Greg Iles Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Greg Iles (born in 1960), is a German-born author of several novels, including many New York Times Bestsellers. He was born at the peak of Cold War in Germany city of Stuttgart, but later moved into Mississippi and attained American nationality. Before exploring the world of writing novels, he was a musician in a band called “Frankly Scarlet”. He ended his music career out of family compulsions, but his artsy side compelled him to start writing.

He is still in touch with his musical side and is a member of, The Rock Bottom Remainders, which consists of many notable members. He did his schooling in Trinity Episcopal Day School, in Mississipi and was a National Merit finalist. After graduating with flying colors, later in 1983, he graduated from the University of Mississippi. He currently has two children and lives in Natchez, Mississippi.

Order of World War II Series

1Spandau Phoenix 1993Description / Buy
2Black Cross 1995Description / Buy

Order of Mississippi Series

1Mortal Fear 1997Description / Buy
224 Hours 2000Description / Buy
3Dead Sleep 2001Description / Buy
4Sleep No More 2002Description / Buy
5Blood Memory 2005Description / Buy

Order of Penn Cage Series

1The Quiet Game 1999Description / Buy
2Turning Angel 2005Description / Buy
3The Devil's Punchbowl 2009Description / Buy
4The Death Factory 2014Description / Buy
5Natchez Burning 2014Description / Buy
6The Bone Tree 2015Description / Buy
7Mississippi Blood 2017Description / Buy

Order of Greg Iles Standalone Novels

1Third Degree 1996Description / Buy
2Dark Matter / The Footprints of God 2003Description / Buy
3True Evil 2006Description / Buy
4Cemetery Road 2019Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Greg is widely acclaimed for the Penn Cage series, which he crafted with much care. His provocative storyline merges well with the historic events of the 21st century, and it takes the readers on a pleasantly surprising journey. But his writing charm can be also be experienced in his solo novels. His first novel was Spandau Phoenix, which was well received by book critics and casual readers alike, revolves around Rudolf Hess, a war-criminal of the Nazi regime.

In 1993, the year of its launch, it became the New York Times Bestseller. The bloody reminders of World War 2 Germany and its long and cold aftermath, is presented with sinister beauty. Soon he started work on another WW2 inspired thriller, Black Cross and then moved on to write on casual novels. His next work, Mortal Fear, was another epic of sorts, and the book again earned the New York Bestsellers title. His novel Blood Memory debuted at #8 on the Times list and is considered one the best of Greg’s works. His work on the Mississippi Series, which consists of 5 books, is also a major addition to the thriller novel scene. Blood Memory, the last book in the series, is one of the most imposing books with lots of social messages.

Greg Iles Books Into Movies/TV:

Greg has written the script for American-German crime thriller film, Trapped. Directed by Luis Mandoki, it was based on a novel by the name 24 Hours. The film was initially named the same as the novel but was later renamed due to copyright issues. The movie Transcendence resembles a lot of Greg’s book, Dark Matter. Though there is no official say on this, many believe the movie is hugely inspired by Greg’s book.

Best Greg Iles Books:

Though all his books are worth reading, three of the best books by Greg Iles are, Black Cross, Natchez Burning and Dark Matter. All three are fresh and unique and carry a quintessential Greg writing style throughout.

Black Cross is not only a war-thriller but a historical magnum opus. The novel introduces a lot of refreshing ideas of writing, like backward narrative, interesting flashbacks, and coherently synopsizes. A cold feel of the brutality of war provides a thrilling backdrop to this novel. In the novel, a Jewish doctor and American Pacifist land in Germany on a very important mission. Their aim is to save millions from the wrath of Adolf Hitler’s newly discovered, poison nerve gas.

Set partly in America and partly in Germany, this is sure to glue your attention for quite some time.

In Natchez Burning, Greg explores the unchartered territory of racial violence, murder, honor, family, and the quest for justice. It can be classified as a pure American novel with a deep southern theme. This is another work of genius by Greg, and it is part of a greater series, The Penn Cage series. This is the fourth book but it can be enjoyed individually as well.

In The Footprints of God, also known as Dark Matter, Dr. David Tennant finds himself recommended by the POTUS, to work on a super-secret project called, Trinity. But he soon discovers that the man controlling the project has dark secrets and he mysteriously murders David’s colleague. David must survive and reach out to the President before he can escape the shows of Trinity. A gripping novel with all the charm of a spy thriller, it contains the best bits of Greg’s writing combined with an awesome storyline.

When Does The Next Greg Iles book come out?

Greg Iles doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Cemetery Road and was released on March, 19th 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *