allowed the author to dedicate every waking hour to writing. The notion of embracing life as a full-time writer frightened Hurley. He couldn’t help but wonder what would happen if he failed. But his fears never materialized. Hurley became a successful author writing in various genres, including international thrillers and crime fiction.

As an established author, he doesn’t write as diligently as people think. He crams most of his writing sessions into the weeks between October and Christmas. Then he uses one more month to tackle the second draft.

But then, what does he do for the rest of the year? Hurley travels. The author has excellent friends that accompany him on his exciting adventures. He always meets his deadlines despite his penchant for traveling because writer’s block doesn’t afflict him.

Like many of his peers, he prefers to write by the seat of his pants. While he doesn’t mind making broad plans and crafting the beginning and the end beforehand, Hurley expects his characters to figure out the details between the prologue and epilogue as the story gradually develops.

Because the author takes his work seriously, he writes from nine in the morning to six. After eating supper and drinking a few beers, he reads everything he wrote during the day while making minor revisions.

Research is a vital aspect of his process. Hurley doesn’t understand crime writers who won’t talk to former and current police officers to better understand their profession. He wants to reward readers for their faith in his stories by building an authentic setting.

Graham Hurley Books Into Movies

The Faraday stories became live-action TV films in France.

Best Graham Hurley Books

When the author isn’t writing, you will find him rowing and drinking. Hurley’s best books include:

Turnstone: Joe Faraday is an interesting man, a widower from Portsmouth, England, with a deaf 22-year-old son. He’s also a detective with a penchant for following his gut. Unfortunately, his superiors don’t care for gut feelings.

They need tangible evidence to justify his actions, which is why Faraday’s insistence on investigating Emma Maloney’s situation has ruffled some feathers. The eight-year-old girl reported her father’s disappearance.

Faraday thinks the man is dead but can’t prove it. Meanwhile, his squad’s caseload is growing. They can’t afford to spare the time or manpower to follow his hunches.

The Take: Faraday is struggling to cope with the passing of a young colleague who died in a car crash. Faraday knows better than to meddle. But the father (and bird-watcher) has questions and won’t stop until he gets the answers.

Faraday’s relationship with DC Paul Winter is just as tense as ever. They don’t like each other. But Winter needs Faraday’s help. His case involves a gynecologist that ruined the lives of numerous women, amassing significant wealth in the process.

Winter is not one to follow the rules. He goes against his superiors to carry out a personal investigation. But he can’t sift through the murder-suspect list alone.

When Does The Next Graham Hurley book come out?

The next book by Graham Hurley is Dead Ground and will be released on October, 8th 2024. It is the newest book in the Wars Within / Spoils Of War Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *