H.G. Wells Books

H.G. Wells is considered by many to be the father of science fiction, mentioned alongside names like Herbert George and Jules Verne. A journalist and prolific author, Wells was born in 1866 in Britain.

Order of H.G. Wells Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 The Wonderful Visit 1895
2 The Time Machine 1895
3 The Wheels of Chance 1896
4 The Plattner Story (Short Story) 1896
5 The War of the Worlds 1897
6 The Invisible Man 1897
7 A Story Of The Days To Come (Short Story) 1897
8 The Man Who Could Work Miracles (Short Story) 1898
9 The Sleeper Awakes 1899
10 Love and Mr. Lewisham 1899
11 The First Men in the Moon 1901
12 The Sea Lady 1902
13 The Magic Shop (Short Story) 1903
14 The Valley of Spiders 1903
15 The Food of the Gods and How It Came to Earth 1904
16 Kipps 1905
17 A Modern Utopia 1905
18 The Door in the Wall (Short Story) 1906
19 In the Days of the Comet 1906
20 The War in the Air 1908
21 Tono-Bungay 1909
22 Ann Veronica 1909
23 Ann Veronica-A Modern Love Story 1909
24 The History of Mr. Polly 1909
25 The New Machiavelli 1910
26 Marriage 1912
27 The Passionate Friends 1913
28 The World Set Free 1914
29 The Wife of Sir Isaac Harman 1914
30 The Research Magnificent 1915
31 Boon 1915
32 Mr. Britling sees it through 1916
33 The Soul of a Bishop 1917
34 Joan and Peter: A Story of an Education 1918
35 The Undying Fire 1919
36 The Secret Places of the Heart 1922
37 Men Like Gods 1923
38 The Dream 1924
39 Christina Alberta's Father 1925
40 Bealby 1926
41 The World of William Clissold 1926
42 Meanwhile the Picture of a Lady 1927
43 MR Blettsworthy on Rampole Island 1928
44 Autocracy Of Mr Parham 1930
45 Bulpington Of Blup 1930
46 The Shape Of Things To Come 1933
47 The Croquet Player 1936
48 The Camford visitation, 1937
49 Star Begotten 1937
50 Brynhild 1937
51 The Brothers and the Croquet Player 1938
52 Apropos Of Dolores 1938
53 The Holy Terror 1939
54 Babes In The Darkling Wood 1940
55 You Can't Be Too Careful 1941
56 The Last Books of H. G. Wells 1945
57 All Aboard for Ararat 1947
58 The Desert Daisy 1957
59 Brand Of Evil (Short Story) 1960
60 The Wealth of Mr. Waddy 1969
61 This Misery Of Boots (Short Story) 1973
62 Mind At The End Of Its Tether (Short Story) 1974
63 Early Writings in Science and Science Fiction 1975
64 The Remarkable Case of Davidson's Eyes (Short Story) 2006
65 The Grisly Folk, and the Wild Asses of the Devil 2008
66 The Desert Daisy 2012

Order of The Correspondence of H.G. Wells Series

Order of H.G. Wells Short Story Collections

Order of H.G. Wells Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Anticipations 1901
2 Mankind in the Making 1903
3 The Food of the Gods 1904
4 The Future in America 1906
5 First and Last Things 1908
6 New Worlds for Old 1908
7 Floor Games 1911
8 Little Wars 1913
9 An Englishman Looks at the World 1914
10 What Is Coming? a Forecast of Things After the War 1916
11 The Outline of History, Vols. I and II 1919
12 The Outline of History, Volume 2 1920
13 A Short History of the World 1922
14 A Modern Utopia and Other Discussions 1925
15 The Open Conspiracy 1928
16 H.G. Wells in love 1934
17 Experiment in Autobiography 1934
18 World Brain 1938
19 The New World Order - Whether It Is Attainable, How It Can Be Attained, and What Sort of World a World at Peace Will Have to Be 1939
20 The Fate Of Homo Sapiens 1939
21 The Conquest of Time 1942
22 Crux Ansata 1943
23 Interviews and Recollections 1981
24 Experiment in Autobiography, Vol 2 1984
25 A Volume of Journalism 1999
26 The Conquest of Time and The Happy Turning 2002
27 Washington and the Riddle of Peace 2006
28 What Are We to Do with Our Lives? 2007
29 The Salvaging of Civilisation 2017


# Read Title Published
1 The Best Crime Stories Ever Told 2002
Print: Print PDF

Wells was never shy about his poverty-ridden upbringing and he often sought to glorify the importance of lower-class beginnings. Things began to change for the author when he found his way to the Imperial College of Science and technology as a result of a timely scholarship.

Even with his education, Wells’ poor beginnings continued to affect his ideas and attitudes towards the world. Wells thought that communism was the only solution to a world whose capitalist class divisions would eventually destroy it.

While at the Imperial College, H.G. Wells had the opportunity to study under T.H. Huxley. The author experimented with school magazines and newspapers before finally writing The Time Machine in 1895.

His first novel, one that he wrote in an attempt to overcome his financial constraints, the book was very critical of capitalism and it elicited interest from his readers in Victorian England. With books like The Invisible Man and The War Between the Worlds following, H.G. Wells soon cemented his place as an unparalleled genius in the science fiction arena.

The author is still best known for the 1938 radio play of his War Between the Worlds book which was so convincing in its delivery that it caused panic and mayhem amongst listeners who thought that earth might have become the victim of an Alien Assault.

A controversial figure in politics that drew criticism for cheating on his wives whilst also seemingly fighting for women’s rights, and pushing for socialism only to reject it later, H.G. Wells was loved and hated in equal measure by his peers, most of whom recognized his genius as an author despite their irritation with his person.

H.G. Wells’ popularity peaked in the 1920s. After a while, all the propaganda in his books drew the ire of readers and critics alike. It didn’t help that Wells’ view of the world and its future seemed to grow darker with each passing year.

Soon, many of the author’s readers had little patience for his many dystopian futures, though Wells still inspired the masses with his nonfiction work.

Wells’ ideas have continued to permeate through entertainment today. He is still considered an unrivaled science fiction titan.

H.G. Wells Awards

Even though a number of awards have been named after H.G. Wells since his death, the author himself never won any awards for his literary work. However, he was nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize in Literature on Four Different occasions.

H.G. Wells Books into Movies/TV

A surprising number of Wells’ novels have been adapted into movies over the decades, both for the big and small screen, this including Dead Night, The Island of Doctor Moreau, The Invisible Man, The Shape of Things to Come, The Man Who Could Work Miracles, The History of Mr. Polly, The Passionate Friends, The Time Machine and War of the Worlds.

Best H.G. Wells Books

H.G. Wells will never be forgotten, not when one considers all his contributions to the science fiction genre, with some of the best books in his bibliography including:

The Time Machine: When an explorer uses his time machine to travel into the far flung future, he finds the earth dying a slow death. He also discovers the Morlocks and the Eloi, two races that manifest human nature’s differing sides.

This is the book that put H.G. Wells on the path to stardom. The book revolves around an English gentleman who finds the key to time travel. He builds a machine that takes him eight hundred thousand years into the future. There he meets the two races descended from human beings as he knows them.

The Island of Dr. Moreau: When Edward Prendick is shipwrecked on a Pacific Island, his only worry is the potential for his rescue and his ability to survive until that moment. He is unaware of the presence of Dr. Moreau and the strange creatures that he shares the island with.

This book wasn’t particularly popular when it came out. The Time Machine wowed readers with its representation of the wonderful possibilities of the science. Readers wanted more of that from Wells.

Instead, they were treated to a picture of the terror that can come from the misuse of science.