Graham Masterton Books

Graham Masterton is a British author that writes horror and who has accrued more than a hundred books under his name over the decades. Graham was born in 1946 in Edinburgh. His family was made famous by Thomas Thorne Baker, his grandfather and a scientist who is responsible for the creation of DayGlo, a luminous printing ink.

Order of Manitou Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Manitou 1976
2 Djinn 1978
3 Revenge of the Manitou 1979
4 Burial 1991
5 Manitou Blood 2005
6 Blind Panic 2009
7 Plague of the Manitou 2015

Order of Sissy Sawyer Series

# Read Title Published
1 Touchy And Feely 2005
2 The Painted Man 2008
3 The Red Hotel 2012

Order of Beatrice Scarlet Series

# Read Title Published
1 Scarlet Widow 2015
2 The Coven 2017

Order of Jim Rook Series

# Read Title Published
1 Rook 1996
2 The Terror 1997
3 Tooth And Claw 1997
4 Snowman 1999
5 Swimmer 2001
6 Darkroom 2004
7 Demon's Door 2010
8 Garden of Evil 2013

Order of Night Warriors Series

# Read Title Published
1 Night Warriors 1986
2 Death Dream 1988
3 Night Plague 1991
4 Night Wars 2006
5 The Ninth Nightmare 2011

Order of Katie Maguire Series

Order of Graham Masterton Short Story Collections

Order of Graham Masterton Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Inserts (Short Story) 1976
2 Fireflash 5 1977
3 Plague 1977
4 Charnel House 1978
5 The Sphinx 1978
6 Heartbreaker 1978
7 The Sweetman Curve 1979
8 The Devils Of D-Day 1979
9 The Hell Candidate 1980
10 Death Trance 1980
11 Phobia 1980
12 The Wells Of Hell 1981
13 Famine 1981
14 Railroad 1981
15 A Man Of Destiny 1981
16 The Heirloom 1982
17 Solitaire 1982
18 The Pariah 1983
19 Ikon 1983
20 Tengu 1983
21 Lady of Fortune 1984
22 Maiden Voyage 1984
23 Corroboree 1984
24 Sacrifice 1985
25 Picture of Evil 1985
26 Family Portrait 1985
27 Headlines 1986
28 Mirror 1988
29 Feast 1988
30 Ritual 1989
31 Lords of the Air 1989
32 The Hymn 1991
33 Empress 1991
34 Black Angel 1991
35 Prey 1992
36 Master of Lies 1992
37 The Sleepless 1994
38 The House That Jack Built 1995
39 The Chosen Child 1996
40 Condor 1997
41 Flesh And Blood 1997
42 House of Bones 1998
43 Kingdom of the Blind 1998
44 Plague Of Angels 1999
45 Trauma 2001
46 Hair Raiser 2001
47 Bonnie Winter 2001
48 Hidden World 2002
49 Sepsis (Short Story) 2003
50 Genius 2003
51 Unspeakable 2004
52 The Devil in Gray 2004
53 Innocent Blood 2004
54 Holy Terror 2004
55 Edgewise 2006
56 Descendant 2006
57 Descendant 2006
58 Chaos Theory 2007
59 The 5th Witch 2008
60 Ghost Music 2009
61 Basilisk 2009
62 Death Mask 2009
63 Fire Spirit 2010
64 Spirit 2010
65 Rules Of Duel 2010
66 Petrified 2011
67 The Press (Short Story) 2012
68 The Doorkeepers 2012
69 Walkers 2012
70 Community 2013
71 Forest Ghost 2014
72 Drought 2014
73 Silver 2015

Order of Graham Masterton Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Acts of love (Short Story) 1971
2 Girls Who Said Yes 1973
3 How a Woman Loves to Be Loved (Short Story) 1974
4 Sex Is Everything 1975
5 Confessions Of A Wanton Waitress, Or, Alice Doesn't Work Here Anymore 1975
6 How to Be a Perfect Lover 1975
7 How a Woman Longs to Be Loved 1975
8 How to be a Good Bad Girl 1976
9 Confessions of a Racy Receptionist 1976
10 Women's erotic dreams 1976
11 How to Drive Your Man Wild in Bed 1976
12 How to Drive Your Man Wild in Bed 1976
13 How to Drive Your Woman Wild in Bed 1981
14 More Ways to Drive Your Man Wild in Bed 1985
15 How To Be the Perfect Lover 1986
16 How to Drive Your Lover Wild in Bed 1989
17 Sex Secrets of the Other Woman 1989
18 Wild in Bed Together 1992
19 Drive Him Wild 1993
20 Single, Wild, Sexy and Safe 1994
21 How to Drive Your Man Even Wilder in Bed 1995
22 How to Make His Wildest Dreams Come True 1996
23 Secrets of the Sexually Irresistible Woman 1998
24 The Seven Secrets of Really Great Sex 1999
25 The Secrets of Sexual Play 1999
26 Wild Sex for New Lovers 2001
27 Up All Night 2004
28 How To Make Love Six Nights A Week 2013
29 How to Make Love Six Nights a Week 2013


# Read Title Published
1 Scare Care 1989
2 Figures of Fear 2015
Print: Print PDF

Graham studied journalism in school and his hard work paid off relatively quickly when he was assigned the role of Executive Editor of Penthouse, this while he was in his mid-20s. Graham had set his sights on producing fiction at an early age. Journalism was a bit of a detour and he used it to further his goals.

However, rather than pursuing fiction the first chance he got, the author first made a name by writing instructional manuals on the subject of sex. It was in 1971 that the author’s first sex guide came out under Graham’s pseudonym. And it wasn’t the last. After writing a few dozen such guides, it wasn’t long before people began to associate Graham Masterton with sex and health, a reputation that earned him gigs with magazines like Cosmopolitan and Men’s Health.

As far as the author’s reputation as a master of horror is concerned, Graham began shaping it when he wrote The Manitou in 1976, his first fictional work. The author wrote a number of sequels for his first book before branching out to experiment with other forms of horror.

Graham’s books have always taken on an adult nature, featuring considerable violence and visceral sex. Though Graham always endeavored to diversify by also writing horror stories for children, the most renowned being The House of Bones. Many of the author’s fans and critics were surprised that he had the capacity to water the sex and the gore in his books down to an extent where his stories could actually appeal to younger readers.

And his efforts went a long way in cementing his capabilities as a versatile writer that could produce horror within any given genre or for any given age group. Graham Masterton had a tendency to start writing series under pseudonyms, only revealing his real name once the books in question gained traction and attracted an appropriate level of interest.

During his lengthy career, the author has collaborated with peers like William S. Burroughs in order to experiment with unique approaches to storytelling.

Graham had a wife who died in 2011.

Graham Masterton Awards

Graham’s renown has more to do with the impressive number of fans he has garnered over the years than the literary awards he has taken home. Though, the author hasn’t lacked in the area of literary recognition, having been nominated for the British Fantasy Society Prize for Best Novel, the Bram Stoker Award for Best Short Story and the World Fantasy Society Prize for Best Collection.

Graham Masterton Books into Movies

The Manitou was Graham’s first ever horror novel. It became a live action film in 1978, directed by William Girdler, starring Susan Strasberg, Tony Curtis, and Michael Ansara. The movie follows a girl with an ancient demon growing out of a lump on her back.

Best Graham Masterton Books

Graham Masterton has used the last couple of decades to become a legend in the arena of horror, with some of the best books from the author including:

The Manitou: When Karen Tandy notices a lump under her skin, she doesn’t think much of it. She only grows concerned when she takes it to doctors and specialists and they do not know what to make of it. An attempt to cut the lump out fails when it moves.

Karen learns that her lump is no ordinary biological anomaly but, rather, an ancient spirit that has returned to wreak vengeance upon the white man for the evils they visited upon the Indians centuries ago. Karen’s body and soul are chained to this evil entity and there is nothing she can do to gain her freedom.

Broken Angels: Detective Inspector Katie Maguire must unveil the secrets being St. Joseph’s Orphanage. Her hunt begins when a priest is found dead in the river, his hands bound and his neck clearly having been garroted. There’s also the castration.

When another priest suffers the same fate, Kate’s attempts to find the truth are hampered by the Catholic diocese which holds a lot of power in County Cork.